We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Save Saved
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good hotel in perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this hotel in July 2013. Absolutely perfect location right in the centre of everything. Staff all very polite and friendly and very helpful. Rooms are very modern which may not suit all as the bathroom has glass walls, so although they are not see through you can see shapes.The rooms are spotlessly clean and have coffee and tea making facilities. Mattresses are comfortable, We stayed Sunday to Thursday, asked for a high floor quiet room, which we were given and had no issue with noise at all. Many good restaurants are in walking distance, as is the marina. We used Reykjavik excursions everyday for our trips and found them extremely good and professional, They pick you up and drop you off from right outside the hotel. There is an Italian restaurant with an Icelandic tilt right next door which was very good and reasonably priced in comparison to some of the other restaurants we visited. The bar has happy hour between 5 and 7 but only for beer. Breakfast was adequate. All in all a good hotel within walking distance of the shopping area , restaurants, many bars and cafes and would stay here again if visiting Reykjavik.

Room Tip: High floor at the back if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    349
    70
    28
    9
See reviews for
59
540
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room is clean and decorated very modern and trendy style! They have the old style oil heaters on the wall which heated the room quickly and actually made it too warm despite it being pretty cold in Iceland at the time. Noise was not a problem as we visited Sun-Wed. Breakfast was awesome every morning (good selection and fresh) and we even had a "to-go breakfast" packed for us the morning we left. The bed and pillows were super comfy and I slept like a baby.

Receptionist desk is very polite and helpful when giving us tips on where to eat and go for exploration.

Only cavest is that the road is on a smaller road and you get dropped off at the main street (if you're on a big bug like us) so if you have big luggage, you will have to wheel/carry/drag it up the hill a tiny bit but no biggie for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Loved this unique, funky hotel. Great staff, nice breakfast. Biggest drawback is that
Reykjavik is a party town and no matter where you stay in the city, the music is extremely
loud and goes on until the wee hours of the evening. Certainly not a fault of the hotel,
but anyone staying there should be aware ..... we were told to stay in the back of the hotel,
I don't think it makes a difference where your room is located, the city is basically one
big party town..... great for young people, mostly everyone speaks English.
Inspite of the noise, I loved the hotel and the city..... wonderful, friendly people, amazing
seafood!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for five nights in this hotel in June 2013 and loved it. Very modern, spacious and clean rooms. The perfect location for sightseeing in Reykjavik, visiting the shopping strip and catching buses for official tours. Everything you need is literally just steps from the hotel doors. The only complaint was the noise on Friday and Saturday nights. This hotel is located just one building from the main shopping street, where lots of bars and restaurants are located. At around midnight things got extremely loud and rowdy and the noise lasts until 3 or 4 in the morning. If I hadn't been pregnant we would have joined in, but instead we ended up begging the front desk for ear plugs (which they had for us!) so we could catch some shut eye before our early morning outings. If you can handle two nights of noise, then this hotel is perfect. Breakfast was good, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Bottom Line: If you're into the nightlife and want a downtown experience, this hotel is perfectly situated. Trendy rooms and a helpful staff make this a great, albeit pricey spot to stay at if you want to be downtown.

The Great

The location for this hotel is absolutely perfect if you want to be downtown. You are just blocks away from some of the best restaurants and bars in Iceland. The rooms are well appointed with trendy modern furniture, and the mattress was comfortable. The staff was incredibly helpful and well-connected to Reykjavik Excursions and good at making sure the tours picked us up. The staff also directed us to the much cheaper Flybus as opposed to our plans for a taxi to get to the airport to depart, which was appreciated.

The Mediocre

Be warned: the hotel is right in the hopping area of town. Iceland's nightlife starts at about midnight and ends at 5 AM. On Friday and Saturday nights you will hear the steady white noise of hundreds of drunk locals making their way around. It wasn't too bad, but it was noticeable. It should also be noted that the rooms were small by US standards. We sprung for a Junior suite and it was still smaller than most US hotel rooms, although not uncomfortably so.

Also of note is that the closet space was decent, but not great.

The Not So Good

The walls between the bathroom and the room are thin glass and the sound carries well. This is only an issue if you're traveling with someone. It isn't a big deal, but it is worth noting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 409 with a great view for 7 nights.
Room not big but more than enough room form2 of us. Bathroom was adequate and a great shower.
Staff in the hotel were fabulous and could not do any more to make our stay more pleasant. Thank you to everyone.
Bar in lobby has happy hour for beer only for 500kr from 5pm to 7pm.
Breakfast is free and is from 7am to 10am. Breakfast is adequate and has enough to get the day started.
Location of hotel is very central to everything. Would stay here again for sure.
My tip is don't use reykjavik excursions; it is much easier to hire a car and see golden circle, blue lagoon and jokulsarlon yourself.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here one night (Saturday) and were very happy with the location to downtown and the shopping. The downside was the vicinity to a bar that was open until 5AM; we'd flown in from the West Coast of the US and hence our sleep pattern was already odd. If you're looking for a sound sleep, ask for a room that won't have a window on the street.

I would stay here again due to its vicinity to everything. The bathroom was really cool in that it was mostly concrete. I was fascinated with how well concrete works in a bathroom. There was a mirror at head level in the shower, which I found nice to see how I washed my hair. The shower had a glass panel that covered 3/4 of the shower, but the last quarter was open. So if you are a sloppy shower, the floor outside the shower will get wet; but that's where the concrete makes it ok. The toiletries provided were in bottles, but I don't remember them being amazing as I'd brought my own and wasn't paying much attention to them so can't comment on them. The bathroom was on the other side of the closet, which had a glass wall that was translucent so you could make out shapes. This would be fine for couples or if you're alone, but I was traveling with a male friend so it just meant you didn't look in that direction when someone was in the bathroom.

The room itself was small, but no smaller than a typical European sized room in a major city.

The breakfast was good and included in our booking. WiFi was free and actually the same for all the CenterHotels in the city so if you came within any of their hotels, you got WiFi again which was convenient.

Side note: we had a rental car and stayed here on a Saturday night. The parking is free after some time in the afternoon and free all day Sunday, so street parking was not a problem for us. I'm not sure what the week would be like if you had a rental.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;