We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day in the heart of Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Sunna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guesthouse Sunna to your Saves list
Guesthouse Sunna
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Porsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stavropol, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One day in the heart of Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Sunna guesthouse has one big advantage - location. You just leave the gusthouse - and you are in the very centre of Reykjavik! In spite of this, there is rather calm inside the room all day long. Rooms are compact, there is no much space inside, bathroom and kitchen are located in the hall (common for 4 rooms). There is vast and very cosy canteen on the first floor, breakfast range is more than rich, including fresh fruits. Staff is very helpful and kind. I bet Sunna is a nice place to stay for a senior pair or family with children

Room Tip: If you'll ask for a room with number ending on 05 or 06 (f.i. 205,206) as we did, you gonna have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    126
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
117
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This guest house is in a very convenient location. The downfall of the location being by the famed church is that it is a bit noisy. The shared bathrooms seemed not to be a problem. The beds and breakfast were both great! Easy to walk to a grocery store and also all the Reykjavik attractions! This hotel is very simple but clean and overall a good choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Sunna Guest House is quite basic and the price reflects this. I stayed there with my daughter, for three nights (25th to 28th May 2014), price for bed and breakfast was €337.25.

We were in the annex house next door, with a shared toilet, shower, and kitchenette, between 3 rooms. This did not turn out to be any problem, as only once, did I spot any of the other guests, so there was no waiting to use the facilities.

The bedroom was smallish, with two single beds, some wardrobe space, table and two chairs, and small sink.

The beds were quite comfortable, but no headboards, and one pillow each, so reading in bed leaning against the wall was not ideal.

While the bedroom was warm, I did notice a lot of condensation on the windows in the mornings. My daughter had left a book on the windowsill, which was quite damp the next day.

Breakfast was self service buffet, and again quite basic.

The shower area was very small, and the movement sensitive light would go out every few mins, I had to open shower door every so often, and shake my arm about, to get the light back on. Not ideal.

This guest house is ideal, if you are travelling on a budget, and it was very clean.



This guest house is ideally situated near the main shopping area, and harbour, without feeling you are that close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce
Level Contributor
196 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Guesthouse Sunna is a very pleasant hotel. Located right at the church, with parking for guests next door. Very friendly and helpful front desk. The room large, comfortable, fitted as standard - clean. Bed very comfortable. The hotel works very well free Internet. The hotel offers breakfast for early morning departures - a great solution. Self breakfasts very tasty. Hotel like most recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed May 2-5, 2014. Had a 1st floor room with a view of the cathedral. There is a little road noise, but nothing serious. The room was small and basic. The bath is what you would find on a cruise ship. Everything was spotless and clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of breads, meat, cheese, fruit, and cereals. The staff is friendly and anxious to offer suggestions and help. This is a good value priced B&B in a central location, easy walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Recently stayed in one of the studio apartments, it was clean and comfy. The guesthouse was in a great location to access the city centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful with arranging travel.
Breakfast was lovely too as was the packed lunch we purchased for our excursion to the south.
Even though we had separate beds, we pushed them together and the stay was plenty cosy enough.
I'd advise anyone who visits Reykjavik to stay here.

Room Tip: Studio Apartment we stayed in, Number 5, had a great view of Hallgrímskirkja and had it's own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

First off the location was perfect. It's right across the street from the big church so it's easy to find. If you're going to drive out of town (which I highly recommend) it's just down the street to pick up the main highways that lead to wherever you're going. They have a small parking lot to the side you can park in. But if it's full you can park for free across the street in the church parking lot. It's a short walk to restaurants and shopping in Reykjavik. Really you can't ask for a better location. The room I got was with shared bathroom. I never had a problem finding an open bathroom when I needed it. Free breakfast in the morning. The staff are very willing and bale to help you with directions, suggestions, or booking trips. The price was really great too. Iceland can be a little pricey and this place was a deal.

Room Tip: Never had a bad night of sleep here. Never had to wait to get an open bathroom (I didn't have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Guesthouse Odinn
#14 of 109 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Miõborg
Aurora Guesthouse
Aurora Guesthouse
#45 of 109 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Eric the Red Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassy Luxury Apartments
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Galtafell
Guesthouse Galtafell
#25 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Miõborg
Baldursbra Guesthouse
Baldursbra Guesthouse
#40 of 109 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Sunna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Sunna

Address: Porsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Sunna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, family owned guest house in a "country hotel style".Well located in the old city center. Across the street from Hallgrims church and the beautiful sculpture garden of The National Einar Jensson Gallery. The Flybus from Keflavik airport stops right at our doorstep. Only a few minutes walk away from the busy streets with popular cafes and restaurants, good variety of shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Sunna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Sunna Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Sunna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.