We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Thingholt to your Saves list
CenterHotel Thingholt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First rate experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. The rooms are ultra modern and comfortable, as is the hotel. The staff is great, the happy hour is the best value for money in entire Reykjavik. The included breakfast was fine, but not super. The location is perfect - you are close to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    368
    76
    30
    9
See reviews for
67
575
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

great location right in city centre, reasonably priced, friendly and helpful staff. Decent buffet breakfast in the rooms, nice clean rooms, ones facing the street can suffer form outside noise though. Took us a while to figure the dimmer lights. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: try and avoid rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had always wanted to go to Iceland to see the Northern Lights; we looked long and hard at the Hotels and decided to go with CenterHotel Thingholt. We made the right choice, first class rooms, breakfast, drinks, service, ambiance and staff. If you’re thinking about booking it, I urge you to do it, will not disappoint, perfect location too, in the best part of the city, great transport links and near the shops & restaurants. I will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great hotel with a fantastic location. If you want to be in the heart of shops and nightlife then this is the hotel for you. Great restaurants nearby and walking distance for all you need in Reykjavik

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. It was a great place - central and well furnished. Staff were helpful and friendly. Only drawback is that it only serves breakfast (which was very good) - but there are ever so many places to eat within 1/4 mile so that isn't really a draw back. Happy hour made it easy to meet other guests and hear about their adventures. Our rook was lovely with plenty of room - a lovely white leather sofa, safe, mini bar etc. Also ironing board. It would have been nice to have a drying room for our boots / coats etc but the rooms were warm enough to dry our things - we turned the radiator up and left the clothes next to it when we were in the bar - they dried in no time. I would recommend it, and would def stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just had a four night break here with another couple. We had room 111 on the first floor at the front. We weren't there at the weekend so heard very little noise. We had the bedroom window open at night too. The room was really warm. There was noise from the refuse collection in the morning but it didn't disturb us. It was a small room but served us fine. Our friends room 113 was fractionally bigger. All staff were very friendly. We booked all trips at reception.Northern lights, golden circle, blue lagoon and transport back to the airport. We were picked up by minibus for all of these then changed to coaches at the bus station.
Breakfast was excellent. Usual continental buffet plus a few hot dishes. Our TV didn't work and when we reported it someone was in the room in minutes. Ok she couldn't fix it but it was sorted later in the day.
They recommended Solon at the end of the road for our first night meal because we were in a hurry to go the northern lights. It was a good reasonably priced meal. They said do the lights that night and how right they were.
We also ate in Tabasco, Geyser, superb lobster soup in Sea Baron by the harbour which is a shack,Tapas Husid also by the harbour, the laundromat cafe for huge portions, We enjoyed every meal.
Back to the hotel, persevere with the lights. Some needed holding longer to get the lights brighter and some were like a rocker switch and you had to push the top in for brightness. It took a day or two.
The bathroom tap was like a joystick, that took us a while too to sort.
In all a wonderful break enhanced by everything at the hotel.
The pillows and duvets were wonderful. Light, warm, like cotton wool, going to buy some for home

Room Tip: Basic rooms 113 is a little bigger than 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely reasonably small hotel located right in the centre of Rejkavik and close to the harbour. I had previously read comments about this hotel having a poor breakfast but we never found that at all. You have to remember that it is described as a continental breakfast but what we found was more than adequate. Plenty of bread, rolls, toast, fresh fruit, cerials, milk, tea, coffee, ham, cheese, numerous small pastries and a small amount of hot bacon, small sausages and potatoes. How much can one person eat? Thats plenty. The hotel in itself is really nice and kept clean. The rooms are not massive but adequate and are cleaned every day! The bathrooms are a little unusual but nice and the shower we had was huge. Two minor issues we had were 1) We reported a leaking sink (only a small leak) on 4 seperate days to 3 different receptionists and yet it was still leaking when we left (room 101 if youre reading this Centrehotels), 2) although I understand why they have done the room lighting in the manner they have, it really is not bright enough as you can't see at night to actually read anything. I had to keep going into the bathroom to read. Maybe a dimmer swith might help as the customer could then decide? Some reviews have mentiioned noise from a nearby club but we never heard any noise at all but it was probably the time of year as it was really quiet for us but again you are right in the centre of town.
Overall a good rating is given.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Thingholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.