We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

CenterHotel Thingholt is very well situated, a short walk to most sites, restaurants, and the center of town. The weather was unseasonably hot while we were there, so the rooms were stuffy (of course Iceland generally has no need for AC!), and since I'm a very light sleeper, it was a bit noisy to open the window. However, the hotel is located just on a little side street, removing it from the worst of Reykjavik's noisy nightlife (but we did not try out this theory on a Friday or Saturday night).

The interior is ultra-contemporary in design, spiffed up with black and white leather, a fountain, cow hides, glass, acrylic and sealed cement - a little too black and white for my tastes, but I appreciated the effort. Our double room was not large, but it was well-laid out with a large white leather sofa, very comfortable beds, and the largest shower we had while in Iceland. Our friend's single room was smaller still.

The desk staff members are pleasant. There is free wireless internet and a large lounge area next to the front desk. There is no parking for the hotel, but we had no trouble finding a spot on the street less than a block away. It is metered parking that activates at 10am. The breakfast buffet, which has fruit, veggies, boiled eggs, toast, pastry, meats, fish, cheese, yoghurt and cereal, was better than most others we saw in two weeks of travelling Iceland.

Given the great rate that we found, I'd stay there again while in Reykjavik.

  • Liked — Value, location
  • Disliked — windows barely open (hard to get fresh air)
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    368
    76
    30
    9
See reviews for
67
572
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the main street. You can get the flybus from the airport to the BSI bus terminal, which then has free connections to hotels.
About 4 times a day, there is a bus that goes from the airport via the blue lagoon and then onto Reykjavik. We did this and the Blue Lagoon was excellent. We then got the last bus from the lagoon to Reykjavik, which was at 9pm.
Airport to Reykjavik = 45 mins, blue lagoon is about 15 mins from airport.

The main transport is the bus. These are regular, on time and cheap. You can access the outer Reyk area this way.

Everyone speaks excellent English.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — dark rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

All the good things other people have written are true - great location, good breakfast, great design, great rooms etc, the only thing which ruined it for me was there was no air con in our room (410) and as it was a 28 degrees heatwave and our room was facing the sun which shone virtually all day and night it was just sweltering in there. There was a tiny window which could only be partially opened. Also the bed was right infront of the window. If it wasn't for this I'd give it excellent, but even on a cooler day of about 16 degrees it was like an oven. We just couldn't sleep at all. They didn't have any fans to loan us. I wouldn't stay there again because of this. Some areas of the hotel had blowers on, the reception area was cooler and the corridor, but not the corridor for our room. The Icelanders don't do air con in shops, restaurants, anywhere really, so if this bothers you go another time of year!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No air con in our room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I booked the hotel as I like modern design hotels. I was not disappointed, the interior is interesting and they have made a real effort with the design of the rooms.

The bathroom was behind a glass sliding door and we had a free standing bath in our rather small room, it was a nice feature though.

The breakfast was included and was sufficient. Stock up though as eating out (well doing anything) is VERY expensive in Iceland.

Beds were comfy, curtains blackout which was good as it was light all night.

Reception staff a little rude and unhelpful on calling but the bar staff were very friendly and full of local knowledge.

The hotel is just off the main street and near lots of the city's coolest bars and restaurants. The is a great bar at the end of the street (B5 or something similar) with a brilliant atmosphere. However the loacls party all night long and it can be prety noisy in the hotel over the weekends as they seemed to smash glasses when they come out of the bar? It did not ruin our stay but we were conscious of it. Also our bath had a very noisy plug which glugged in the night and kept us awake!

Lots of amazing scenery and some great adventures to be had in the surrounding countryside. You must vist Geysir and the Blue Lagoon, it was awesome!

I was very disappointed by a whale watching tour we took with ELDING, they were a scam who charged £50 pp to see no whales. I understand it is chance if you see them but so many people we saw (including locals) said they were unreliable and took advantage of tourists (they take you out when they know no whales in the area). You may have more luck!

  • Liked — Interior
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

The Hotel is very nice and close to all of the good action in Reykjavik. The decor is interesting, but modern and high class. All of the employees are helpful and provide good food recommendations. The morning breakfast is excellent, especially after a long night out.

This hotel is also close to traveler information center and they can provide you would great advice.

Things get a bit loud at night, but I hope you don't plan to stay in.

The first day we were there, the people at the front desk booked us a tour to the blue lagoon. The second day, we decided to rent a car and drive around to see things (good choice for americans, considering they drive on the right). They organized everything we asked for perfectly. I highly recommend skipping tours and renting cars so as not to be caught up in a tourist cloud.

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — We stayed in one night and it was a bit loud...but it was really our fault for not going out.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Small but perfectly formed hotel right in the centre of the city. Really stylish nordic minimalism throughout. Comfortable, stylish room with great 'wetroom' bathroom and fantastic shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Liked — So much style!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Reykjavik is not a city for affordable hotels, but since my partner and I were traveling during the low season (early March 2008), we decided to shop up-market from our usual price point of $100 per night.

Copious amounts of research led us to the Thingholt, whose website was offering 40% off the standard rate. Attempting to book through the CenterHotels site led to a nightly rate of ISK 10 000 (about $150) -- still too much for our budget. But, by booking through Orbitz, we were able to obtain a rate of ISK 7800 ($120). Lesson learned: always try booking through multiple sources.

Upon arriving, I was bowled over by the elegance and design that have gone into this newly-constructed boutique hotel! The lobby is a dream in black stone and leather, with a dead-sexy waterfall wall at the entrance, sculpture all over, and a comfy (if a bit severe) lounge equipped with art books and other accoutrements of the terminally chic. The lounge adjoins an up-market Japanese retaurant, Domo, which seems to be operated by the same organization.

Our standard double room continued the parade of chic with a floor of leather tile, frosted glass-walled bathroom enclosure, and designer furniture and lighting. Virtually every object in the room was matte black, chrome or stark white. Everything was spotlessly clean, the linens were fresh and comfortable, and our room was cleaned and tidied daily. Reading through the literature I learned that every room has been designed by a different local woman artist, and no two rooms are furnished alike.

Additional in-room comforts include a heated bathroom floor. mini bar with enough extra space for a few of your own groceries, widescreen flat-panel television, free wired Internet access, and lighting with full dimmer control to set that extra-special romantic mood.

The buffet breakfast, included in room price and served from 7-10, is a cut above the standard Scandinavian affair with breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, boiled eggs, juices, milk, coffee and tea.

Downsides: the rooms are European-sized and the wardrobes are on the small side, so leave your steamer trunk at home. The shower is tiny, though clean and functional. The rack rate is positively astronomical by the standards of the budget traveler, and the hotel's design aesthetic may feel sterile to some.

In conclusion: the Thingholt is an ultra-modern, chic boutique hotel and I would be overjoyed to stay there again. If you can finagle a deal such as we did, then it is also an outstanding value (especially for Reykjavik). However, the quality of this hotel is top-notch at any price.

  • Liked — The amount of care that went into its interior design, and the friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — Its price would be out of my league without the special off-season deal we obtained.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.