We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 4th Floor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 4th Floor Hotel to your Saves list
4th Floor Hotel
Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value for money, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The 4th floor hotel is located near Hjelmur bus station, pretty much on top of Laugavegur. That means that - as long as you don't mind a bit of a walk - all the attractions are within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel has 3 parking spaces that are available to the guests on the principle of 'first come, first served'. We parked our car very closeby in the P2 zone - basically 100 ISK per hour. The receptionist also pointed out a free parking zone closeby (very helpful!).

The room was large and had two twin beds. The beds were of good quality. There were two (!) flatscreen televisions, two couches, a desk, etc. There was also a small fridge. The bathroom was quite adequate.

There's plenty of choice at the breakfast buffet. There's a number of warm dishes (eggs, sausage, etc.), toast/bread rolls, peanut butter, jams, a salad bar, coffee, tea, juice and small muffins.

All in all the room was really very cheap, especially if you take into consideration that breakfast is included in the price and that the hotel is very conveniently located. The only drawback is the busy street outside: some noise (cars) obviously makes its way into the room. That's to be expected within a city, however!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    91
    40
    13
    7
See reviews for
21
86
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great location meant everything within walking distance. Reception staff extremely helpful in booking trips and directions. Upgraded to Apartment with balcony. Breakfast much better than expected for being included. Very very reasonably priced. Those who have complaints are obviously used to the Ritz (I don't think!).
Would thoroughly recommend !

Room Tip: Depends what you want to pay - they seem to have rooms of all qualities and price. " You pays y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. Staff were very helpful, rooms spotlessly clean with an excellent hot buffet breakfast.
Bar/ resturaunt area very modern with happy hour on certain alcoholic beverages each evening.

Room Tip: I had a single room overlooking the glacier,the view was lovely to wake up each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Large room with full kitchen washer and dryer in downtown Reykjavik, in walking distance to all you need. Only drawback is room smells mildly of cigarette smoke. Otherwise great. Buffet breakfast. Good Icelandic pizza just down the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel was not so bad but several details spoiled the experience : really small bathroom with tiny sink, leaking ceiling and missing bulbs, impossible to completely open the wardrobe and missing shelves. The breakfast quality is average: a few slices of ham/cheese, chemical orange juice, several types of bread, vegetables and some frech fruits...but nothing of a continental breakfast.
Attention if you pay by bank trasfer, expect to be charged for the hotel's bank fees + difference of exchange rate between the 2 banks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Six of us have stayed here for four nights, we have found this hotel in a great location to restaurants, bars and the main thing attracts/sights! We have had a few problems with our room such mainly the shower, in which they had fixed straight away and offered another room. I can't complain about their staff at all, greeting us with a smile no matter what our requests and very friendly..... The price of the hotel we got it for was amazing put it this way I'm paying double for two nights in the uk! This hotel isn't perfect but it's not to far off... You pay for what you get, if you want 5* your not going to get it for under £150 a night..... Me and my friends are very happy with the hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at 4th floor. Easy walk to everything you need in Reykjavik, helpful, friendly staff (found advil for my boyfriend having a migraine at 1 a.m.), and all tours, flybus etc will pick up and drop off here. And the breakfast was just incredible! We loaded up on scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, salad, cold cuts, cheese and more so we wouldn't have to eat again until dinner! And given the price of food in Reykjavik, this was essential! Definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Our room (201) looked right out onto the Phallological Museum :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 4th Floor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4th Floor Hotel

Address: Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4th Floor Hotel operates as both a boutique and a budget conscious hotel with affordable rooms suited to all the needs of our guests. Location, we got that covered! The main shopping street, Laugavegur, begins at our hotel. Car rental and coffee bar on site at the hotel! Free breakfast! Free wifi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your 4th Floor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4th Floor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.