We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lotus

Hotel Lotus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Lotus to your Saves list
Hotel Lotus
Alftamyri 7, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 102 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Huntingdon, Cambs
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great people, nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The perception of everything in Iceland, as elsewhere, is skewed by the interactions with the people you meet. Information office staff, taxi drivers, bus drivers, bike hire people, people walking by or riding by who you encounter when you look lost, people you pass when hiking, hotel staff. In Reykjavik, they were all pleasant and helpful. They will have influenced this review.

The hotel Lotus is modern, spotlessly clean and the staff welcoming. The showers work, the essential blackout curtains are effective and the bed is comfortable. The continental style breakfast is good. You are informed of the start time and left with the impression the end time is rather flexible. There is a trust as regards billing that is much appreciated. Crime is low and we are told on the free walking tour (tip at end so not quite free) that the inmates don’t like the jail as they can hear people having fun outside.

The hotel is a short walk away from the large modern Kringlan mall where the Bonus supermarket sells a can of cola for 78 ISK (44p) as compared to 199 ISK (Approx £1.15p as at 21st Aug 2014 after the money changers cut) in many other places and for £1.80 on the plane. Reykjavik can be expensive but it can also be good value. The choice is there.
Buses go from the mall and from the road near the hotel to central Reykjavik. Single trips are 350 ISK (cash only and no change given and for our visit, free on the day of the marathon) and can include transfers. For example, the excellent hiking centre in the opposite direction from Reykjavik can be reached as a single trip from the mall on bus 6 and then bus 57. As an alternative to buses, central Reykjavik is a 15 minute brisk walk or about 2000 ISK by taxi.
Airport transfers go to Reykjavik centre (1900 ISK one way, 3500 ISK return) or to the hotel swapping from large to small coaches at Reykjavik centre for about 2500 ISK each way. Two companies operate from the airport and offer similar options although different central destinations.

My rating of the hotel is influenced by the competitive nightly rate with an extra star that can probably be partly credited to the marvellous people and the excellent culture night.

Room Tip: I would expect all rooms to be equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is located about 2 km from city center and makes for a wonderful walk into town. We stayed here two nights on the front end of the trip to Iceland and our final night in Iceland. Maria could not have been nicer. She made you feel like a guest in her home throughout the entire stay. The rooms are modern in style with a private bath/shower. The beds are comfortable and they have a table and chair. However, if you want to work, the sitting lounge on the lower floor is ideal with the couches and the natural light. That is also the location for breakfast in the morning. Maria walks you through the breakfast items and answers any questions. They serve the typical breakfast with the exception of also including home made pastries - worth eating. This felt like a home away from home and we were so kindly greeted upon our return. The hotel once was an office building that was converted to a hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms (we stayed on floor one and floor two) were quiet and clean. There is an elevator so I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in this little hotel for 4 nights at the end of our recent Iceland holiday. We had a double room on the second (top) floor. It was great and felt luxurious to be able to have a private bathroom (the shower became my private spa -- fabulous to take looong showers there, and I think they rinse their water, because the hot water didn't smell of sulphur). The entire bathroom floor quickly became wet when showering, but that's just a negligible issue. The beds were very comfortable, something that was most welcome after having spent a week driving around Iceland. There could have been some more hangers on the wall or some place to unpack a little, but I guess that's not something everyone needs -- not everyone stays for 4 nights! And again, just a very minor issue and nothing against all the advantages of staying here.

The two hostesses were very friendly and did a great job in making us feel welcome. The breakfasts were yummy, with a good selection of bread and cereals, and each morning a new treat (cake or something) was on the table. We were welcome to enjoy coffee or tea in the dining room whenever we wanted. The entire hotel seemed very clean and with an in my opinion simple, but tasteful interior/decor.

Walking to the centre takes about half an hour or a little more, depending on exactly where you're going. We bought bus passes for the local public transportation system (Strætó -- www.straeti.is) and the bus stop Lágmúli is just outside of the hotel (you can also buy bus tickets on the bus, but then you have to have the exact amount in cash, which was 350 ISK when we were there). There is also a grocery store on the other side of the street, and a gas station just in front of the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again if I return to Reykjavík (which I hopefully will!).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gland, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we stayed one night in this hotel. The location is convenient, although you still need to take you car to go to the center of the town. The rooms are really nice, modern and comfortable ! You will appreciate the fact that you can open the windows, which is rare in Iceland... The receptionist was also super friendly and very helpful. I think this is probably one of the best option for this kind of price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muiderberg, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We looked for an affordable hotel in Reykjavik for one night with free parking space, close to the city center. Hotel Lotus came up and was booked. It is not located in the most entertaining part of Reykjavik, but that was not our priority for this booking.
Maria was very welcoming and helped us to our room. The room was tasteful, clean and modern. And we were offered tips for going into town.
The next day started with the best breakfast; all fresh and a lot of variety. The outstanding service made it a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Although Hotel Lotus is a bit of a walk from the livelier parts of Reykjavik, it more than makes up for that lone shortcoming in so many other ways. Most notably, the family that runs the place is almost impossibly friendly, helpful and accommodating of nearly any special request. Because we have unique dietary needs, my wife and I can be a hotelier's nightmare, but Maria and her staff went out of their way on a daily basis to make sure we were well fed -- buying special ingredients and preparing custom dishes just for us. They didn't blink when we arrived many hours before check-in, helped us with translations and directions throughout our stay, and went above and beyond in countless other ways that I'm not going to mention because I'm afraid other guests will take them for granted. Long story short: A 30-minute walk (most of it along the waterfront!) or a 10-minute bus ride is a small price to pay for all this hospitality. In America we have a saying that goes, "Location is everything," but Hotel Lotus is a delightful exception to that rule.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Lotus for 3 nights. We both absolutely loved it! Maria and her husband run this lovely establishment which has only been open since January 2014 so everything is pretty much brand new. The beds which are equipped with down comforters are super comfortable. The rooms are bright and airy although they do have dark shades for those long summer nights. Breakfast was also included. It's was delicious! My favorite being the fresh daily breads, pastries, cheeses and cappuccinos. Both Maria and her husband were very helpful when it came to booking our tours, taxis, looking for places to eat with great food and atmosphere, including where to watch the World Cup while avoiding a noisy pub.
Overall we had a great experience. If and hopefully when I return to Iceland I will definitely stay at Hotel Lotus again. And for anyone out there planning on visiting Iceland you will not be disappointed. The food, the scenery and the people are what make Iceland one of the most beautiful countries in the world!
And if you're looking for great service, a quiet location, and clean accommodation then you must stay at Lotus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lotus

Address: Alftamyri 7, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.