We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, great location, loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apartment K to your Saves list
Apartment K
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, great location, loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed at Apartment H1, located one block from the main shopping street. The apartment was absolutely gorgeous and had everything we needed for our stay. The location could not have been more convenient for touring the city (and, surprisingly enough, was still pretty quiet at night). The owners were incredibly nice and very flexible (going so far as to meet us when we checked in at 1 AM!).
The apartment had a *BIG* TV hooked up to a mac mini filled with great movies and with internet (don't bother bringing a laptop, although they do have wi-fi if need be), a phone for making free local calls (note-- all of Iceland is "local" except for cell phones), and a fully-equipped kitchen (with plenty of delicious Illy coffee). Everything was immaculate-- they do an amazing job keeping the place clean (see below).
We don't have many complaints. The apartment didn't have a washer or dryer (although, to be fair, we're on a 3 week vacation and probably needed this more than most people). Also, the place was so nice you really had to be more careful than is necessarily convenient. For example, the counters in the kitchen were made of white (porous) granite-- not exactly the best surface if there is any risk of spilling anything (coffee, wine, spice, etc.).
All in all, though, I don't think you could find a better deal in Reykjavik-- both for the price and for the convenience.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    168
    75
    36
    27
See reviews for
83
308
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indiana_pa_usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

a beautiful, recently renovated, modern, secure, clean and large one bedroom with private parking, that night the owner met us within a minute and escorted us to this apartment building on laugavegur (sp?), lovely neighborhood and great service, absolutely going back if i can, what a treat to end our vacation there, tv and stored movies on hard drive, cell phone if you needed it, performance is all that counts and this place has it....

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The location is good - very close to the centre but mind the city is pretty small too. In general, it was a comfortable stay.

The price was high (paid £150 a night) but the level of service did not meet the price paid. You have to remember this is not a hotel but an apartment. So you have a kitchen but you will have to give up all the nice services you get from hotels. First, there is no reception. That means there is no one to check you in at your convenient time. You have to arrange specific time to check in. There is no concierge. That means there is no one to help you out with travel arrangement or any other city information. Also there is no other facilities, nor internet connection, nor telephone (except an expensive looking mobile phone without costs information), nor breakfast, nor bath tub, nor room service.

There was no information book on how to use facilities. The movie channel did not work, cable channel did not work, bed side light did not work and heating was not working properly either. I reported all of them but the impression I had was they were not really bothered to fix them so I had to fix by myself or get on with them. The bedding was cheap (seems to be from IKEA) and it does not get changed until you check out.

This can be a good place if you need to cook your meals or you have a family. However, next time I visit the city, I am definitely staying in Borg or SAS hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I booked Apartment K based on reviews from TripAdvisor. When I got there, I was amazed by the convenient location, the quality of the accommodations, and the friendliness of the owners (Jokull and Kathy).

Due to my travel schedule, I booked an apartment there for the day I arrived (Sunday) and then again on the back end of my stay (Saturday & Sunday), but I still needed to find a place in Reykjavik for Friday. When I arrived, Jokull met me at the apartment (Laugavegur location), upgraded me from my original booking at no cost, quickly booked me a unit for Friday, and took time to show me how to use all the ammenities in the apartment (Mac computer, iPod sound system, 42" television, etc).

The apartment itself was very clean and nicely decorated in a modern style. The location was on the main street in Reykjavik and a short walk to anything in the main downtown area. It's also in a realtively quiet area on the main street, as the further down the street you get, the louder things get at night with the bars and clubs.

I spent Monday through Thursday driving a rental car around all of Iceland. When I came back to Reykjavik on Friday, Jokull and Kathy picked me up at the rental car place after I dropped my car off to bring me back into town. I was then easily and quickly checked into a unit in the Laugavegur location.

My reservation for Saturday and Sunday was for the Bergstadastraeti location. When I woke up Saturday morning, I packed my bag and Kathy showed up to pick them up along with some food I had purchased for breakfasts, etc and took them over to the new location. I spent the rest of the afternoon with some friends before making my way to the new location to check in. The entire process was very painless.

The Bergstadastraeti location is just off Laugavegur in a main part of downtown near the clubs and bars. Everything is very close by and this location is very convenient if you plan on going out to experience the Reykjavik nightlife.

The B1 apartment at the Bergstadastraeti location was very nice. Like the units at the Laugavegur location, the unit was very clean and decorated in a modern style. The apartment also had many of the same ammenities as the others (42" television, Mac computer, etc). There is also a courtyard with a hot tub and a grill.

I found Apartment K to be very reasonably priced. In my research, I found Apartment K to be competitive with many of the other hotels in the downtown area. For my travels, I don't think I could have stayed at a better place. I found the location, the quality of the accommodations, and the friendliness of the owners to be above and beyond anything I could have expected.

I highly recommend Apartment K to anyone who plans on spending any time in Reykjavik. I'll certainly be booking accommodations with them the next time I return to Iceland.

  • Liked — Location and the service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This was our first visit to Iceland. We were meeting friends from Europe and wanted classy accommodation with kitchen facilities for two couples. Appartnent K (specifically, K2) was absolutely perfect: spacious, tastefully decorated, excellent modern kitchen, conveniently located in the main shopping district with access to a variety of foods stores, and all of the amenities one would expect in an upscale hotel. Kathy (the owner) was extremely accommodating and accessible, and made us feel very much at home. Compared to comparable quality hotels, this was a good deal (especially for two couples) and absolutely hassle free. One piece of advice: carefully time your arrival and coordinate with Kathy so that you are not left wandering aimlessly around the city. Unlike the situation with the major hotels, none of the shuttle operators know where to find these various appartments!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

this is how we like to stay abroad!!!
chapeau!
we will come back!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

we recently spent two nights at two separate units in Apartment K. both were very spacious, very modern and comfortable. the location is unbeatable, right on the main road in Reykjavik and within walking distance from the center. for any family of more than 2 people you cannot beat the amenities and the price. the owner, Kathy, is very helpful and service oriented. she gave us a fabulous restaurant recommendation and made the reservation for us right away.

my only minor suggestion is curtains - in the summer the sun doesnt set so its quite hard to get to sleep. the apartments only had light linen curtains which were great during the day but a slight challenge at night. we brought eye masks which helped some.

  • Liked — location, amenities, comfort and price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartment K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.