We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my mother. The hotel is very well presented, modern, clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.

We had a standard twin room, which was actually really nice. Lovely size room with plenty of space, big wardrobes and a well equipped bathroom. There were a couple of things that let the room down. The first was the lack of lighting in the room. Whilst I understand they are going for the ‘ambient mood lighting’, this wasn’t helpful on those long dark nights. We found it difficult to see properly at all, even to get dressed, find items and do our make-up. The other downside was that the room was incredibly warm and there was no way of controlling the temperature (no air con) other than opening the window. Although we were at the back of the building this meant that it was quite noisy at night, and because the window had a health and safety catch on it, it would only open a couple of inches. On the last night, I managed to over-ride the safety catch to enable us to have a comfortable night sleep. Having said that, the bed and duvet were very comfortable and we slept well (long days meant we were exhausted).

The happy hour 5-7pm is well worth it. This was the only time we bought wine, as generally it is quite pricey. However a glass of wine in happy hour was approx £4, so good value. I thought breakfast was good. A small selection of pretty much everything, cereals, pastries, cooked food, bakery goods and more traditional Icelandic fish. I’m sure most people would be able to pick something from the selection.

The hotel has recently opened a small spa area which is not advertised anywhere on their website. I did enquire why this was and told that as it is brand new, they haven't had a chance to update their website....Missing a trick here I think!!

The hotel is well situated just off the main street with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby (the restaurant next door ‘Caruso restaurant’ was particularly good, great food, great service). If you are booking tours, I would recommend you book with GrayLine (also known as Iceland Excursions.....NOT to be confused with Reykjavik excursions), as their office / start point is 2 minutes walk away. This means it’s easy to pop down and see if the Northern Lights tour is on / off. It also saves you a transfer to the bus depot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    368
    76
    30
    9
See reviews for
67
572
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. Ideally placed right in the heart of where you need to be. The hotel is modern and very atmospheric - low lighting, warm rooms, loads of hot water and friendly staff. We paid for a deluxe room which was a little more spacious.
Breakfast is served in the main bar area, there's everything you could want really - selection of hot cooked food, pastries, fruit, cereals etc
Hotel is close to shops, supermarket, bars ..
I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: There isn't really a view from any of the bedrooms but I would suggest not having a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights. This hotel is in a great location, but having said that Reykjavik is very walkable.

As previous reviewers have noted, this hotel's design is not to everyone's taste, it's certainly modern. Very poor lighting in some public areas, especially the bedroom corridors - we could hardly read the room numbers. Lots of tea lights lit in the lounge area for a cosy ambience. Certainly we could have done with a little more light in some areas of the breakfast room.

As for the bedroom, personally I didn't like the frosted glass bathroom wall and door, and even though you can't really see that much through it, we did feel as if we were losing our privacy. Even though we had a deluxe room, it was still very cramped - in fact I called down to reception upon arrival to check we had actually been checked into a deluxe room as it seemed quite small. There was very little space to the side of the bed. Nowhere other than the wardrobe to hang bulky coats.

We had asked for a quiet room at the back, and this request was granted, except that the aircon units were right outside our window and kept us awake the first night. After that we got used to the noise.

I had not read the small print properly and thought our room came with a bath at the end of the bed, but apparently with a deluxe room you either get a sofa or a bath, so make sure you request a bath if that is what you want.

The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. Two single duvets on a king size bed, which I understand is the norm in many countries.

There was a mini bar and kettle & tea tray, but only one tea bag between two each day and no milk. We went down to reception and requested a small jug of milk to take up with us.

Breakfast was OK. Delicious salmon. A few pastries, toast, cheese, ham, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, hard boiled eggs and then a hot selection of streaky bacon, small sausages, potatoes and scrambled eggs which were very dense and more like cut up omelette. Breakfast is served until 10.00 am which is good if you're out late the night before on a Northern Lights tour.

Happy hour in the bar is from 5-7 and prices were very reasonable during this time.

Checkout is a nice late 12.00 noon.

Wifi worked very well throughout the hotel.

All the staff we found to be very friendly, welcoming and eager to please, so I am sure that if you were to have any problems they would be quickly rectified.

Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and high up if you don't want to be disturbed by revellers at the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Centerhotel Thingholt is in a brilliant location in the middle of the city so exposure to the elements is minimised when going to the restaurants and bars. The hotel interior is warm and inviting but modern and trendy at the same time. We had a standard room which was all we needed as we were out and about so much. Having taken note of previous reviews we requested a room at the back of the hotel which was allocated to us on arrival and we had no noise issues. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and made our group feel very welcome. Check in and check out was extremely efficient and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

You can't really get a better location if you want to be in the heart of Reykjavik. We were fortunate enough to get an upgrade on arrival as part of the package we booked through Secret Escapes and were very impressed with the top floor suite, with panoramic views across the city and harbour, a good sized bathroom, English TV programs and a quirky modern stylish decor we had no complaints what so ever about the room.
Breakfast was a buffet which was kept well stocked and included the local touches such as pickled herring and gravlax (both delicious). The homemade cherry flapjack was incredibly moreish, slightly odd to see chips available, but most people seemed to tuck into them.
The bar in the lobby is large, comfortable and not too expensive, the local beer was very good and worked out about £4 a (almost) pint.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel was as central as all the reviews state - ideal location. Room was modern, very clean and comfortable. We asked for and had a room at the back, no noise issues, and a quiet hotel, with no internal noise from rooms around us.
Breakfast was excellent, always topped up with fresh supplies, all very good quality.
Tour pick up is great from the hotel - if you are with Grey line it is only a few minutes walk down to their main depot.
Sadly no Northern lights during our stay but the tour companies do try hard, and let you go again (and again) if you don't see the Northern lights.
Spa in the hotel was a lovely stone hot tub. Happy hour made it good value for a beer after a hard day sightseeing.
Italian next door was good, and the Icelandic Fish and Chips on the main road opposite the harbour was excellent - the lightest batter and freshest fish, For a snack, the cuckoos nest further along the harbour behind the Viking museum does the tastiest soup,and a great Californian deli sandwich..
I would go back to the hotel as it ticks all the boxes for comfort, great designer boutique style, excellent food, helpful staff and perfect location.
Iceland was just awesome! Take plenty of warm clothes, enjoy the clear air, friendly people (with a great sense of humour) and a totally fantastic country to visit.

Room Tip: Rear room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Centerhotel Thingholt is an very good designer hotel about as central in Reykjavik as possible, the staff are nice and helpful (including in helping book tours), the buffet breakfast is of a good standard (cooked b'fast is ok, continental is excellent, and flapjacks are mouthwateringly good), and the beds are comfortable. Those who like the modernist designer experience will love this hotel, despite the occasional functional flaws in design (e.g. dire lack of storage, sacrificed to cleanliness of rooms' minimalist lines, or the rather low height of lighting). There are both a small spa/jacuzzi pool and a sauna in the hotel (currently costing a one-off fee of IKR1,600/£8 per person for the duration of your stay). The 'gym' consists in two bicycles, some free weights and a mat, so not much use unless you're desperate to get on a bike. Also, there are thermal baths very close by costing about IKR600/£3ca. which would probably be a better experience. A general word of warning: what they say about prices in Iceland is true, so unless money is not much of an object, come prepared particularly in winter with clothing etc. because buying local can be ridiculously expensive (and no, most of the time it will not be enough to go to the Flea Market - although the Red Cross second hand shop nearby has some actually rather lovely things).

Room Tip: Thingholstraeti, the street outside the front of the hotel, can get noisy in the evening (weekdays i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.