We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and spacious apartment in a fantastic location for everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment K

Save Saved
You added Apartment K to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartment K
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Funky and spacious apartment in a fantastic location for everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a lovely welcome and was able to check in at 2pm. We stayed from a Sunday to a Friday and got a free upgrade from a Studio Apartment to a Deluxe Double Apartment. We were on the middle floor, at the back entrance. We found it to be quiet and the only noise we heard was from a couple having an argument one night in the apartment above us.

The best thing about the apartment is the location. Perfectly situated between the main high street, the docks and the main restaurant/bar area. All these places are a few minutes walk and there is a good tourist information office literally around the corner. The main BSI bus terminal is just a 10 to 15 minute walk away.

The next best thing is the apartment is spacious and funky. I really loved the kitchen area with it's brand new facilities e.g dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, fridge, up to date techy hob and microwave. Lots of cups, glasses, toaster, saucepans, and utensils. A brilliant area for cooking saucepan or microwave meals. Tea, coffee and sugar left in cupboard by previous holiday makers and we stocked it up some more before we left.

Other amenities in the apartment is a hairdryer, iron and small ironing board.

I loved the bathroom as decorated head to toe in black pebbles. It is spacious and the shower space is enough for two people. Two shower options, one big round nozzle on the ceiling and the other a normal shower head. Both very powerful with big sprays. They provide towels and there is a heated towel rail.

The bed is massive and very, very comfortable. The sleeping area is where you watch TV (all English channels provided) from a huge flat screen. The sleeping area is dark enough during the light nights to sleep, although I like complete darkness so shutters on windows would have made my experience perfect.

The apartment has a huge radiator which heated the place up very quickly. I actually got to hot and had to open the windows!

The only downside to this apartment is that there was no table to eat meals from properly. We had to eat our meals on our laps, sat on sofa or on the bed, watching tv. There is room for a small table and two chairs in apartment so maybe if you ask, you may get.

I would definitely go back to this apartment again as i found it a relaxing place and in a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    146
    60
    30
    25
See reviews for
73
275
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Frankly our apartment was brilliant! It was a nice size for 2 people, it was funky, had all the amenities we needed and free wifi. If I had any complaint it was that the initially appeared to be a lack of storage, but even that wasn't a problem for us in the end. Some people mentioned problems with noises - with the windows open it was possible to hear the night time revelries but closed it was silent and we slept v well (on the v comfortable, enormous bed!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fantastic location and value but not as clean as I would have liked. My apt wasn't too loud at night despite being very close to the main street. Great to have small kitchen, refrigerator and washing machine in my room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Typing this at 5am wide awake due to the noise outside. I'm a sociable guy but the paper-thin doors and windows here make this a no-go if you happen to be home early at the weekend and looking for a sleep at some point. You can hear everything from the street and there are residences a stone's throw away.

Apartments are small but clean and nice enough, no complaints there. Ideal location. Just expect to be woken up repeatedly if staying here. It's not just the weekend either. Even midweek when when we arrived, it was the day after a holiday, and the place was dead in the streets (supposedly it's always the same after a holiday), there were constantly people outside shouting at their chums through the night. Basically ruining an otherwise nice place.

As I type this there is a guy in the apartment shouting at his pals a few levels underneath. At least the 10th time this has happened in the 3 nights I've been here. 10 mins ago there were loud dying sounds coming from just outside. Didn't bother checking to see if anyone was actually being burned alive as it sounded like, it's just another middle-of-the-night, ten-a-penny painful death nearby. You get used to them after a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent four nights at Apartment K at the start of May 2013. The accommodation was very well presented with every thing you would expect at home : dishwasher, washer / dryer, fridge freezer, big tv, - it was all there. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We hired a car for our trip and found parking inexpensive and easily available. City centre can be very busy and noisy at the weekend so if thats not your thing you may want to stay further out. I would definately this venue to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Apartment K is in reality a number of apartments in the general locality of the main building. We arrived at the main building and had a warm and friendly welcome. The chap took us in his car to our studio apartment which from the outside looked nothing special, but inside was well appointed, clean and was uber cool. Large TV, wifi, apple TV and fabulous furnishings. The apartment was in quite a noisy location and had we shut the windows we wouldnt have noticed. In our experience Reykjavik is like this in most places - people like to party very late! It was a shame our stay was so short in this apartment. We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartment K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.