We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Modern Commercial Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Save Saved
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Modern Commercial Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the CenterHotel Thingholt for two nights in May 2013. We had a Delux room on the 3rd floor.

The location was perfect, and although we had been warned that parking would be expensive we were pleasantly surprised to find parking around the corner for for 1000 a day, which amounted to less than $10 CDN. We were able to leave the car parked for two days and we didn't worry about it and walked to most places we wanted to go.

Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

The only downsides to this hotel were that the lighting in the bathroom was terrible and the mirrors were so far away it was difficult to shave or apply makeup. And although the room was actually quite spacious all floor space is filled with the bed and a large leather sofa. Certainly not deal breakers, but made things a bit awkward.

That being said, next time I am in Reykjavik we will look no farther than the CenterHotel Thingholt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    355
    72
    29
    9
See reviews for
61
545
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Thingholt is a relatively standard modern urban hotel with sleek design and some quirky elements. It was perfectly located for exploring Reykjavik on foot and with public transit. The best feature was the front desk staff, who were consistently pleasant and extraordinarily helpful, providing great recommendations for restaurants and bars as well as booking tours. I will definitely stay there again when I am next in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited for a week in August '12. A very modern design hotel, ideally located. It's close to the tourist/trip booking offices, various shops and restaurants and the harbour from where you can go whale watching. Easy to reach from the airport via the low cost shuttle bus (stopes 1 min away).

We found the city to be nice but small, with a limited amount to keep you occupied for more than a few days. The beauty of iceland is easy to explore through a wide range of well priced trips - with the golden circle and Jökulsárlón the picks of the bunch. Some of it's right on your doorstep.

The rooms were a good size, spotless, there was no noise, the bath/shower was lovely and the breakfast was very good. If you're looking for a good value hotel in the city, look no further.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friend and I had a four night stay here in March, the purpose of our trip being to see the Northern Lights (hopefully) and which we managed to do on two consecutive nights. The hotel is well situated on a side street, near to Laugavegur and with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and is a short walk away from the centre of Reykjavik and its harbour. We arrived by car and, despite the hotel being centrally located, which usually means forking out heftily for a car park, we were pleased to find that there is roadside parking which is free overnight. Although the street parking is limited, we always managed to find a spot until the last evening when we had to park a couple of streets away. The only downside to the street parking is that the free time stops at 10.00.a.m. and, because we tended to take our time over breakfast (see below!), the free time always expired before we were ready to head out for the day, meaning that one of us had to rush outside each morning and grab a ‘pay and display’ ticket.

From the outside, the hotel looks to be a slightly drab, utilitarian construction that would not be out of place in the old Eastern Bloc. However, the ‘Journey’s End’ inscription on the front glass doors perhaps give some indication that we should not judge a book by its cover since, once inside, it is a different story. The hotel is contemporary, maybe even slightly funky, and, it is said, has been designed to reflect the Icelandic landscape through a mix of natural materials. The reception area, which has an interesting water feature running down one wall (when we arrived, my friend failed to properly notice it and got wet!), is modern, airy and calm and extends to a bar area where there is ample deep, plush seating. Whilst the rooms are not huge, they are compact and well laid out with sufficient space. The beds were wonderfully comfortable, the duvets and pillows just perfect, and the crisp white bed linen added a nice finishing touch. There is a distinct Icelandic flavour about the rooms which are furnished with leather flooring and cow skin rugs. As other reviewers have pointed out, the bathroom has not been designed with privacy in mind, having a partial sliding glass wall and glass door. Even though the door has an opaque modesty panel, it leaves nothing to the imagination and could be off-putting for those who are not entirely at ease with their travelling companion. In terms of bathroom practicalities, the walk-in shower was excellent, being powerful and having an abundant supply of hot water, and I just loved the waterfall effect from the taps on the washbasin (that is, after I’d fathomed out how to work them!)

We really enjoyed the hot and cold buffet breakfast, which was of an extremely high quality, absolutely delicious and untypical of the usual continental offerings. I would say that there was definitely something for everyone, even the fussiest of foodies, and being able to eat as much as you like (and we did!), sets you up for the day.

Overall, in a city that is so expensive, we thought that this hotel, with its modern quirkiness, offered exceptional value for money. We felt that we had made an excellent choice with CenterHotel Thingholt and there is no doubt that, if we were to return to Reykjavik, we would definitely stay here again - it knocks spots off those multi-nationals that all look the same irrespective of where you are in the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was out second visit to Reykjavic and we loved this hotel. it is very unassuming on the outside, but modern and comfortable inside. We love the beds! All down pillows and comforters. Full breakfast was included and was great. It is very centrally located and the staff is warm, friendly, and helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor. This is where our friends stayed and the roof was pitched which took awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Modern hotel, good facilities, easy walking to all attractions. Friendly staff. More than adequate continental style breakfast. Room was small, but all that was required for 3 nights. Bathroom was interesting, with good sanitary ware and what looked like untreated cement walls !!!
Would go back. Good price for Iceland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed for a week at the Centerhotel Thingholt. The room was modern and very clean. The shower had great water pressure and 2 settings (regular or rain setting). Breakfast was satisfying and fresh. The breakfast room staff kept all the cold and hot foods coming all the way up 'till 10am. Helga at the bar was so helpful and very nice! So was Clyde at the front desk. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and will return again on my next trip to Iceland!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.