We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Bina

Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Bina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Bina
Bugdulak 1 | 105, Reykjavik, Iceland (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked Bina directly via phone and managed to get an excellent sleeping bag accommodation for 4000 ISK - an extremely competitive price compared to the much pricier City Youth Hostel next door. Whereas at my first stage I shared the room with two friends, Bina was as gracious as to give me a fantastic double room with private bath at my second stage for the very same price. Very friendly and helpful owner, Bina is easy to reach by buses 14 or 12, lies next to the main thermal bath of Reykjavik and close to the FlyBus stop at the youth hostel.

I would absolutely recommend Bina if you look for affordable accomodation in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I recommend guesthouse Bina for anyone looking for budget accommodation in Reykjavik. This is a B&B type establishment in a modern apartment building in a pleasant suburb of the town. My room was very small, but perfectly adequate for my needs (as I spent a lot of time out on excursions and visiting the centre). I supplied my own sleeping bag, which made the room very cheap and in my opinion great value. Bina is very hospitable and helpful and a great host. I believe there are frequent buses to the centre although I always chose to walk along the shore (in midsummer, this is a beautiful walk with the the sun above the horizon for something like 22 hours of the day). Bina provides an optional breakfast with a large variety of cereal, fruit juice, cold meat, cheeses and breads . There's also a small bakery close by, which is great for pastries and inexpensive sandwiches. Bikes can be hired from the nearby City Hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Bina Guest house is located close to the thermal pools in Reykjavik. The owner of the hotel is nice, but staying there will not remember well. In the room, there were no facilities, no TV and a shared bathroom with only hosts. You can not use the kitchen, which was close to my room. Allowed me only to make tea and boil water. Using the wifi was for a few minutes, because it's just for home use only. The room was not even count sheets, which should be with you. You can not pay by credit card. The owners do not care too much for the guy out of bed and payment information at check-out. I do not recommend this family-run guest house

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed for four days in total, two at the beginning of our holiday and one at the end. A great base from which to see all of Reykjavik, short distance from tourist info and bus stops, great value for money compared to other guesthouses in the area and it is run by a friendly, warm and welcoming lady. Much recommended...

Room Tip: Sleeping bag accomodation will shave a few pounds off your bill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

After having had two not so nice stays i Reykjavik this was a nice suprise. Nice room, nice landlady, nice breakfast! I am going to make this "my B&B" in Reykjavík.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Given how expensive hotels in Reykjavik are, it was a relief to find this cheaper option online after much hunting, and I would 100% recommend it. Although it is about 25 minutes walk to the city centre, the walk itself, along the beautiful seafront with the mountainous backdrop, was wonderful every time, and gave a view most tourists would not otherwise see. The guesthouse is also near a fantastic open air swimming pool, far cheaper and less crowded (and for my money more fun) than the Blue Lagoon.

Bina herself was great, and speaks excellent English. The rooms are good, with a thick blind to block out the midnight sun. Nice shared bathroom, and breakfast was very tasty, and very good value. Not a luxury hotel by any means, but we had a fantastic stay. Only criticism is you have to pay by cash, which was a bit of a pain. Otherwise I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone travelling to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, bear in mind that the cost of one of the double rooms is the same as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have seen many hotels and guesthouses around the world, and this is one of my best and most personal experiences I have ever had !

You will have a warm welcome, good rooms and beds and a superb breakfast.
We stayed in the appartment on the top floor of a 3 story building with view to the sea. The area is quiet, 2 min. to the sea and 7 min. by bus to the city center or a good 20-30 min. walk.
We can only recommend this to those who have seen plenty of regular hotel rooms, and wants to have a homely and personal experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guesthouse Bina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bina

Address: Bugdulak 1 | 105, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Guesthouse Bina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Bina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.