We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly cooked food and great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humarhusid (The Lobster House)

Humarhusid (The Lobster House)
Amtmannsstigur 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+3545613303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lobster House, located on Amtmannsstígur 1, has been operated since 1993.In that time The Lobster House has made a reputation for itself as one of the country’s most popular restaurants. The restaurant is located in the heart of the capital and is known for its comfortable and romantic atmosphere. The house was built in 1838 and its original look has been preserved, which provides the restaurant with its distinctive character.As the name indicates, lobster dishes are the restaurant’s hallmark (trademark). In spite of that The Lobster House’s menu is quite diverse and guests can choose between a range of seafood, vegetarian and meat courses.The Lobster House’s wine menu is equally diverse, offering a selection of wines from regions across the globe.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time here. The service was excellent ans the food exquisite. Our waiter, Siddý Erla, is a natural born talent when it comes to communicating with people and has all of the qualities a good waiter needs in spades.

Bravó Humarhúsið.
We'll be back,
Ólafur Jón & Ástrós Erla

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    83
    27
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buelach, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what we would have expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Well, we hoped to enjoy a real fine food experience as prices are on the upper end of the scale. However, food was below icelandic average. You will get seafood at much better quality for much lesser value in other places. In addition we have experienced that EVERY waiter wears dirty clothes whats sums up the whole picture of the restaurant. Will not come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, amazing food, top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

While all food in Iceland is expensive, some of it stands out from the rest. This place definitely stood out. The food was beautifully prepared, and very delicious. The staff was exceptional, and made sure our experience was nothing short of excellent. Do yourself a favor - spoil yourself one night you are in Reykjavic and eat here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, imaginative cuisine with fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had to look through 10 restaurant menus to find one that didn't have whale and puffin on the menu! I am appalled that the Icelandic people can kill and eat the beautiful Minke whales that we saw on our cruise in the harbor and the adorable puffins that we saw on the cliffs in south Iceland. I hope that all visitors will boycott any restaurant whose menu lists whale or puffin.
The menu at this restaurant had a great assortment of fish, shellfish and crustaceans, all creatively prepared with delicious results. The carrot cake with passion fruit sorbet and the chocolate cake were superb. The service was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

While the food was generally good, I felt it was overpriced. The restaurant also had a pretentious air to it. I felt there were many more restaurants in Reykjavik that could (and did) provide equal or better food with a much more inviting atmosphere. While my husband was happy with his lobster feast, it's not a place we would rush to go back to should we visit Reykjavik again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhusid (The Lobster House) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Humarhusid (The Lobster House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humarhusid (The Lobster House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.