We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, Nordic decor, Wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centerhotel Arnarhvoll to your Saves list
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, Nordic decor, Wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We really enjoyed the spa and the staff. The women at the desk really worked hard to make sure we were taken care of. Breakfast was bountiful: lots of options for all tastes in the Sky Lounge with great views of the harbor, mountains, and Harpa though a little cramped at peak morning hours. Room was very clean, mod Scandinavian design leaving no space unused. Bathroom fixtures could use an upgrade but functioned fine. Plenty of hot water and water pressure like throughout geothermal Iceland! Spa includes Viking steam room, dry sauna, dumbbell rack, and still bath with showers and add-on bar service from front desk. Would come back: just got to save up as it is very high priced like all of Reykjavik in peak season.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    322
    104
    22
    9
See reviews for
72
389
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything ok and nothing to complain about, but nothing fancy either.
Breakfast was sub-standard.
Internet was rather slow.
Conveniently located near downtown and yet quite area.
Limited service offering.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived on a late Friday night and our room was damaged by a leak SO...
we had to spend a night at a sister hotel --tiny and a bit noisy --we were afraid our Iceland trip would not be going well BUT due to the incredible help we got from the staff esp Aurelija and Hildur we ended up having a wonderful trip!! The made it very easy for us --made arrangements, made calls and reservations for us , showed us exactly how to get around , very very helpful and pleasant . Rooms are small - there are no grand suites or anything like that but it was modern , clean and stylish
and we had a fabulous view--It is well located . --We LOVED Iceland and would recommend the Arnarhvoll !
Julie Halston and Ralph Howard

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were fortunate enough to get parked at the rear of the hotel only a few spaces available, lovely sized room we were on the 7th floor the room was boiling so we pulled our blinds down as the air con didn't seem to work. The receptionist never mentioned the spa or the facilties as we had asked for an upgraded room so was none the wiser there, the tv didn't work which we weren't bothered about but should still be able to get a picture at least.

The sky lounge was nice and a nice touch to get happy hour between 5-7 pm, we had an open sandwich each with salmon and shared a bowl of chips (you get quite a lot so don't need one each) the food was lovely and the waitresses were lovely also. The breakfast was very good here also.

The bathroom was another wet room and the room is not cleaned on the second day if you stay for more than one night so try not to get your towels wet.

Mini bar wasn't too extortionate, handy having a safe also nice sized room, beds (pushed together) were comfy, the doors can be a bit noisy closing but not too bad. Good location for hotel, opposite sea front oversall a nice stay, we got up at 3am to travel back and the shower took an eternity to warm up, ended up having a luke warm shower but hey ho but still enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

For me, it doesn't matter about the size of the hotel. What matters most is the way you were welcomed by the receptionist. True. first impressions are important and the first impressions here didn't start very well. We end up adjusting because we don't like to spoil our day and we are tired from traveling.

Yes, the hotel is located in a good spot because its near by to the places that you wanted to see. We stayed in a room facing the lake. It's good view but its not good when it comes to sleeping because -- ONE: The time, the sun strikes -- lights are coming in. TWO: You will be hearing all these cars passing by. THE WORST CASE SCENARIO: --- we missed the first FOOTBALL Match because their TV was not working that time, we called the hotel to check their cable, unfortunately, they told us that "they can't do anything about it." -- oh well, that went pretty.. yay!

Anyways, the room itself is clean. small but its alright. We also had our breakfast on the top floor and enjoyed the view of the lake, that morning.

Room Tip: I think, they should choose the room that is not facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at two hotels in Reykjavik, and this was the second. The room was smaller than the room at the other hotel and it was drab. I had seen pictures in reviews, and I had the feeling the room would be sort of funky and modern. It is meant to be modern, but the colours were bad. The days are already so grey in Iceland (even in summer) that having a dark room just made it all feel somber. There is also not much room to hang clothes or to put your luggage.
The bed was comfortable enough for me. The room had two twin beds pushed together. Unfortunately, when we checked in, there was someone's small, curly "private" hair on my pillow. This disgusted me, and I could never feel quite comfortable after that. It's bad enough to have other people's hairs on the sheets, or in the shower, but why on the pillow! EW!
The bathroom had the half shower door that I first encountered in Ireland. It is poor design and water gets all over the bathroom floor, no matter how careful you try to be. Still, the bathroom was adequate enough for getting things done. The soap was only a liquid pump soap, which I do not like using, so I was glad I had brought my own bar soap.
There is a small refrigerator/mini bar in the room. The mini bar is already so filled up with items that there isn't much room left if you want to put something in to keep it cold. There was also a kettle in the room for making tea.
It took us a while to realize the heating is in floor, and it took a while to warm up, but after a few hours the room got warm enough.
Breakfast was chaos. The breakfast room was overflowing, and there was hardly any room to get around or to sit and eat. People were all over the place, even sitting at the counter where the food was set up. They have a policy against taking breakfast to your room, so there's not much else you can do. For breakfast, they had some eggs, some meats, some bread, and a few pastry items. Since breakfast was so disorganized, we only grabbed a quick bite and got out of there as soon as we could.
The staff were average, not particularly friendly or unfriendly, just average. When we made our Flybus reservation at the desk, the clerk did not tell us our pick up time. Your hotel pick up time is actually much earlier than the Flybus scheduled time. Being unfamiliar with the Flybus, we nearly missed it. I think the staff should be more helpful in this situation. Luckily the Flybus people went out of their way to make up for the hotel's shortcoming and we made our bus.
The location is close to the harbor. We could see the harbor from our window. It is close to restaurants and a grocery store. Tour groups pick up from this hotel, and it is a short walk to the Grayline station if you are touring with them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a good position right on the harbour and opposite the Cultural Centre. The standard rooms are an adequate size with comfortable beds and duvets, not much hanging space for clothes, especially when they are wet. Tea & coffee and Wi-Fi are included. The bathroom has the silliest shower I have ever been in but there is counter space above the toilet for storage. The breakfast has good variety of everything you could possibly want and a magnificent view over the harbour. Apart from the shower I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Reykjavik as it is within walking distance of most attractions etc.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.