We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Sunna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Guesthouse Sunna to your Saves list
Guesthouse Sunna
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Thorsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This guest house is in a very convenient location. The downfall of the location being by the famed church is that it is a bit noisy. The shared bathrooms seemed not to be a problem. The beds and breakfast were both great! Easy to walk to a grocery store and also all the Reykjavik attractions! This hotel is very simple but clean and overall a good choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    111
    22
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
107
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Sunna Guest House is quite basic and the price reflects this. I stayed there with my daughter, for three nights (25th to 28th May 2014), price for bed and breakfast was €337.25.

We were in the annex house next door, with a shared toilet, shower, and kitchenette, between 3 rooms. This did not turn out to be any problem, as only once, did I spot any of the other guests, so there was no waiting to use the facilities.

The bedroom was smallish, with two single beds, some wardrobe space, table and two chairs, and small sink.

The beds were quite comfortable, but no headboards, and one pillow each, so reading in bed leaning against the wall was not ideal.

While the bedroom was warm, I did notice a lot of condensation on the windows in the mornings. My daughter had left a book on the windowsill, which was quite damp the next day.

Breakfast was self service buffet, and again quite basic.

The shower area was very small, and the movement sensitive light would go out every few mins, I had to open shower door every so often, and shake my arm about, to get the light back on. Not ideal.

This guest house is ideal, if you are travelling on a budget, and it was very clean.



This guest house is ideally situated near the main shopping area, and harbour, without feeling you are that close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Guesthouse Sunna is a very pleasant hotel. Located right at the church, with parking for guests next door. Very friendly and helpful front desk. The room large, comfortable, fitted as standard - clean. Bed very comfortable. The hotel works very well free Internet. The hotel offers breakfast for early morning departures - a great solution. Self breakfasts very tasty. Hotel like most recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed May 2-5, 2014. Had a 1st floor room with a view of the cathedral. There is a little road noise, but nothing serious. The room was small and basic. The bath is what you would find on a cruise ship. Everything was spotless and clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of breads, meat, cheese, fruit, and cereals. The staff is friendly and anxious to offer suggestions and help. This is a good value priced B&B in a central location, easy walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Recently stayed in one of the studio apartments, it was clean and comfy. The guesthouse was in a great location to access the city centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful with arranging travel.
Breakfast was lovely too as was the packed lunch we purchased for our excursion to the south.
Even though we had separate beds, we pushed them together and the stay was plenty cosy enough.
I'd advise anyone who visits Reykjavik to stay here.

Room Tip: Studio Apartment we stayed in, Number 5, had a great view of Hallgrímskirkja and had it's own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

First off the location was perfect. It's right across the street from the big church so it's easy to find. If you're going to drive out of town (which I highly recommend) it's just down the street to pick up the main highways that lead to wherever you're going. They have a small parking lot to the side you can park in. But if it's full you can park for free across the street in the church parking lot. It's a short walk to restaurants and shopping in Reykjavik. Really you can't ask for a better location. The room I got was with shared bathroom. I never had a problem finding an open bathroom when I needed it. Free breakfast in the morning. The staff are very willing and bale to help you with directions, suggestions, or booking trips. The price was really great too. Iceland can be a little pricey and this place was a deal.

Room Tip: Never had a bad night of sleep here. Never had to wait to get an open bathroom (I didn't have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent three nights at Sunna Guesthouse and were very satisfied with our stay.

The location is very good. It is less than a block away from Hallgrimskirkja and maybe takes 10-15 minutes to walk down to the center of Reykjavik. There are shops and restaurants a few minutes away. It was fairly quiet at night, although we weren’t there on a Friday or Saturday night. Our room was right next to the roadway but, other than a stray truck or snow plow or the chiming of the church, the bedroom was pretty quiet. The guesthouse is located at the top of a hill so be prepared to climb uphill from the center of town and just about anywhere else. Technically, you could walk from the BSI bus station to the guesthouse if you’re using the FlyBus option from Keflavik Airport but be prepared for an uphill walk all the way. We used the FlyBus Plus option to avoid this.

We arrived around 8:30 in the morning and, luckily, our room was available for check in. My brother and I reserved a studio apartment which consisted of a bedroom with two twin beds, a small kitchenette area, and a bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room was more than adequate to accommodate our belongings. There was a futon in the room as well as a desk and chair. There was a small tv in the room but don’t count on getting too much from it – only four stations (the only one in English was religious programming 24/7) and some radio channels. The kitchenette was very useful for us – it had a sink, toaster oven, two hot plates, and a kettle for boiling water. The cabinets were stocked with dishes, cups, glasses, utensils, and pots. The bathroom is very small (probably less than three square meters). I would have preferred more room in the bathroom but this is common in European hotels so I was kind of prepared for this. The water that comes out of the tap does have a very strong sulfur smell, which is to be expected in Iceland. After showering, the entire room smelled which was a bit off-putting. There were two windows in the studio, however, that helped to air it out.

The continental breakfast that was included in the cost of the room was very good. It consisted of yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, fresh-baked breads, boiled eggs, sliced cheeses and meats, juice, tea and coffee. It was very satisfying and made for a good start to each day.

The front desk staff were very helpful; they assisted us with our queries and had a friendly attitude.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Guesthouse Sunna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Sunna

Address: Thorsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Sunna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, family owned guest house in a "country hotel style".Well located in the old city center. Across the street from Hallgrims church and the beautiful sculpture garden of The National Einar Jensson Gallery. The Flybus from Keflavik airport stops right at our doorstep. Only a few minutes walk away from the busy streets with popular cafes and restaurants, good variety of shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Sunna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Sunna Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Sunna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.