We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant stay in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centerhotel Arnarhvoll to your Saves list
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant stay in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our second visit to Iceland. We stayed at the CenterHotel Arnarhvoll as part of a Secret Escapes mini-break in mid-December. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has really stunning view across the bay and harbour and is just a short walk to the main shopping area and numerous restaurants.

It's a small hotel but seemed to provide mostly everything you'd need. The nordic modern style, was functional with no 'coziness' but there was still a relaxed, warm feeling to the place. The website photos are pretty accurate.

We were hoping to upgrade our room on arrival but they were fully booked due to other tourists and locals staying over for Christmas parties, etc. As it happened our room was actually fine, clean and with everything we needed. At first we thought it would be cold as there was no carpet, but it was really comfortable and later it became clear why carpet would not be ideal when we clomped in and out with wet, dirty shoes. There were nice big windows, a tv with some English language channels and a clean 'efficient' bathroom with a shower. We were very comfortable and slept well. They don't seem to be big on in room tea/coffee making facilities in much of Europe but you could get a nice coffee down at reception or from the Sky bar upstairs. A room on a higher floor would have had a better view but we were hardly in the room anyway and the views from the Sky bar are amazing. We even got some nice shots of the Northern Lights from up there.

Breakfast is served in the Sky bar so you get the views then too. Breakfast included a good, but limited variety of hot and cold buffet style offerings. Nice selection of breads and rolls. We also tried a few of the bar snacks and drinks, they were pricey but at least they were not dissappointing. Particularly good value was the nachos – a huge bowl and very tasty.

The reception staff were friendly, the restaurant staff were variable, but overall everyone offered very good service. The reception desk has handy printed maps of the area which were really helpful and the staff were very willing to make suggestions on where to shop, eat, etc. One of the places we really enjoyed eating was suggested by one of the receptionists – really delicious, no frills seafood and definitely worth a visit – The Sea Baron.

We hired a 4x4 so it was great there were several parking spaces to the side of the hotel so we could park there very easily for free (may be a different story in the summer).

We did not get to try the Spa and sauna with everything else going on but it seemed popular.

We would stay here again if we return to Iceland. Nothing really to complain about. Our last trip was 12 years ago and things have certainly changed a lot! So many more people, cars, buildings, etc. not near as authentic as it was last time but still worth a visit – it the most amazing country.

Room Tip: Room facing the harbour on a high floor offers best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    251
    89
    18
    8
See reviews for
57
305
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountains Usa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a delightful stay here. The breakfasts were very complete and much more than a simple continental breakfast usually served in the U.S. The location was right in the center of all the happenings in downtown Reykjavik. They were great about refreshing the room during the day as well as first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Centerhotel for five nights in January 2014. I endorse all of the positive points in other reviews: the location, the breakfast, the views, the sauna. We were particularly impressed with the effort shown by one night staff member, Andri Freyr, who went to a lot of trouble to accommodate our requests. Well done.

Two suggestions: make sure you book this particular Centerhotel, as there are at least two others in Reykjavik which might not be as good; finally, if you want a double bed, make sure you get it, and not two single beds pushed together with two single doonas on top.

Room Tip: The north-facing rooms facing the water seem to be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It´s not a 5 star hotel as mentioned in earlier reviews, but it´s good standard, clean and good service.

The location is good and central. The Skybar, which is also the breakfast room has a fantastic view, and the breakfast is good.

On the down side I would mention that the walls between the rooms is not silent proof. You can easily here noise from the hallway and the neighbour rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed 4 nights here as part if a Northern Lights package, we were given an upgrade on 7th floor but unfortunately didn't have a sea view. Given that the hours of daylight are limited and we were out most of them, it wasn't a big deal. Our room was a decent size and was very modern and stylish. The combi wardrobe without walls was a revelation but worked perfectly well. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and cosy and the room had underfloor heating. Bathroom was a wet room so some skill required to keep towels etc dry.
All the staff were exceptionally courteous and polite. The SkyBar was a perfect setting for a drink and snack in the evening and for the very acceptable breakfast buffet in the mornings. Plenty to eat and a good range to choose from,
The hotel's location is terrific opposite the Concert Hall, a short walk in one direction to the shops and Hallgrimmskirkje and in the other to the old harbour and a few restaurants and museum.
We would definitely stay here again if we revisit Reykjavik again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This stylish Scandi hotel is brilliantly located in Central Reykjavik, close to the old harbour and main shopping streets. Our fourth floor room had an amazing view over the sea and although the main road goes along the shoreline, we found the room quiet. The beds were the most comfortable we've ever come across anywhere. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food. We also ate in one evening and enjoyed the light bites. Beer in a Happy Hour (actually two hours) is a bargain. The front desk staff were very helpful in booking trips for us. The hotel spa was an added treat. Only slight negative was the duff remote control for the room TV. Other so-called "central" hotels are considerably further out, so we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a 7 night stay here and chose this hotel because of the positive reviews. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, and this included the restaurant staff. Having the spa there added something extra, and it was good value. The views from the sea side were amazing, and it's a great location for both the harbour and the town. As my husband had fallen during our stay we had to eat there several evenings and the food was tasty, reasonably priced for Iceland and well presented. Happy hour meant the beer was cheap! Breakfasts were plentiful - the freshly cooked flapjack was great.The rooms were comfortable, yes, a little small but adequate. I'd read about the shower set-up and that the floor could get very wet so took the precaution of taking a microfibre floor cloth with me and this did the trick! The beds were comfy, and non-feather pillows are available. We slept like logs! We would recommend this hotel if you want a reasonably priced stay in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.