We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time in Iceland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment K

Save Saved
You added Apartment K to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartment K
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic time in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We just got back from our 7 night stay at Apartment K. The flat was spacious, beautifully designed and spotless. The owners are absolutely lovely and a mine of information. We planned our week on their expert local knowledge and discovered some of Iceland's best gems. Make full use of the outdoor hot tub; it's the best relief from a busy day exploring the stunning countryside.

The place gets a bit noisy during the weekend as it is located right in the centre of the city. But it wouldn't be sleepless Reykjavik without it...

We are already planning to go back to Iceland and will definitely stay at Apartment K while in Reykjavik.

  • Liked — The flat has a fun design that is practical and clean
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    146
    60
    30
    25
See reviews for
73
275
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

My husband and I just got back from Reykjavik, Iceland and this time we staid downtown (101 Reykjavik). We found this modern boutique Hotel/Apartment on Bergstadastraeti 3 (Apartment K). It was so cosy, clean and modern with free internet access and close to shops and restaurants. If you're planning a long weekend in Reykjavik, this is the place to stay! We LOVED it :-)

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Stayed here after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor
Agree with everything said.
Only minus is the noise from the street late at night.
Perfect if you are going to Reykjvaik to party

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

My partner took me to Iceland for my birthday and booked this fab apartment. This apartment could not have been more central and still the owners picked us up at the bus station and dropped us back when we were leaving.

Location-the apartment is near everything, including a great bakery which was handy for breakfast. The apartment is super modern with underfloor heating, a double power shower with a foot massager and all the towels, robes you would need. Fully furnished with massive tv, imac and all the cooking utensils you would need. There is even a hot tub for your use.

I really could not recommend this apartment highly enough. The owners are great, really informative and a perfect introduction to this fab country.

  • Liked — Location, modern and spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — nothing. it was perfect
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

Our stay at Apartment K was excellent. We rented a one-bedroom apartment for four nights, the apartment was spacious, very clean and well-furnished. It had a full kitchen so we cooked dinner most nights, which is much cheaper than eating out at the restaurants. The owners Kathy and Jokull were really helpful throughout the whole booking, and gave us some great tips when we arrived on where to go. The apartment was a two-minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik so the location is perfect. We would highly recommend Apartment K.

  • Liked — modern, clean, great location
  • Disliked — No compaints
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Great place to stay, good value for money. Central, extremely friendly and helpful owners. Our 7 year old boy made excellent friends with owners son. Lovely apartment with great facilities. Nice to come home to at the end of the day. Great TV and films, good kitchen (you'l need it.....eating out is expensive) but best of all ... lovelly undrefloor heating..... we want some!
Best place to stay in Iceland

  • Liked — being independent - a home from home
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

A beautiful flat, it had everything we needed. Really comfortable while being funky & stylish. Everything worked well & alot of attention to detail had been put in by the owners. To top it all off it was a bargain.
The owners were really lovely & helpful, offering advice & recommendations on things to see & do. They made us feel very welcome.
Excellent location. Literally a street or 2 away from downtown Reykjavik but located in a lovely quiet area. So close, we found it quicker to head home to use the toilet rather than wait in the queue at one of the funky clubs in the heart of town.
We can't recommend Apartment K enough & look forward to staying there again if we make it back to Reykjavik.
Joe & Jo-anne

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartment K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment K

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 2-4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment K 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel apartments for today's design conscious, value-orientated guest. You can't get anymore downtown than this - 10 meters from world-renowned shopping and party street Laugavegur. 3 value studio suites, 4 large 1 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Apartment K reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment k Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartment K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.