We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not easy to find, slightly mad place but good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graenn Kostur - CLOSED

Graenn Kostur
Skolavordustigur 8b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 552 2028
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: International, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not easy to find, slightly mad place but good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Took a while to find this place, not least because Google Maps shows it down the wrong end of Skolavordustigur, and also because it's not actually /on/ Skolavordustigur, despite the address.

If you've got a proper map (like Osmand) it's at 64.14586N 21.93282W. Which is the first time I've ever given a lat-long reference for a restaurant. You can get to it off Ingolfsstraeti by going to the junction with Amtmannsstigur then turn your back on Amtmannsstigur and walk up the parking area and up the steps you'll see in front. You can also get to it from Bergstadastraeti, it's to the right of Bergstadir car park.

"Quirky", probably best description. And not just because it takes a geography degree to find it. Odd decoration, confused staff, a general air of idealism. However.... the food was delicious and the plates full. There was a regular stream of local residents in for the take-away which is always a good sign. Essentially, it's an old-fashioned veggie restaurant where the main thing is the food, and they do that bit very well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The food I had in this place (lasagne) was just delicious - I would therefore recommend it to anybody! My non-veggie boyfriend was also very impressed.

Like some others who have reviewed Graenn Kostur, we had some trouble finding them. Quick tip: google maps may lie to you like they lied to us and tell you that it's at the top of the street near the church - it isn't, it's fairly close to the bottom. You will be able to spot some property numbers so look for roughly where number 8 should be (on the right if you're looking up at the church) and you will find that there's a street heading off at about that point. Turn down that street and immediately turn right (so basically the other side of the buildings you just walked past) before the car-park and it's right there in the corner. :)

If you're looking for a fine dining experience with a fancy restaurant type romantic atmosphere, then you should perhaps go somewhere else; but if you're after a really tasty lunch that'll satisfy your hunger then I would push this place to the top of your list. This is definitely on my Must Return To list should I find myself in Iceland again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Didn't eat here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We eventually found this restaurant - it is behind shops.
We arrived at 7pm and were shown what was on the menu. There was only one portion of one item left and both the plates looked congealed and reminded us of vegetarian food in the 1970s.
We decided to move on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was here in May 2012 and the food was excellent ! My fiance is a vegetarian and this place had a good rating in TA so we figured we would give it a go. If we went back to Iceland we would defiantly be making a B-Line (Bee-Line?) line for this place !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place for vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place was a little hard to find; it's sort of on the back side of the other houses on Skolavordustigur. You access it via a parking lot on Bergstadastraeti. Once there, it's lovely. Appearance of a fast food place but a little nicer. Staff was nice and friendly. The food was really good; I had the dish of the day which was a lovely peanut stew with spring roll and pasta for just under 1800 isk. The WiFi worked perfectly. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graenn Kostur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graenn Kostur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.