We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lil' brown cafe/restaurant w/ great laidback atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prikid

Prikid
Bankastraeti 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 551 3366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice lil' brown cafe/restaurant w/ great laidback atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice little place, albeit a bit worn out through the years. Personally, we love this kind of place; a bit dark, with lots of character & history; yet others may not like it. Service is a bit laid back, befitting such a cafe/restaurant, but they definitely are not rude. Just don't go here expecting an american-style kind of service; it's Iceland, things go the Icelandic way. French toast & hamburgers were lovely and prices were ok; same as in the rest of western/nothern European cities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    134
    40
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Traveling on a budget, I stopped in for fish and chips after an afternoon of whale watching as the street sign indicated a reasonable price. Sorry U.K., but this was the best fish & chips I've had. It seemed awkward being there at first, as I was alone, and not sure where to order. Since I was ordering take-away, I placed my order at the bar - the bartender was very patient and friendly. My order was ready quicker than promised, and delivered by a delightful and personable chef/waiter. It was okay that he forgot the sauce, as I don't use it anyway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enchantingly grubby little cafe bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Prikid is cheap, friendly, serves very big portions. The clientele are divided between locals behaving themselves, bemused tourists and the loudest hipsters I've seen outside Shoreditch.

You're fooling no one with that haircut, sonny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went there to grab something to eat at middle of the day. Although it was crouded it took a lot to get a waiter near by to get our order. Food medium all the rest not my type of place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Okay breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Came for breakfast. The downstairs was full so we were sent upstairs where we were alone. Nice table in the window for watching the activity outside - but we ended up somewhat forgotten about. When the breakfasts came they were absolutely fine if unremarkable. Missed out on the coffee refills by no one bothering to come upstairs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prikid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Prikid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prikid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.