We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in this hotel and perfect location ♡♡♡” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centerhotel Arnarhvoll to your Saves list
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in this hotel and perfect location ♡♡♡”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I travel alot so when it comes to hotel im very meticulous. This hotel is perfect location it has a good oceanview and everything is within reach. Its where you get both nice view and allnwalking distance to everything from café, bars , restaurants and tourist spots and across it is the Harpa concert hall and near the harbour too. The rooms have nice water view but just need more cabinets for things to keep but other than that everything was an excellent stay for me, I travel by myself most of the time so I always makes sure I will enjoy the location. And staff are so polite and helpful specially Angel he helped organize my tours and showed places to go to. And after each tour I would just walk around the area and go to good restaurants then go to bars with live music and good drink, there was never a dull moment for me in this place and this hotel has nice restaurant on the rooftop with perfect water view and have happy hour drinks and nice hosts.

Room Tip: Iceland travelers every where you go you can charge with your credit cards no minimums and if you st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    292
    97
    20
    8
See reviews for
63
355
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This Center Hotel was a very economical, professionally run operation right across from the Reykjavik harbor and the spectacular conference/concert center.. The rooms were nice size based on European standards and everything was immaculately clean. The bath room was very functional with the outstanding pressure for hot and cold water we came to love everywhere in Iceland The price included a very nice breakfast buffet and the hotel housed the Sky Lounge Bar on the top floor - best happy hour in town.
Check in and check our were a breeze and the only criticism was the front desk suggestion to eat at the Sea Baron which was mediocre and expensive. A minor complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I asked for a harbor view room which I got but it had a surprising amount of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was the first hotel stay in a 16 day European vacation - taking advantage of the long Icelandair layover option we thought why not spend a few days seeing the sights of Iceland. We had a very early arrival of 2 am - we were staying three nights and while a water view was requested our view looked out the back side of the hotel (ok so you can't have everything). We were going to be out and about so the view can be seen in other ways.
But we were expecting towels in the bath - and it would have been nice if the safe worked......and why was our room so hot.....oh - the heat was on and since it comes through the floor it was not obvious to us on how to operate the temperature...... The sheets and pillows had a very strong perfume scent....was that from the prior tenant or just the detergent they use? All this leaves me to think our room was not serviced properly prior to our arrival.
I had paid for arrival the day before to hold the room.....so it should have been in arrival condition.
On the good side, the breakfast was plentiful and there is where you have a good view as it is on their Sky Top lounge....also had a Happy Hour drink there and it was pleasant.
Beds were uncomfortable for my taste - but that is a personal opinion. The spa is very small and dark - you have to ask for a robe and slippers - which they provide and they accompany you to the room as they have the access key.
Location is good - but not everyone can get that water view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here in March for 3 nights. Room was large enough for carry on luggage that we travelled with & had excellent view of harbour. Heated floor was really useful. No trouble with wet room,just be careful! Breakfasts were great,plenty of choice from cooked to pastries.Staff were uniformly helpful & great at arranging trips. We loved the spa,great to relax after long day. We enjoyed Iceland & Reykjavik so much that we decided we had to return soon.However,I made it clear to my husband that if we did, we had to return to the Arnarhvoll as nowhere else would suffice! Happy to say that we are returning (for 4 nights) next March.
Thanks to all at the hotel:Look forward to seeing you again!

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Very good location - close to harbour. Room clean but compact. Fine for a few nights but too small for a long stay. Bar/restaurant on 8th floor is excellent view. Breakfast was fine.
WARNING - hotel will arrange airport transfers. Double check that the transfer they book you on is running. We were booked for the 6.30 am trip but it was not running that day. We only found out when we received a phone call at 5.40 am to say the coach firm has arrived to collect us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for one night at Centerhotel Arnarhvoll in downtown very good location Reykjavik, room was very clean and comfortable, the also have a great Spa on first floor, and on top of the roof great bar and also they do service the breakfast there, you have to give your self good time for the breakfast to enjoy the view. I like to stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel really should be in the top five in my humble opinion. We spent five nights here last week. Arrived late morning from the airport.Location absolutely fabulous. Away from the club scene, but close to restaurants, the old harbour, shopping, etc. Our room wasn't ready, which we expected, but the lady at the front desk locked up our luggage and told us to return after 2 p.m. Upon our return, we were given room 706, which she said was a corner room. Incredible! A large room by Icelandic standards with mountain and sea views, six large windows, and a nice bathroom. Everything immaculate in terms of cleanliness. I was concerned about breakfast as I have to watch my salt intake, but no problem. There was a nice variety of flatbreads, hardboiled eggs, juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt, but hot food (scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage) for folks who wanted it. View fabulous and one could eat outside on the deck. Took advantage of happy hour twice as well as the private spa for guests who have "premium" rooms. Any time I went to the front desk to get something, I was treated with courtesy and always with a smile. And anyone on desk duty was more than happy to answer any questions or book day tours for us. Yes, the bathroom floor did get wet. I didn't do too well with the shower and holding it in the right position, but that was what extra towels were for and if you opened the windows, everything dried very quickly. If we return to Iceland some day, we will definitely stay here. Kudos to everyone who works here!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. We stayed in 706. And pay the extra for the sea and mountain view. Worth ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.