We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vegetarian fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A naestu grosum

A naestu grosum
Laugavegur 20b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
552 8410
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 348 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Miõborg
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I ate here quite a few times, as it was close to my apartment. The food was good and I loved the organic red wine. The view from the window also made me happy, on a few rainy nights.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice vegetarian restaurant. Great dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The restaurant provides good vegetarian fare. The service is cafeteria style. Nothing
fancy. But it felt really good to walk into a place and not have to worry about making
sure the soup was not made with meat based broth and such.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Taking advantage of vegetarians”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I can't understand how a vegetarian restaurant can serve food that is inedible. They seem to not know the most basic techniques for cooking vegetables. The rice was full of hard pieces. The shredded carrot ball thing was full of hard pieces, perhaps walnut shells?! The chick peas had hard dark brown peas, the ones you are supposed to take out and throw away before cooking, not to mention several stones! The dish I got was the "special" of the day. It cost around $15. After nearly busting a tooth and spitting a mouthful into my napkin, I picked around the minefield of the plate trying to eat the edible parts but I kept discovering more hard bits and had to give up. It's truly shameful.

I gave the place a "poor" rating rather than "terrible" because the bread was good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic, filling, centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

After self-catering in hostels for several days, we were glad to put together a meal from a variety of foods. The place is like a cafeteria - you walk up, look at the food behind the glass, and choose what you want. The person working at the counter answered our questions about the ingredients, and advised us on portion size. I liked that the dining room had an open and low-key atmosphere. The bread really is good!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth Uk
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Reminded me of a bus station cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We'd read the reviews and as my partner is veggie, we were so looking forward to a visit.
When we finally found it (upstairs over a chemist), it was disappointing that there was no menu outside or any clue as to what lay within.
We went on a Friday evening; it wasn't really busy. The restaurant was overly bright and lacked ANY character. In fact, it reminded me of a bus station cafe. The food is displayed on a hot plate and you point at what you want. On the evening we went, two pleasant but not overly helpful staff pointed out the selection. The food was tasty but not very hot but it was good value for money. Once we'd finished the meal however there was nothing to hang around for so we were probably in and out in 45 minutes; not an overly impressive dining experience. Although the food was good (but not really hot) I really dont know if I'd recommend this place....

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A naestu grosum also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to A naestu grosum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A naestu grosum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.