We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week long stay in Reykjavik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 4th Floor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 4th Floor Hotel to your Saves list
4th Floor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great week long stay in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed with my friend for a week during the Airwaves festival. We had a very nice spacious room with chairs and table and a desk with chair and wardrobe. Washroom was also good although the bathroom lights needed to be replaced and the faucet was a little loose. Breakfast was great and filling every morning - both cold and warm options. Staff were super nice and helpful, bug ups to Magdalena and Gheeta (sp?). It was at the top end of Lagavegur where most of the shops end but was a great daily walk to go down the strip, over to the church or by the harbourfront. Oh, how I miss it already!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    97
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
23
89
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the 4th Floor Hotel in Reykjavik on October 26 for two nights. We had booked the standard Double room with private bathroom, but when we arrived, we were bumped up to the Superior Studio Apartment.

First of all, if you're staying in Iceland, you should know that food is extraordinarily expensive. We saved so much money by staying at the 4th floor because the buffet breakfast was included in the room rate. I expected a tiny continental breakfast, but was so impressed to find a full breakfast with eggs, meats, cereal, fruit, cheeses, breads, pastries, yogurts, vegetables, and the fixings for a sandwich. We also saved some cash by making use of the kitchen in our room and the grocery store across the street. Be prepared to pay 25-50 dollars per plate at the local restaurants. We ended up paying over 30 dollars for 2 crappy hamburger meals at the Burger Joint. If I visit Iceland again, I will be booking the apartment style room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us directions and booking our transportation to and from the hotel. The rooms were cleaned impeccably. The location was also amazing!

Room Tip: Apartment style is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic experience staying at this hotel. We were given a room upgrade on arrival..so we ended up getting a studio apartment..which was awesome :). The service at this hotel was amazing. Magdalena and another lady (sorry I didn't get her name) went out of their way to be helpful. Usually the staff provide information only if guests ask them questions but at this hotel the staff was so friendly and did their best to ensure you are comfortable. They also proactively checked with our tour companies to ensure our bookings were confirmed etc which was good because the tour company we booked with to get to the airport didn't have our names on their list even though we had a confirmation email from them.
The accommodation is good, breakfast is nice but the best part is the location - 10 min walk to the Hallgrímskirkja Church, high street is across the road, plenty of restaurants to choose from, a supermarket across the road with a Thai take away restaurant close to it, the sun voyager sculpture is a 5 min walk. The old harbour is also within walking distance.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loviisa, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The 4th floor hotel is in the heart of Reykjavik. Just a short walk to nearest restaurants, stores, clubs and sights.
Some of the rooms have a shared bathroom. In our case that was ok, because we were a large group who knew eachother, may be a little awkward if your "roomie" is a stranger. The doors have locks though. Rooms have been interiored nicely, slightly modern.
It was not expensive at all, compared to other hotels in Reykjavik.
Breakfast was really good, even if the assortment wasn't that broad.
Receptionist really nice and friendly.
A free bus to and from the hotel-airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In a city of expensive hotels, this is not an exception but looking at the rates, it was one of the most reasonable. We were hesitant because of the shared bathroom but it turned out to be just fine. The hotel rooms are on the 4th floor of a building block (hence the name). Our room was a very good size with comfortable beds. A washbasin was also in the room. The TV had a decent selection of English channels.

The hotel is on a main road, and if you sleep with windows open you will get some traffic and street noise from the locals returning from their parties at dawn on weekends. But we did not have much trouble sleeping through that.

As I said, the main compromise was the shared bath, but it was always clean and never had to wait to use it. It was only a couple of doors down the corridor.

Breakfast was also good, served at the ground floor cafe. They can take care of early departures etc.

The hotel is located next to the main shopping street which has lots of restaurants and tourist shops so it is convenient. You can walk everywhere of interest from here without needing public transport. Staff at reception was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stay in the Hotel for a week on september 2013, A very good location, the apartment was equipped with the best, nice staff, clean hotel, spacious rooms, all that a tourist need for a nice sejour. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I loved the fact that the hotel was themed. I know that's not for everyone, but I found the zebra theme to be fun and not overdone. Great location right downtown, and very reasonable priced. The breakfast at the little attached cafe was great too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 4th Floor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4th Floor Hotel

Address: Snorrabraut 29 | Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 4th Floor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4th Floor Hotel operates as both a boutique and a budget conscious hotel with affordable rooms suited to all the needs of our guests. Location, we got that covered! The main shopping street, Laugavegur, begins at our hotel. Car rental and coffee bar on site at the hotel! Free breakfast! Free wifi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your 4th Floor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4th Floor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.