We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment K

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apartment K to your Saves list
Apartment K
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This was our first visit to Iceland. We were meeting friends from Europe and wanted classy accommodation with kitchen facilities for two couples. Appartnent K (specifically, K2) was absolutely perfect: spacious, tastefully decorated, excellent modern kitchen, conveniently located in the main shopping district with access to a variety of foods stores, and all of the amenities one would expect in an upscale hotel. Kathy (the owner) was extremely accommodating and accessible, and made us feel very much at home. Compared to comparable quality hotels, this was a good deal (especially for two couples) and absolutely hassle free. One piece of advice: carefully time your arrival and coordinate with Kathy so that you are not left wandering aimlessly around the city. Unlike the situation with the major hotels, none of the shuttle operators know where to find these various appartments!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    167
    74
    36
    27
See reviews for
83
306
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

this is how we like to stay abroad!!!
chapeau!
we will come back!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

we recently spent two nights at two separate units in Apartment K. both were very spacious, very modern and comfortable. the location is unbeatable, right on the main road in Reykjavik and within walking distance from the center. for any family of more than 2 people you cannot beat the amenities and the price. the owner, Kathy, is very helpful and service oriented. she gave us a fabulous restaurant recommendation and made the reservation for us right away.

my only minor suggestion is curtains - in the summer the sun doesnt set so its quite hard to get to sleep. the apartments only had light linen curtains which were great during the day but a slight challenge at night. we brought eye masks which helped some.

  • Liked — location, amenities, comfort and price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We're attracted by Tripadvisor's reviews on apartment K at the beginning and hv stayed there for twice during our previous 2 wk vacation in Iceland in mid & late July 08. We hv proven that all the positive comments are valid - excellent location, friendly hosts, clean and stylish apartment well-equipped with kitchen, mini mac with choices of movies and VALUE FOR MONEY indeed! The hosts Jo & Kathy are nice & helpful, and we even met their cute dog charlie. Hv a chat w/Jo and learnt that he's a designer and each apartment has its own style. One of the apartments we've stayed was B2 and the design is nature appeal. Yet, need to alert you all that the beautiful ceiling formed wtih small pieces of wood was a bit "risky". You know what, one of the wood pieces fell on my leg when i slept on the first night (very painful)! I hope Jo and kathy hv fixed it afterwards. Anyway, this was just a small incident and i would still conclude the overall experience was great and hv no hestitation on recommending to you all.

  • Liked — location, facilities, value for money
  • Disliked — no front desk
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

These newly refurbished, fairly priced, state-of-the-art apartments make you feel like a local -- if you just had your place re-done, that is. We stayed in two different units at the beginning and end of our hiking trip to Iceland and we are delighted we chose Apartment K. The owners, Kathy and Jokull, are responsive, flexible and incredibly nice. These apartments are all spotless and they include everything from iPod docks to kitchenware and hair dryers. If you think they're forgetting something, just open all of the cabinets and whatever you're looking for is probably there. Plus, no matter what unit you're in, you are close to everything, but not TOO close. And while it might seem odd that there's not a central location and front desk or concierge, don't worry - Kathy (originally from the U.S.) and Jokull (Icelandic native) tell it like it is and will help you find all of the great spots in town. If you're looking for a wonderful yet affordable place to stay in Reykjavik and you don't stay here, you're just plain crazy.

  • Liked — Location, owners, cleanliness, value for money.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed at one of Apartment K´s apartments during end of July and we where very happy with the accommodation and service provided.

After reading previous reviews I might add for future guest that Apartment K runs several different apartments on different locations. Obviously, they do not look exactly alike. I do however think they all have an upscaled finish, modern furniture and additionally equipped compared to regular rented apartments (42' flatscreen, Mac mini and champagne glasses). The prices are a bit higher, but you get value for the money!

We stayed in an apartment named K3 which was a big spacious 2 bedroom + TV room/kitchenette. Very tasteful decoration and finish as you would expect on a 4+ or 5 star hotel (excluding minibar). Think all their K* apartments looks fairly the same in style. These flats are very central, but a few block away from the primary party places (e.g perfect located). They also provide parking spot if you rent a car overnight.

Remember, you are not in a hotel and there is no reception. So, do not forget to bring the phone number to the owner (Jokull and Kathy). This is the key, since this very friendly and positive couple will help you in whatever way they can. Best exemplified by
1) They could not provide an apartment for the full lenght of our stay (lacking one day and Yes, we booked just one week in advance ;-). Instead they helped us to find another flat (also perfectly central but not as fancy as their own). Then arranged all movement of our luggage while we where out sightseeing. All to a very good total deal.
2) We did not know what to do the next day and got some different advice from Kathy. Deciding we would like to go horse riding. Violá, Kathy picks up the phone, check some timings and we had booked a very nice riding tour the next day.

Next time we go to Reykjavik, our preparation time will be quite short. We´ll just call Apartment K and tell them when we are coming.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed 3 nights before travelling north then returning for two more nights. Very central location on Laugevegur (101 district) the apartments were immaculate and beautifully furnished to a very high standard; 5* Hotel level with Apple PC, wide screen TV, internet access and wonderful beds. I have used city apartments many times before as I prefer them to impersonal hotels; Apartment K is undoubtedly the best we have experienced. Kathy & Jokull (the owners) could not have been more helpful and attentive.
All in all, our trip to Iceland was made by the fantastic accomodation. Thank you so much!

  • Liked — trendy furniture and overall quality
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartment K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.