We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reykjavik Nordica to your Saves list
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“New Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year, and it was a reasonable price. The staff were friendly and efficient. Yes it's a short walk out of town, but it's not that far, has fantastic views, a decent restaurant and bar (might just have tried a few of their cocktails - no complaints during happy 2 hours!!), and there a few other restaurants close by. Would be nice to have free wi-fi in the rooms, but it was perfectly pleasant sitting in the bar or the lobby to use the lap top. We left very early to go to the airport, and they were able to let us have something for breakfast to take with us. The room (ordinary one, nothing special) was at the front - big windows, plenty of fireworks to watch), spacious double bed, chair and desk area. Only downside was it was next to the lift shaft, so there was background rumbling every now and then - didn't stop us sleeping, but a bit annoying when lying reading a book.

Room Tip: Avoid anything28 - we were in 528 - it wraps round the lift shaft and can get a bit irritating at ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    776
    183
    33
    15
See reviews for
230
845
130
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Well....we left the equator and after a brief stop in good ol' USA we arrived in Iceland for a ten day trip.

I'm sure I'll have more things to write about from here but it is worth starting with the Hilton Hotel and specifically the fantastic health club/spa there.

The Nordica Spa is one of the nicest fitness centers you'll find at any hotel. It is a full fledged health club with weights, exercise equipment and a full array of fitness classes. So far we participated in a "Grit" class, which were pretty high intensity work-outs with a super energetic instructor ( I recommend being in a little shape before embarking on that one). We also enjoyed a shoulder, arm, head and neck massage while in on of several hot tubs at the facility. And there is unlimited ice water with lemon served on the side of the hot tubs.

We are going to try the hot yoga class next. We have enjoyed the treadmills and stationery bikes and have a massage scheduled for Wednesday. There are all kinds of spa treatments, like rubs, wraps, pedicures and manicures available and we haven't been able to decide on one yet.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and they really know their stuff.

Of course there are 100s of things to do here but it sure is nice to have this awesome health club right in the hotel.

Room Tip: The view of the Esja mountain and Reykjavik bay is fantastic from any north facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out Islands
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Its a Hitlon and as such I have certain expectations, which pretty much are ok, clena room, nice building, rather friendly staff, et etc.

However, the fleecing of tourists takes a new twist in Reykjavik:
You have to pay extra to use a hot tub ... 20 Euros, just to sit in there.
its cleverly bundled up with a short 5 min massage...
You do not want the massage, no access to the hot tub for free.

This should stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Only a bit outside the City Centre. Location Wise not walking distance! Rooms are spacious and clean. stayed in the executive floor with access to the Lounge.as well they have a nice spa. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for five nights in January 2013. The overall impression was that it was a good hotel.

Plus Points
Periodic shuttle bus into town; happy hour; snacks available in reception 24*7; free internet screens in reception which are helpful for airline check-in; friendly staff; view (if room is facing the right way); close to large pool complex; good rates for pre-booking; clean; nice rooms.; room safe with power point inside.

Minus Points
No room thermostat; location - it's a 30 minute walk into town; restaurant seems to have a very limited menu; sink has no stopper so wet shaving is a challenge; they don't know what de-caff tea is.

Plus or Minus
Beds are firm - not uncomfortable but not comfortable either; has fridge but no mini bar..

Room Tip: Facing the ocean is quite a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the first two nights of our Iceland vacation before we headed inland, I am a Hilton Diamond member and have seen a lot of Hilton properties and this is one of the best. The staff is friendly and go out of their way to please you. The executive lounge is great and the guiltless facility is top notch. Highly recommend this Hilton property!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I normally seek out small hotels with character, but stayed in the Nordica as I was accompanying my husband on a business trip. The hotel exceeded all my expectations. Yes, it is a large hotel of little architectural merit, situated about 30 minutes walk from the centre of Reykjavik and on a major road. But the hotel has much to offer tourists and I would stay there again. This is why:
The hotel is walking idstance from Laugardalslaug, the best spa I have ever been to. The underground "kingdom", as the guide called it, of 7 steam rooms, salt jacuzzi pool, waterfall, relaxation room and more, was amazing. There is also an outdoor thermal pool and 2 indoor 25m pools;
Nordica has a fantastic restaurant, reputed deservedly to be one of the best in Reykjavik. I had delicious fish and the best dessert I have had in my life;
The breakfasts are excellent, catering for all tastes;
There is a tourist office in the hotel, with friendly staff who will arrange any excursion for you;
There is free shuttle bus which takes guests in and out of town;
There is a good bar which serves half price drinks during Happy Hour;
Front desk staff are welcoming and efficient;
The hotel offers excellent value for money.
Thank you Nordica, I shall be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reykjavik Nordica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reykjavik Nordica

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#2 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reykjavik Nordica 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reykjavik Nordica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica Hotel
Hilton International Reykjavík
Hilton Hotel Reykjavik Nordica
Reykjavík Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reykjavik Nordica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.