We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delicious vegetarian food right next door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A naestu grosum

A naestu grosum
Laugavegur 20b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
552 8410
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 322 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The most delicious vegetarian food right next door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Loved this place so much, came here twice during my stay with friends and family in Reykjavik in July/August 2011. The atmosphere is cozy, you can sit for hours without being rushed out. Since it is located on the upstairs level there is not a lot of foot traffic which makes it pleasantly quiet. The plates were loaded and everything was very affordable in comparison to the surrounding restaurants. The food was fresh and probably organic, very interesting and versatile menu both times we came here. I loved the freshly baked bread on the side.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice and quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I ate here in August 09 while vacationing with some friends. As someone who eats Kosher, Iceland doesn't offer many (when I say many I mean none) options when it comes to Kosher food so as far as I am aware this is the only place a Kosher eater may dine. The food was good and not too expensive, plus the dessert was tasty.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Restaurant in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

A lovely, relaxed atmosphere. A really helpful guy there took us through the options and the food was tasty and healthy - a nice break from the meat and fish dominated restaurants.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Tasty, healthy, filling and a cheerful setting and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a lovely place to get a filling vegetarian meal for an affordable price. The daily special is a good bet, and the staff offer good advice to pick the right meal for your tastes. An endless supply of sweet Icelandic rye bread comes with every meal - a nice touch. The restaurant's space is cheerfully decorated, as well: light and welcoming. The frills are few, but the value is high.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I ate here quite a few times, as it was close to my apartment. The food was good and I loved the organic red wine. The view from the window also made me happy, on a few rainy nights.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A naestu grosum also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to A naestu grosum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A naestu grosum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.