We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste of Iceland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laekjarbrekka

Laekjarbrekka
Bankastraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
551 4430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 348 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The housing Lækjarbrekka was built as a dwelling in 1834, by the influential Danish ship owner and merchant P.C Knudtzon. He also built a bakery and a turf house in th same lot and brought the Danish baker T.D Bernhöft to Iceland to practice his trade here.Bernhöft, who was for a long time the only baker in Reykjavík, bought the houses in 1845. The Bernhöft family continued in the baking business at this location for two generations, building a retail shop onto the dwelling house in 1855.This addition is today the part of the restaurant facing Bankastræti. The building was used as a dwelling until 1961 and a small shop was there until the time of reconstruction began in 1980. By then, the house had fallen into disrepair, as it had been neglacted for decades. Its future had been uncertain until 1979, when it and several other houses in the same block were declared protected buildings. During reconstruction, every attempt was made to preserve the original appearence.It is therefore with great pleasure we invite you to dine in this beautifully restored house, which has an eventful 150 years history behind Where to find us:Lækjarbrekka is in the centre of Reykjavík, on the corner of Bankastræti and Lækjargata. Opening hours:Lækjarbrekka is open from 11:30, 7 days a week.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great taste of Iceland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful Icelandic dinner at Laekjarbrekka! I would suggest that it felt the most 'authentic' of our visit!...While we avoided the shark, the gentlemen at the table tried it. He said it was "interesting" - we took his word for it.

We did have a chance to try whale, puffin, lamb, salted cod, etc. The food was very good, the atmosphere was fantastic, and the service exceptionally friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    228
    47
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading,
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal made special by the restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our first experience of eating out in Iceland and we were initially attracted by the vegetarian options listed on the menu board. To the European eye, the outside of the building is not what one would necessarily expect but this is an Icelandic landmark with a rich history behind it. Inside is quite simply sumptuous. We were warmly greeted by the Front of House manager who showed us to a delightful table after leaving our many layers of coats in the large cloakroom area. The inside of the restaurant was very warm, was highly appointed and matched by excellent service from professional waiting staff.
We were there at lunch time and there was a reasonably priced Lunch Menu, supplemented by a fuller a la carte. The vegetarian options were not on the Lunch menus but were made available with no problem at all. Food lived up to fine dining standards. My wife described her main course of Monk fish as beautiful, very fresh and served to the highest standards. My vegetarian meal was a traditional barley stew that oozed flavours. Wine was, as ever with Iceland, was “at the top end of the market” price wise but 2 three course meals (not from the lunch menu), aperitifs, bottle of wine, beer and coffee came to just under £120. Selecting from the set lunch menu and staying with soft drinks would have halved the bill but this was an occasion (Wedding Anniversary) and was made special. The only problem was this set the bar very high for the rest of the break and, to be honest, no one really came up to this standard.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Okay food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had early dinner in this restaurant.

At first we were mentioned that the fish of the day is cod, but what turned out was salmon.

We learned something new: langoustine is the word for small lobster. When we ordered lobster, only langoustine showed up. The even serve langoustine bisque.

Overall the product knowledge was just enough but the attitude is superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Atmosphere Intimately Warm, Exotic Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I ate here shortly after Christmas and the service and atmosphere in this 150 year old former Danish house were impeccable. The cost of the entire meal was just a shade over $100 for one but that included everything I was interested in. The Puffin, Whale and Shark samples were just that: smal samples, each around 900ISK each. The Whale and Puffin were tasty, if a bit different texture than beef or chicken. Personally I wouldn't order a whole Whale Dinner or Puffin Dinner. ; The Shark however was fermented. The Icelanders are proud - and aware that the fermentation "aroma" (some would say chemical stench) is an acquired taste. It's the same controlled rotting process that's used for skate and often, it is said, when eaten in their homes, they have all manner of tricks to control the stench from overwhelming the attendees or the home, including simply cooking other less offensive dishes right afterward or, actually, simply going out to a restaurant to eat it. I first became aware of this fragrance first visually, as the four or so sugarcube (pun intended) sized shark morsels come in a glass, latched shut little jar. You unsnap the lid, breath it it in and wow. Sinuses open and near nausea ensued for me. I managed to gag down two cubes out of four. The Shark itsef isn't particularly bad or good - it's the fermentation taste and scent that is tough. Apparently Southern Europeans and the French, I was told, find it tasty. The waitress guessed 50% of diners like it. But it should be experienced. For the main course, I had lamb and some shellfish which I'm still not sure what was. Dessert was chocolate cake and the evening was pleasant. It was right downtown and easy to find on the main street. The host was particularly personable and the Trip Advisor advert was right on the door, prominently displayed. Much of Reykjavik advertises Trip Advisor, with any particular business asserting up front, prominently, that they have had positive reviews. You'll find on your first journey to this City, that you will want to try authentic Icelandic Cuisine. Not being an Icelander, I cannot swear that this was but it certainly had the feel, sense and aura of authenticity. The waitress and waiter (there seems to be a fluidity of this in restaurants there, where anyone comes and helps whenever, with no strict assigned wait person, which is fine) both were solicitous, informative and quite pleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good value....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

......really good lunch menu, that was actually surprisingly good value, as soup of the day was included in the price of the main. Good service, friendly staff, and most importantly great food. Would recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laekjarbrekka also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laekjarbrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laekjarbrekka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.