We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Beautiful modern hotel, just 10 metres from the central street of the city, many restaurants and shops just in few steps. Pick-up service by FLY-Bus available from (to) this hotel to the Kevlafik International Airport. Extremly friendly stuff on reception.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    368
    76
    30
    9
See reviews for
67
572
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed here for a week as our home-base to explore Iceland.

The staff was always helpful if not a tad tired. I think we saw the same two guys doing back to back 12 hours shifts for the better part of our stay.

The location is central to everything and we were spared the noise that others complained about. We did stay on the 4th floor away from the street which helped.

The room was sparse but had all the amenities. The beds were a bit of a let down in terms of comfort but that could have been the two beds pushed together that we requested.

My only complaint was the wifi. It's spotty, slow when it does work, and only available in the lobby. This should have been clearer on the hotel's site.

The staff helped with travel arrangements and was always pleasant.

The included breakfast was fine for what it was but nothing amazing.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The cold
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We really liked this hotel, nice clean rooms, nice staff and so on. Location was really perfect. We rented a car and was able to park it right outside the hotel (free parking between 18.00-10.00)
We only had one problem and that was the loud noice from the disco down the street, started at 1.30 and kept going all night both friday and saturday, but this wasn´t the hotels fault ;)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The location of this hotel is great.

We stayed for a week on the 3rd floor on the 'noisy side'. The noise level on Friday and Saturday nights were not as bad as I was expecting. I am a light sleeper but I closed the window and slept with no problem. My wife thought the duvets were too narrow. I thought they were fine.

The desk staff was fairly helpful. The pregnant woman who worked the desk was very nice and helpful. One of the guys there wouldn't print our boarding passes though.. The breakfasts were nice and included in the price. Nice variety of food.

The only downside was that our refrigerator didn't work and they never fixed it. I had bought some beer at the duty free at the airport so every night I had to go down and get some ice. It would have been nicer to just open the fridge and have a cold one rather than get some ice and wait an hour for the beer to cool down....

All in all though, I could see myself staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The hotel doesnt look much from outside but as soon as you walk in you realise the interior more then makes up for the disappointing first impressions. We were staying for four nights at this hotel in two rooms as we were a family travelling together for a surprise 60th birthday! This hotel was a perfect choice if you want to be central, the hotel is just off the main street (lots of restaurants, bars etc) and a two min walk from the excursion pick ups, harbour etc.

Check in was smooth, we requested rooms on the top floor as we had heard from previous reviews that over the weekend noise can be a problem, they informed us that the hotel was fully booked but that all the rooms are really nice, fair enough so we got given rooms 101 and 102 which were fine as they were at the back away from the main street so no noise!

Rooms and bathrooms are modern, clean, reasonable size etc. really nice especially for the price and a plus point with having breakfast included.

Breakfast was ok, nothing amazing, usual things like cereals, pastries, fruit, cold meats and cheeses as well as scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. There were a couple of things at breakfast that were quite annoying, none of the hot food was actually hot, looked like it had been sat there for a really long time. Also coffee was never hot, quite a few other guests complained about this. Then another thing was on one of the days we came down and the lady who worked the breakfast shift was using the internet on the receptions computer which i thought was a bit unprofessional, clearly not doing her job! Overall you manage to find something decent to eat through trial and error.

Reception desk were not the most helpful people in the world and not the most knowledgeable either, you would think that as they live there they would have a gd knowledge of places to eat, we had done our research before we went but thought it would be worth asking them for their advice, big mistake, any time you mentioned a restaurant to them they would look at you with a blank face.... no idea whatsoever!
But if you are wondering where is good to eat then here is some advice, The Fish Company is amazing we ate there twice it was that good! Also the Vox restaurant which is in the Hilton is great! The other restaurant which was good was The Dill restaurant in the Nordic House relatively new so you must book in advance as its not very big! And finally the Gallery restaurant at Hotel Holt. We did not eat one bad meal in the whole five days!

However, reception always seemed to have a chip on their shoulder when you would ask them to make a reservation for you, one of the days we asked them to make us a reservation at the Grillio just before we were leaving for an all day excursion, when we got back we assumed that they had booked it as they didnt mention anything when we got back. I was sitting downstairs and was asking the receptionist about how best to get there and then he comes out with oh by the way they didnt have a reservation for the time you requested, we could only get you in at half nine, so we had been at the hotel since five and he failed to mention this until i went up to ask him a question about 3 hours later just before we were meant to be leaving to go for dinner!

I asked for a coffee at the bar and the receptionist suggested i should go next door to a coffee shop and get it there as it tastes better and costs the same, what a way to promote your own hotel bar.....more like he couldnt be bothered! Especially as it took him about 20mins to get us our drinks as he was the only one on reception and decided to attend to other guests first even though we had ordered our drinks before they had come up to the desk!

I mean its details like this that make me think they dont care about their guests whatsoever! So the hotel is great in terms of location, quality of rooms and the price we paid was reasonable compared to some other hotels but do not expect any top service! Would i return.... probably only because other hotels were much more expensive, further away and did not include breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Blah exterior hides very cool interior lobby and modern, clean, fun (if a bit small) rooms. Location is what rules here: 2 minute walk from main square, and around corner from main shopping street. We walked to everything from here and felt it was very central. Many of the hotels are just too close to the squares and the noise from bar/club crowds would be deafening on a weekend into the wee hours. This is a side street so significantly quieter (but don't expect no noise--weekends are crazy in the streets). Visited some other hotels, like the 101, and didn't think anything was especially better than Thingholt and certainly not worth more money. Hotel staff is for the most part extremely helpful. Breakfast buffets were quite good. We will stay here again on a return visit. My ratings here are relative to other offerings is Reykjavic--not worldwide. Thought it more fair to compare Thingholt to its local competition.

FWIW, we are a gay male couple and felt completely comfortable here (as we did in the entire country, actually). From our perspective it was a total non-issue in Iceland and Thingholt was no exception. No one looks at you funny when you book one bed and two guys show up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

My wife and I made reservations with this hotel group. Three days before our stay we had a medical emergency that threatened my wife's pregnancy. We went to the emergency room and the doctor advised us to take the first flight home. When we informed the hotel that we would not be able to keep our reservation they refused to refund our payment. Even when we explained the circumstances of our cancellation and offered to provide documentation they only quoted company policy and refused to help us in any way. While the hotel may look nice and be centrally located there are many other hotels of similar quality and value in Reykjavik and I strongly recommend that you avoid this one because of their horrible and heartless service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Public Relations Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
First of all, on behalf of CenterHotels, I sincerely hope your wife is doing better.

Our terms and cancellation policy for Advance Purchase bookings are very clear. When booking this rate you agree to the terms and conditions of the rate:

"Advance Purchase rates are fully pre-paid, non refundable and can not be canceled or modified."

Therefore these bookings are available at a 25% cheaper price.

In this case, you could contact your credit card company because in many cases the credit card company has a policy that can compensate. You should also be able to claim this back on your travel insurance and we would be happy to provide you with the paperwork that you would need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.