We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meze” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meze Restaurant

Meze Restaurant
Laugavegur 42, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+(354)5711088
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Batley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Meze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very popular and deservedly so, each dish explained to you as what it is and what it contained when it is presented to you.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had dinner at Meze this evening, and it was a pleasant surprise. We had the Meze 5 course selection and it was enough for 2 people, and then in desert we chose the baklava with vanilla ice cream with good cup of espresso. Pleasant and friendly service and good atmosphere, Very well decorated. This is a restaurant I look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good restaurant at reasonable Rekjavik prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Really enjoyed our meal here. We spend ages looking around restaurants before we decide on one to eat. In quite a few cases we were put off by astronomic prices. Meze is not cheap but certainly quite a bit less expensive than many others. We waited a fair while for our starters but it was worth the wait and the main course and dessert were excellent. Service was very friendly and good throughout. If you are in Reykjavik for a few days Meze is well worth a visit. You may care to walk up to your right after leaving the restaurant to the large white church which is there and is also well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“sorry but would not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We ate here on a Saturday evening in January, both my wife and I had the chicken skewers, small pieces of greyish chicken pre cooked then browned on the grill after our order was placed, small portions and expensive. We were still hungry when we left so popped in for a coffee and piece of cake in the café in the bookshop along the road.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Meze and good selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The choice here is decent and the food is cooked very well. Choice of house wines to accompany the menu as well as an ok wine list. Staff are really helpful when picking out dishes and will alter the menu for you. Beautifully presented and the meze selection good. Chilled water and a small taster greater us on arrival.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Meze Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meze Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.