We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation right in centre of Reykjavik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salvation Army Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salvation Army Guesthouse
Save
You added Salvation Army Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kirkjustraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation right in centre of Reykjavik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Reykjavik look no further. The guest house is a 1 minute walk from shops, cafés and sights. Staff are very friendly. The room, common room and kitchen are kept clean. Our triple room on the third floor (no elevator) was basic, but comfortable: three cozy beds, a chair and table, wardrobe and sink. There are two showers and three toilets in the hall, apparently for the occupents of 10 double/triple rooms, so it might get a little crowded when all rooms are taken (we were lucky as we practically had the whole floor to ourselves).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
11
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suresnes, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent a really nice stay at the Salvation Army Guesthouse while we were in Reykjavik. This is a low budget solution and with the best location : downtown, close to bars, restaurants and main attractions. We could walk to every places from there.

The rooms are small and the style a bit old-fashion but it did not matter for us as this guesthouse is the cheapest we find in Reykjavik. The rooms are clean and you have a lot of shared bathrooms, clean as well. The staff is nice and helpful.
You have a guest kitchen (well equipped) you can use for free and a living room with a TV.

We had a double room but they also offer sleeping bag accommodation (even cheaper) and you do not have to share your room with too many people (the dorms are from 3 and 6 people).
Free wifi available as well.

That's why we recommend it!

Room Tip: If you got allergy, you can ask for a room with linoleum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were looking for accommodation in the Harbor area and stumbled onto this place. We loved everything about it. It's no frills, but you are getting an affordable room. I felt very safe as there was 24 hour front desk workers that you check your key into as you came and went. There was a band that played below our room during Airwaves weekend. We had an early flight, so went to bed early, and they had no problem moving us. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: They do offer double rooms. Ask for towels when you check in - they are available for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

clean honest accommodation; no pretension quiet atmosphere even in the midst of Airwaves weekend

Room Tip: the double bed was up against a wall and smallish for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

It takes about an hour and change to get to/from the airport but that's the case with any hotel in central Reykjavik. It was extremely clean and there were more than enough bathrooms and showers on the floors. The staff was really helpful when it came to booking any type of excursion or transportation. My friend and I got a private room for about US$92/night and since everything is so expensive in Iceland, it was great to save on this front. Breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular, but cheap for Iceland. There are also several supermarkets close by. It also has free wifi. Again, great location for a great price. But keep in mind, it's budget accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The Salvation Army Guesthouse is really basic, but I recommend it. It's in an old building in the central part of the city. The staff is friendly, the area is safe, the rooms are clean, and the shared bathrooms are plentiful and clean. The furniture is older, but everything was in working order. The linens are not of the highest quality, but they are clean.
I have stayed at this guesthouse twice, and will do so again. It's a very good place for an overnight stay while in transit through Reykjavik.
An extra note about the staff: during one of my stays, a colleague and I stayed-up into the wee hours working on our computers in the dining room. The desk staff was very friendly and kept us supplied with coffee throughout the night. We really appreciated his kindness.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed here two nights at the beginning of my tour of Iceland, and three nights at the end. The inside is a bit cramped and shabby, but it was clean and fairly priced. The central location means you have access to everything in the city centre, but at the same time, you'll probably be aware of noise on the streets. The staff will always help with anything you need to know about the city, or travel arrangements. You can get more luxury in the city for a lot more money. You could save money by going somewhere that was really bad, so all in all, a good deal. I like the idea that they can keep prices reasonably low, while at the same time using any profit raised for the benefit of others in the community. I can support that, and I'll certainly choose the Sally Army next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salvation Army Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvation Army Guesthouse

Address: Kirkjustraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
can accommodate about 90 guests at a time, in single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and sleeping bag accommodation for the low budget traveller. Toilets and showers are on every floor. The breakfast is served from 7:00 each morning, ant there are a kitchen available for the guests where they can make their own food and store their food ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salvation Army Guesthouse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvation Army Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.