We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long way from Italy, but un grande piacere nonetheless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caruso

Caruso
Austurstraeti 22, Reykjavik, Iceland
+ 354 562 7335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $0 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“A long way from Italy, but un grande piacere nonetheless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a warm, cozy place to have dinner in the cold, gray weather that often afflicts Reykjavik. We had a wonderfully tasty, satisfying meal just before walking down to Harpa for an Iceland Symphony Orchestra concert. Ristorante Caruso was the perfect set-up for the rest of a marvelous evening. Especially the excellent carabonara.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    222
    36
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cosy warm friendly Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Having visited this Resturant on 26 th of may 2013 for our 29 th wedding anniversary we were very happy with choice of food.
It was slightly too hot inside for me but this did not spoil it for us a very wide range of food on offer.
It looks small from the outside but it's like the tardis huge inside over 3 floors .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Lobster soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great lobster soup (the best I've had) and, friendly attentive service. Is Reykjavic the friendliest place on earth?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Caruso was recommended and booked for us by our hotel, its a good job they did as the restaurant was packed out downstairs and up. The atmosphere was fantastic in this cosy restaurant with so many people however not at all feeling overcrowded with the restaurant being divided up into the original rooms of the building. The menu was excellent making for a hard decision of what to choose, the food did not disappoint, excellent quality, beautifully presented, extremely tasty and sensibly priced. The service was great as well making for an all round great evening. I would 100% recommend you put Caruso on your list of places to eat whilst it Reykjavik.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellant Food served in a great atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

On a recent trip to Iceland we stumbled upon Caruso's Restaurant. We were surprised by the world class cuisine, the atmosphere which was superb and the service which was prompt, efficient and friendly. The food was excellant and served in an attractive way. The wine was superb although as might be expected the selection was a bit limited. The lab dish was quite simply the best lamb that I have tasted. A restaurant not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caruso also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.