We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Needs Hotels..... Do These Apartments!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartment K to your Saves list
Apartment K
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
1 review
“Who Needs Hotels..... Do These Apartments!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Great Location, Great Apartment, Great Recommendations for Resturants. Kathy & Husband First Class!!!!!

  • Liked — Large, Modern, Very Comfortable
  • Disliked — If you want some beauty sleep bring eye covers as curtains do not block the light
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    193
    85
    42
    28
See reviews for
93
347
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Apartment K is first class all the way. The Apartment we stayed at is located right on the main strip in Reykjavik. There was plenty of space, upgraded appliances, furniture, fixtures, Ipod dock, flat screens, heated floors, pretty much everything you could ask for. Plus, with the cost of food in Iceland the place saved us a ton of money because we were able to cook meals every day. The owners are great to deal with as well, and really know what they're doing when it comes to vacation rentals-

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Great apartments; ours (K7, I think) was near the city center and well-furnished with mod Ikea-oid decor. Heated bathroom floor, full kitchen, comfortable bed with big comforter, ipod docking station, flat screen TV, and cell phone (for use with prepaid calling cards). Manager was friendly and knowledgable and picked us up at the bus station. Similar in price to hotels with a lot more flexibility. Perfect for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We wound up at Apartment K due to an overbooking at another place and what a treat this was. After staying at various guesthouses in Reykjavik and elsewhere in the country, this was like hitting Shangri-la. And for the same price as those other guesthouses!!! The apartments (we stayed on 2 different occasions) were amazing, like a home away from home, in the heart of Reykjavik, just off of Laugarvegur.
On top of amazing accomodation, Kathy and Jökull are some of the friendliest people we encountered in Iceland (and so was Charlie their dog) and went out of their way to make sure our stay was one of the highlights of our trip. It was like we had been neighbours for years!
I would recommend to everyone to stay here, even if it does seem pricier than other places (although to be frank, it was well within the range of a lot of other places I had looked at), trust me it´s worth every Kronur and more! The location, the facilities, the owners, it all comes together. If you want to avoid the guessing game of what is it really going to be like, you won´t be disappointed with this accomodation.

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the apartments and the amazing decor and setting
  • Disliked — The difficulty in being able to book more nights.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed at Apartment H1, located one block from the main shopping street. The apartment was absolutely gorgeous and had everything we needed for our stay. The location could not have been more convenient for touring the city (and, surprisingly enough, was still pretty quiet at night). The owners were incredibly nice and very flexible (going so far as to meet us when we checked in at 1 AM!).
The apartment had a *BIG* TV hooked up to a mac mini filled with great movies and with internet (don't bother bringing a laptop, although they do have wi-fi if need be), a phone for making free local calls (note-- all of Iceland is "local" except for cell phones), and a fully-equipped kitchen (with plenty of delicious Illy coffee). Everything was immaculate-- they do an amazing job keeping the place clean (see below).
We don't have many complaints. The apartment didn't have a washer or dryer (although, to be fair, we're on a 3 week vacation and probably needed this more than most people). Also, the place was so nice you really had to be more careful than is necessarily convenient. For example, the counters in the kitchen were made of white (porous) granite-- not exactly the best surface if there is any risk of spilling anything (coffee, wine, spice, etc.).
All in all, though, I don't think you could find a better deal in Reykjavik-- both for the price and for the convenience.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana_pa_usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

a beautiful, recently renovated, modern, secure, clean and large one bedroom with private parking, that night the owner met us within a minute and escorted us to this apartment building on laugavegur (sp?), lovely neighborhood and great service, absolutely going back if i can, what a treat to end our vacation there, tv and stored movies on hard drive, cell phone if you needed it, performance is all that counts and this place has it....

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The location is good - very close to the centre but mind the city is pretty small too. In general, it was a comfortable stay.

The price was high (paid £150 a night) but the level of service did not meet the price paid. You have to remember this is not a hotel but an apartment. So you have a kitchen but you will have to give up all the nice services you get from hotels. First, there is no reception. That means there is no one to check you in at your convenient time. You have to arrange specific time to check in. There is no concierge. That means there is no one to help you out with travel arrangement or any other city information. Also there is no other facilities, nor internet connection, nor telephone (except an expensive looking mobile phone without costs information), nor breakfast, nor bath tub, nor room service.

There was no information book on how to use facilities. The movie channel did not work, cable channel did not work, bed side light did not work and heating was not working properly either. I reported all of them but the impression I had was they were not really bothered to fix them so I had to fix by myself or get on with them. The bedding was cheap (seems to be from IKEA) and it does not get changed until you check out.

This can be a good place if you need to cook your meals or you have a family. However, next time I visit the city, I am definitely staying in Borg or SAS hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartment K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.