We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Save Saved
You added Centerhotel Arnarhvoll to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy Hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

First you have to recognize that the building is a hotel,you can
See that there is obviously some sky bar ,but the name and the main
Entrance are so small that you have to go in and ask.
After that one can create relationship that gets deeper day by day.
Modern ,goodlooking room and bathroom works brilliantly.
Sky bars wiew ,breakfast and other services are satisfaying,
Car parking is not a problem,wellness center rocks and staff too!
What else? Oh yes, the location of the hotel is the best in town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    231
    83
    19
    8
See reviews for
47
255
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a large group, and everything went well, from the really quick check in, the room was nice and clean, bathroom clean (but why does the water from the shower has to float all over the floor)?! The restaurant on top was great, both for breakfast and for a drink in the evening. Very friendly staff who could help with nearly everything! I can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel has a great location near the harbour and Harpa concert hall. It's also close to the main commercial avenue in Reykjavik, Laugavegur. The views from the restaurant are beautiful. The rooms are nice, not that big but very confortable, and the breakfast is great.
It's also at walking distance to the Sun Voyager, a boat sculpture where I reccomend to see the spetacular midnight sun.
A great hotel to stay in beautiful Reykjavik

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Centerhotel Arnarhvoll before our 12 day circumnavigation of Iceland and 1 night after. We were fortunate to get a large corner room that had lots of space. We used the space to reorganize our suitcases. We were in a room over-looking the harbor and across the street from the beautiful new Harpa concert hall. With the sun shining on the Harpa, the prism glass just sparkled with different colors. It is fun to walk through the building and see the way it is all put together.
The Centerhotel Arnarhvoll was very convenient to all of Reykjavik, but particularly to the pond in town and the harbor where there are some wonderful restaurants. The shopping street is just a short walk away. The Centerhotel Arnarhvoll has their breakfast on the top floor, #8, with a wonderful view where you can eat on the deck or go out for viewing, a very nice breakfast, comfortable seating, etc. They also have a "happy hour" which we were never able to use. We did have a bowl of nachos one night that were wonderful!
The hotel has some parking behind and it is free! Also, there is wireless internet connection throughout. The front desk crew are very helpful. I can highly recommend the hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again when in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Try for the corner rooms where you can get some cross ventilation. Since this was part of our Nordic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, central to town with views of the harbour.
Clean rooms, comfortable beds, best blackout blinds in the hotels we stayed in.
Best breakfast we had in Iceland.
Totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This quite a good place to stay. It overlooks the harbor, across the street from the beautiful new Harpa concert hall (recent winner of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, 2013), about 4 blocks from Laugavegur Street in the center of things. Real comfortable beds, quiet location unlike all the hotels that are in the middle of downtown. The morning breakfast is the best I've ever had and it's served on the top floor lounge with wonderful views. Try to get a harbor-side room, the rooms on the town side have very little view to recommend them. We liked it.
PS take seriously the admonition that it can rain/snow at any time of the year in Iceland. Come prepared with a warm coat, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several years ago for 4 days and liked it for the good location, comfortable bed, and views from the restaurant. I was back in July 2013 for another 4 days and I liked it for the same reasons.

My husband, however, hated it, so I'll note his viewpoint as well. He thought our room was like a dorm room - extremely tiny and shelves instead of drawers, etc. I think that's the design, but it was inconvenient. The room was too tiny in my opinion, too. When one of us was sitting in the chair, the other had to climb over the bed to get to the other side of the room. The shower was terrible - one of those half doors that lets water all over the bathroom, so that there was standing water all over the floor - even when we tried to keep the water in the tub. I've had those at other European hotels without a problem. After the first shower, we opted to shower only in the showers down in the basement in the spa (which we both like a lot).

Our friend who was with us in a different room had all of the power go out in his room (which they fixed pretty quickly), shards of glass in the corner on the floor when he checked in, and he gave them laundry to do, which in their literature they say if you have it in by X in the morning, they will have it back by Y at night. More than 24 hours later, he still did not have his laundry. They said just a few more minutes and we finally gave up and went out. When we came back, they tried to give him two bags, because they mixed up his laundry with another guest, so there were two bags instead of one. They tried to sort it out and were missing a sock, which they found later and returned.

I would stay here again but my husband will not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerhotel Arnarhvoll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.