We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Plaza to your Saves list
CenterHotel Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to stay, very friendly and helpful staff and the room was clean. Try and get a room at the back of the hotel as at the front it is very noisy.
Also, if you are going on any trips and they ask if you want hotel pick up, check where the company is based as many are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    326
    127
    33
    17
See reviews for
80
308
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have been here a week and NO noise problem. We do travel with earplugs and mask. Nice heavy curtains can be pulled to keep out the light (Sun coming up at 3:30). Modern room. Great sitting area in room, an indoor glass balcony overlooking the Plaza with its skateboard ramps and geothermal columns sending up steam. Very entertaining. Breakfast crowded with tour groups but incredible array of food. Found myself looking for interesting non-American breakfast, like pickled herring, liver wurst, and cucumber. But also eggs, sausage, bacon, ham, cheese, cereal, various breads and rolls, trays of fruit--
and more! Staff always friendly. Couldn't manage to get them to fix bedside light, however.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A very central hotel with large and clean rooms. It is perfect to stay here if your trip is short, so you won't spend a lot of time on transportation to and from the city. The breakfast is included. A small buffé for a basic breakfast. Friendly staff and a nice bararea/lounge.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location is good, but you pay for it through the street noise - right through the night at weekends. Many downtown Reykjavik hotels have this problem but this is one of the worst for this.

Breakfast was good, many hikers staying there (in summer anyway).

Room small and basic, bathroom cramped with lights that mysteriously stopped working, then came on again for no reason. Perhaps a thermostatic cutout issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was easy to get to, right in the middle of everything. Staff was very friendly and got us into our rooms early since our flight got in way before check in time? That alone won us over.

Rooms were humble but fairly comfortable. They were quick to replace a non-working hair dryer. Downstairs bar area was a nice addition. The included breakfast was great. It had a fairly wide variety and was plentiful. We were able to fill up for most of our day, pack a couple of Clif bars and be good until dinner.

Since it was right there in the city center, we were able to walk to everything and not be far from our hotel. True there may be better and more luxuriant places, BT it met all of our needs. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Looks good, glossy photos on hotel website etc, excellent location, but really is just a pricey "motel". You can forget a cheeky afternoon nap, or any sleep at all for that matter due to constant dance music, thumping out on big screens/loud speakers in the public square below, being played almost all afternoon and night. I suppose if you're into that scene then great but after paying nearly £2k for a 1 week holiday I'd rather have the choice of seeking out dance locations than having one on the bloody doorstep!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a perfect location for a short visit to Reykjavik after 5 days in Vik. Our room had a great view of the pedestrian street and there were several really fun restaurants along it. It was an easy walk to several attractions including Harpa.

It appears from the travelers' photos that there is a wide range of rooms. We were lucky because we had a larger room with nice furniture. The shower was interesting by US standard. It was a walk-in with a swinging door that only partially closed. The intent was to shield the toilet and vanity, I guess. Of course the floor was tilted so no water accumulated.

Breakfast was excellent. There were warm dishes - eggs, bacon, sausages, oatmeal. A great variety of breads. Do not miss the oat bars. My husband actually took a few for the flight home. (What a bummer that Iceland Air does not provide complementary food.)

We had a rental car. There is no parking garage at the hotel, but my husband found easy, inexpensive parking a few blocks away.

There were some tour groups staying there too and were especially nice travelers.

Beautiful lobby for visiting with our friends.

Room Tip: Maybe you could call and ask the hotel. It is really cheap to do so on Skype! I am sure we had one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.