We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a small boutique hotel that is perfectly located in the centre of Reykjavik.

The hotel is very modern in design, and the rooms equally so. We were situated on the 4th floor and although the room was quite small, it was more than adequate to contain three bags and perfect for the one night we were there. Very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had an excellent power shower.

The breakfast was included and was more than adequate, a blend of continental with bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs.

The staff, like many Icelandic people we encountered, could not have been more welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: I was recommended the higher floors due to the noise locally but I don't think it would have mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    396
    94
    34
    14
See reviews for
76
649
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is centrally located with plenty of restaurants around it. What stood out was the staff who helped us with directions, tour arrangements, taxis etc. Special mention about Clara who answered all queries and made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: Any room with windows to the street - weekends could be noisy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

You can't ask for a better location in Reykjavik. This hotel is in the middle of shopping, restaurants, and landmarks like Hallgrímskirkja church and Laekjartorg Square. And much like the rest of Reykjavik, this area feels extremely safe.

The room was small by American standards, but about average for Europe. It was a little darker than average, but very clean. The hotel was well-maintained in general. Given that I visited during the summer, when it never gets dark, I would have liked curtains that could be closed completely. The TV is mounted in the middle of the windows, so there's always a gap in the curtains around that.

Free wifi and breakfast--definite bonuses. You don't find very much free stuff in Iceland!

The lack of concierge services was my only real complain. I would have liked a little more help from the staff on tour suggestions. I asked a few different people, each of whom just handed me a brochure for a Grey Lines bus tour. At a hotel of this price, I would have expected connections with some of the smaller tour companies. Similarly, they were not helpful with restaurant or shopping recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Small hotel located right off the main street in Reykjavic. The hotel is modern scandinavian in design. Rooms were nicely up to date and moderately sized. It has a cool vibe kind of feel. Breakfast was included in the room rate and consisted of a nice variety of choices. They have black out curtains to keep the room dark even when it is light outside. Our room was hot due to the heated bathroom floor which you could not control. We had a fan in our room that we turned on to cool down the temperature. The hotel is a perfect location to walk around town, shopping, restaurants. On Saturday night it was a bit loud due to the bars just at the end of the street, but we closed our window and the noise was not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great hotel with an exceptional staff. Perfect location. Bit pricey but that's expected in Reykjavik.
Room was small but I wasn't surprised by that. Allowed an early check in since our flight had arrived from US via Toronto very early in the morning which was nice and much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very nice small hotel in the center of Reykjavik, close to restaurants and shops. Very good service, front desk personnel knowledgeable of tours,and restaurants. Need to be aware that if you are given a room facing the street, and on top of restaurant you will not rest well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The highlight of the Center Hotel Þingholt is, by far, the location. You're literally in the heart of downtown with great dining, shopping and sites all a short walk away. For me, this was worth the price and helped us make the most of our six days in Iceland.

Be warned though, the central location also means you can hear the weekend bars and partiers all night. Seriously. On summer solstice, the bars shut down at 5:00 a.m. and i could still hear people slogging hime at 6:30 a.m.

We stayed in a third-floor junior suite, which included a pretty amazing bath tub (big, great water pressure and hot water) that was a nice luxury. The bed was low but very comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned, temperature was difficult to control. With the windows open, the room was perfect, but on Friday and Saturday night, the noise was just too much.

I would absolutely stay here again, though only Sunday through Thursday nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.