We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not-great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not-great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel itself was fantastic. It was in a great location and the room had a lot of interesting and unique features. Additionally, our room was extremely quiet which was wonderful considering we arrived at 6am after a red-eye. We were able to take a rejuvinating mid-afternoon nap without any interruptions.

We chose to stay at a hotel rather than try to rent an apartment for the advantage of hotel staff offering advice on things to do and places to see in Reykjavik and around Iceland. However, all of the front desk workers throughout our one night stay were not friendly and we did not feel comfortable asking them questions. Additionally, we were charged 50 euros to check in at 8am when we arrived, even though our room was ready and we had not asked for early check in.

Additionally, I am working out a double payment issue with my credit card. My card was charged when I made the reservation a month before our stay and was charged again when we stayed. The breakfast was an additional 11 euro charge, so we took advantage of the nearby bakeries instead.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    368
    76
    30
    9
See reviews for
67
575
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel had great location, right in the center of town.
Very modern and fun.
The staff was very good, prompt and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

negatives:
If you stay in a room facing the street, it is really noisy on the weekend.
the free wifi was very slow, and only available in the lobby.
They did over charge for snacks which we never had. Had to call and dispute a few dollars with the bank cause the hotel manager did not respond to our email.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at this hotel at both the beginning and end of our week long trip in Iceland. It was easy to find as we navigated our way into Reykjavik, and we had no problems finding street parking very close by.

The hotel was clean (and warm!) and the decor was very nice. The hotel rooms were small, but very efficient - they had space for everything we needed. Loved the bathrooms and showers! Breakfast was large and delicious - it had everything we could want and certainly helpe us get started on the mornings when the sun was hours from rising. All sait, it was a GREAT deal for the price we paid. But the proce was only available online and not at the hotel - we booked our last night by walking down the street to use the internet to book our room.

It was easy to walk from the hotel to all of the places we wanted to go! It snowed in Reykjavik on our last day and the city was beautiful with its layer of winter white.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Predd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Have to echo other reviews I've read about their poor customer service. Hotel was prepaid through a 1800Hotels voucher. Emailed them just days before the trip to confirm the voucher's validity...they did. Accepted my voucher at check-in, and said I only had $5 in incidental charges for phone calls at checkout.

Arrive home to a surprise $700 charge on my Amex that I didn't authorize. Two months later still trying to resolve the matter. The claim the voucher wasn't acceptable after all, and their "proof" consists of an invoice I was never provided with a credit card receipt that I never signed.

Can only assume that the joker behind the front desk mistakenly took my voucher and now they're trying desperately to make it my problem. When confronted with the truth, they only offer trite "advice" about contacting my credit card company, or making a travel insurance claim.

Highly recommend getting explicit documentation from them at checkout. Their complete lack of integrity on the matter is pretty dismaying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and it was perfect. We wanted something with charm and style, and this place offers both. The reception and breakfast staff was friendly and polite.

The breakfast was relatively simple (eggs, bacons potatoes, toast, croissants, coffee, juices, etc.), but satisfying and enough to get us through until lunch.

The room was really well- and efficiently-designed with a few exceptions (whether you want to, you can practically shower and use the toilet at the same time - yikes! - and also: there is no drying rack for your towel). Overall very trendy, of Scandinavian design and comfortable.

We didn't try out the restaurant, but had a glass of wine in the "bar" one evening (front desk staff person hopped up to pour a glass when we asked about it....not too lively a bar on a Wednesday night).

Great location, near everything. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Most of my review would mirror what others have said; this is truly an Iceland triple threat. Location is excellent, value is superb, and accomodations exceeded all expectations. Don't be fooled by the outside, as the inside decor was very impressive. After reading previous reviews, my only worry was the noise. I am happy to report noise was never an issue for us. However, after visiting Reykjavik, if you are in your hotel room on the weekend, trying to sleep, you are missing out.

We had a junior suite and it was very comfortable and spaceous. Breakfast was excellent and provided plenty of options. We were able to connect to the internet but found the connection next to the beds was better than the one near the phone/desk area.

Food and Fun: We spent five days in Iceland and the location of our hotel afforded us the luxury of spending our extra time shopping, eating and exploring the downtown area without every being far from the hotel. We at at Basil & Lime, Caruso (right on the corner of hotel) and Geysir....all were excellent. For one casual dinner, we were referred by locals to the Burger Joint down by the pier - hamburger and fries were a nice treat. We also had hotdogs down by the pier - a must! Every morning we started with a cafe latte at illy, right in the center square near tourist center - best latte I've every had. Saturday night was spend at the English Pub downtown - live music was very good and we had lots of fun.

Day Tours included Blue Lagoon (Reykjavik Excursions), Golden Circle (Go Travel Iceland) and Horseback Riding in Lava Fields (Ishestar). Highly recommend each of these.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We based ourselves at the CenterHotel Thingholt for the whole of our 5 night stay in Iceland. The outside doesn't look particularly promising but as soon as you walk in, you get a feel for the place straight away. Decor is probably love it or hate it - and we loved it. It was very modern and sleek with cowhides on the floor and leather seats - quite Scandinavian and well executed.

Our room was on the top floor and was really stylish. The bathroom was within the bedroom but has frosted glass walls - probably not great if you're prudish. The room was very spacious and decorated in the same way as the reception area so we loved it.

Great location, breakfast was fine but the only downside was when we arrived (around 1am on a Saturday morning) the streets nearby were still buzzing and therefore pretty noisy from our room. However, the remaining four nights were peaceful so we didn't mind too much.

The guys on reception were friendly with good English and we booked all of our trips through them.

We loved Iceland and the hotel was great too.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.