We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Save Saved
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 9 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter. We were upgraded to a better room - without asking but it was a little noisy though not horrendous. We were moved the next day to an even better one! Very helpful and friendly staff as were the people generally in Iceland. Good central location. Excellent restaurants and shops nearby. Within within walking distance of bus station and port.

Room Tip: If you can pick a room at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    329
    65
    25
    8
See reviews for
46
495
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with very friendly staff. When we arrived at the hotel there was a trail of rose petals leading to the bed, on the bed was more rose petals in the shape of a heart. The free standing bath in the room made it all the more romantic. The hotel was clean, breakfast was good, the only thing that would have made it better would be if the hotel served lunch and dinner. Overall a great experience had.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've just returned from a 3 night stay, to celebrate a special anniversary, in this great hotel (wish we could have stayed much longer!) and we could not fault it. Although the entrance looks nothing special from the outside,the location was perfect for our first visit to Reykjavik, with such a good choice of restaurants, bars and shops so close. We had a room on the 4th floor so we had no issues with noise (apart from the strong wind on the last night) and found the bed extremely comfortable although the bathroom lighting was quite dim. Breakfast each morning was excellent, with a great choice of the usual and more exotic breakfast dishes. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful with regards to any requests we made. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Here with my wife for four days. Great location, walking distance to restaurants, shops & a 24 hr grocery shop. Reception very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and tidy. TV with English programs, free room wifi, this place is excellent. 45 mins taxi ride from the airport which cost us 15,300 IC D. ($133 Aussie) which was reasonable and the going rate. Happy to come back. Doing a scuba dive at Silfra, a tour to see the Northern Lights, and a tour of a waterfall all over the next two days.Reviews to follow.
(A late 30's Aussie couple)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great service, great staff in helping out with booking tours, restaurants etc. I highy recommend this hotel..but NOT during the weekend unless you can get a room which doesnt have windows towards the street.
There is a bar about 30 metres down the street and on Fridays & Saturdays they like to party until 4:30. The music was banging and echoing up on the street of the hotel. Not ideal.

But apart from that, great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I booked this hotel as part of the Icelandair Airwaves package. I had no knowledge of Reykjavik nor where the concert venues were going to be. It looked like a nice hotel and the price was right! Normally when I book trips I spend most of my time researching the hotels we will be staying at. This was an exception.

My choice ended up being the best one!! This hotel is close in proximity to everything, it never seemed to take us more than 10-15 minutes (walking) to get anywhere we needed to eat or go see a concert. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly. We arrived at 7am, not expecting to have a room until 3pm, we were given our room at 10am and we had breakfast while we were waiting. We did ask for a room on the back of the hotel, but to be honest with the music festival it didn't really matter, as the concerts all were done around 2am and we were so tired from our jam packed days that the outside noise didnt bother us...and the noise really wasnt that bad (we had a room facing the street). Our room was very large had a big bed (the only thing I would change is the comforter/duvet should be one large one instead of two small ones...but at least my husband couldn't steal my covers) and a couch, a tv we didn't even turn on, and was tastefully decorated. The washroom took a little getting used to as the walls were glass (with frosting) but none the less it was spacious. The rooms were very clean!

The breakfast was plentiful with fruits, cereals, croissants, bacon, and eggs. A good start to the morning! The bar had a happy hour where we could purchase cheaper drinks, which came in handy.

The front desk staff were helpful with directions, reservations, and general information.

All in all I would not hesitate to book this hotel for our next visit, it was awesome!

Room Tip: We had room 210, it faced on the street but it was larger than a fourth floor room at the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel is new, clean and the breakfast is good. It is situated in the center of reykjavik next to the most popular clubs. The rooms are small, but for a short stay they are OK. We absolutely recommend it if you are in reykjavik.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.