We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icelandic gastronomy in a quaint setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humarhusid (The Lobster House)

Humarhusid (The Lobster House)
Amtmannsstigur 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+3545613303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lobster House, located on Amtmannsstígur 1, has been operated since 1993.In that time The Lobster House has made a reputation for itself as one of the country’s most popular restaurants. The restaurant is located in the heart of the capital and is known for its comfortable and romantic atmosphere. The house was built in 1838 and its original look has been preserved, which provides the restaurant with its distinctive character.As the name indicates, lobster dishes are the restaurant’s hallmark (trademark). In spite of that The Lobster House’s menu is quite diverse and guests can choose between a range of seafood, vegetarian and meat courses.The Lobster House’s wine menu is equally diverse, offering a selection of wines from regions across the globe.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Icelandic gastronomy in a quaint setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The House 4 course menu gives excellent value for money. We sampled seafood soup, salted cod with mussels, Icelandic Lamb with lobster (Surf & Turf with bells on!) finished off with Panacotta - I don't even like Pannacotta but the Lobster House could convert me if they were always that good.
The atmosphere was one of old fashioned reverence but not stuffy...we walked in off the street in Jeans and walking boots and were made welcome amongst the White linen and silverware.
Well worth the moeny

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    83
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance and booked a table for that evening. What a superb meal! We had lobster bisque, whale carpaccio with lobster tales and 2 tenderloin of horse.........oh my god, it was wonderful. The lobster bisque was sublime, my husband loved his whale and the horse........melted in our mouths. The setting was lovely and the service superb. Yes it was about £50 per head but for a lovely evening and great food, you wouldn't pay any less in England. Superb, would certainly revisit if went back to Iceland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food, wine, ambiance, staff; all fantastic. It's no more expensive than any good restaurant. The lamb and lobster were perfectly cooked. A great last night in Reykjavik.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“In Iceland they call it horse when they serve it to you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fab restaurant, we ended up going twice in a few short days as the atmosphere and the food were brilliant. Pricey at about £50 per head but that is the 'norm' it seems in Iceland to get good food. Would wholeheartedly recommend it. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We didnt' want starters and asked if they had garlic bread (which wasn't on the menu) and the chef just did it, no questions.

Trisha Keaveny

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great service and ambiance - superb food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Dined there recently with colleagues, and was quite impressed with service, ambiance and the food. I had "catch of the day", while the others went for grilled lobster. Both choices were excellent, as well as the wine recommended by the attentive and friendly waiter.

This must be one of the very best seafood restaurants in Reykjavik. I will certainly return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhusid (The Lobster House) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Humarhusid (The Lobster House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humarhusid (The Lobster House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.