We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster at Humarhusid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humarhusid (The Lobster House) - CLOSED

Humarhusid (The Lobster House)
Amtmannsstigur 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+3545613303
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lobster House, located on Amtmannsstígur 1, has been operated since 1993.In that time The Lobster House has made a reputation for itself as one of the country’s most popular restaurants. The restaurant is located in the heart of the capital and is known for its comfortable and romantic atmosphere. The house was built in 1838 and its original look has been preserved, which provides the restaurant with its distinctive character.As the name indicates, lobster dishes are the restaurant’s hallmark (trademark). In spite of that The Lobster House’s menu is quite diverse and guests can choose between a range of seafood, vegetarian and meat courses.The Lobster House’s wine menu is equally diverse, offering a selection of wines from regions across the globe.
Temple, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lobster at Humarhusid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A wonderful meal in a very classic restaurant. The service and food were very good. We all had the lobster in garlic sauce. The lobster bisque was very flavorful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    83
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

First of all, don't expect what most would call lobster. 'Lobster' here is large, succulent langoustine, beautifully cooked and prepared, and lots of it! Very delicious - personally I preferred this to what I was expecting :-). Service was very good, the atmosphere was friendly and cozy. I'll definitely be visiting again, and I will be ordering the main 'lobster' dish for my main again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine Christmas Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I had the prix fix Christmas dinner -- four courses of great food. Reasonable price by Icelandic standards, though expensive by U.S. values. We sampled reindeer carpaccio, pork belly, lobster, and goose breast, ending the meal with chocolate brownie and ginger ice cream. Yum!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food,service sucks!~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were skeptical about visiting this restaurant due to the poor reviews on tripadvisor. Everyone is right about the bad service! But luckily the food was delicious. We really enjoy the food here, the cooking, less salt, freshness.. The lobster soup is yummy, traditional lobster bisque! I just wished that the waitresses will not hide near the kitchen and chat loudly. We can hear you from the dining tables. Please serve the customers and improve on the service level!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“I wanted to like this place more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice, cozy atmosphere in a well-appointed building that was obviously someone's "mini mansion" at some point long ago. In the heart of Reykjavik so the location is prime. Ordering off of the ambitious Christmas menu although fun, was definitely not for the weak stomachs out there (see menu in pics). The server's English was not great (much better than my Icelandic. Hee hee) and in between the first and second course, brought out a "compliments of the chef" tasting of some kind of pickled meat at the very bottom of these cool square-shaped shot-like glasses. Wasn't bad but when telling us what it was, neither of us could decipher what she said so when she came back over when done, I asked her again and this time, without hesitation, said "horse tartar". Ahem, no, she didn't say that the first time. Yikes! Wasn't bad but not sure I would've eaten it if I had known ahead of time.
Anyway, you can see the menu in the pic so was pretty tasty all the way through dessert. The goose was quite good too and the combination of ingredients with everything just really worked quite well and the rosemary sauce was exceptional. The lobster tail, unfortunately, was not much fatter or longer than my middle finger and quite bland (see pic. Didn't use flash so a bit dark).

Service was not good and felt as though the restaurant had a recruitment requirement of "Scandirobots" need only apply. Cold, no emotion without a hint of a smile and a bit intimidating, to be quite honest. Also, the menu does not reflect the name of this restaurant at all.
Fixed price Christmas menu reads like a LOT of food but most very lean and portions were not overwhelming. Pork belly was more like a little skin and just some cooked pork so not done as we know it here in the states (melt-in-your-mouth delicacy) and I imagine, other parts of the world that serve such.

One menu pic is a bit blurry as I wanted to capture the reindeer at the bottom but you can see the other pic clearly and what was included with each course (except of course for the horse tartar).

Pricey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humarhusid (The Lobster House) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humarhusid (The Lobster House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.