We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food Excellent Staff Excellent Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caruso

Caruso
Thingholtsstaeti 1, Reykjavik, Iceland (Háaleiti)
+ 354 562 7335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 289 restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $18 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Excellent Staff Excellent Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Myself and my husband visited Iceland for our honeymoon and couldn't have chosen a better destination! We also must say that we couldn't have chosen a better restaurant than this one. The atmosphere was wonderful and staff very friendly and accommodating. The food was cooked to perfection and we can highly recommend a visit here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    269
    182
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gravesend kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“first night in iceland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We,that is our group of five went to Caruso by chance really because the restaurant of choice was full,but we were not disappointed at all,the atmosphere was great,staff very attentive,choice of food varied,overall a good experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced tasty food in good atmosphere in central location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Ended up eating here last night as didn't go out til late and many other places were closed already at 9.15ish. Ordered a pizza each plus garlic bread with cheese. Were served fresh sliced bread with a garlicky mayonnaise while we waited for our food - could gave happily just eaten that all night. Both pizzas were delicious (mine jalapeño, pepperoni, pineapple, onion and blue cheese, his Parma ham and rocket) and enormous! I wasn't so taken with the garlic bread but he was pleased to have it all to himself! Bill including a pint of Gull each was about £40 which is about what we'd pay in Pizza Express so not too steep. The service was great and the waitress we had (Cara I think) was lovely and gave us tips on pronouncing some Icelandic words. Had no idea til now they this place us rated quite high on here but I'd say it deserves it!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were a group of 8 adults and the food was absolutely fantastic!! We did have to book in advance as it's a very popular restaurant but with 8 people this is normal. The service, the quality, the atmosphere and the price were all exceptional. We would recommend this restaurant to everyone that likes Italian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved our meal- Great service too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ate here for 3 reason- The reviews, Located next to our hotel and quickness because we were going on a Northern Lights tour and didn't want to stray to far.

It was very busy, as it was every night from what i noticed when we walked past. We were seated quickly even though it was busy and the service was excellent. We had limit time before our tour and we're in and out within 1.5 hours. We weren't rushed by the staff to hurry though.
Our meal was fresh, hot and tasty. The have a range of food on offer from pastas to pizza's and not badly priced.

Would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caruso also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.