We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin beds...not again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Plaza to your Saves list
CenterHotel Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Duns, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Twin beds...not again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Despite the twin beds and the heat in the rooms, this was a great hotel, perfectly located - as you can walk round Reykjavik quite easily.
Very close to amazing restaurants, and as per usual, the FlyBus+ drops you at the door.
I wish we had upgraded the room - however, due to Icelandair and its ridiculous schedule, we had to leave at 4am to get the 07:35 flight!! So in fact we only stayed 1.5 nights.
Great staff...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    424
    165
    42
    22
See reviews for
103
393
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

visited for 5 days from 12th January 2014.............fantastic location in the heart of town surrounded by cafes, restaurant and giftshops..............the hotel itself is very contemporary in design and decor........we had a double room on the 4th floor (in the new extension) it was really lovely, very comfy bed and lovely white fluffy towels in the ensuite wetroom.....really liked that idea great use of space, really amazed to get BBC1and ITV on the flat screen TV, great to keep an eye on the news and weather at home.......also liked the tea and coffee making facilities..............the buffet breakfast was always hot and plentiful with lots of fresh fruit yoghurt, cereal, fresh breads, meats and cheeses plus home made cookies........delicious.....would definitely recommend......

Room Tip: 4th floor in the newly refurbished area overlooking the square is good................or upgrade for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I booked his hotel via a secret escapes deal, and I have to admit I was impressed. No, it's not five-star luxury but the staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and I slept better here than any hotel I've stayed in for a while. The location is perfect for exploring the city, and I think is great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of December and the hotel fulfilled my criteria (central location and not too expensive as I wanted my main expenditure to be on sightseeing). I read the reviews before booking and ensured that I booked a superior room (the standard rooms consistently receive poor reviews).

The room was good, it was on the 4th floor with a fantastic view of the Old Town Square and was clean and modern (large bed, laminate floors, flat screen TV and tea and coffe making facilities etc.). It was also lovely and warm which was welcome as the temperature was well below zero outside. As other reviewers have mentioned, the shower/wet room did result in a soaking bathroom floor, though repositioning the shower head seemed to minimise this.

Other guests have commented about noise from renovations but we didn't notice this (probably because we were out every day) and noise from a nightclub (which we didn't hear either). We can only assume we didn't notice the nightclub noise as we were on the Northern Lights tour on the Saturday night (yes we did see them but it wasn't a brilliant display and was rather underwhelming).

Breakfast was plentiful, though a bit of a nightmare on the occassion when we seemed to arrive at the same time as every other guset in the hotel. We struggled to find somewhere to sit and I nearly ended up in a food fight with an impatient woman at the 4 slice toaster! (Note to the management, it would be worthwhile investing in a couple of the roller style toasters). The seating arrangements meant that you could end up sharing with other hotel guests (something I would rather not do), but we managed to sit on our own every day except the busy day.

The hotel bar was small and very busy during 'Happy Hour' but we only had a couple of drinks there, preferring to go out in the evenings. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the area which were nice to visit.

In terms of trips, the hotel can organise it all for you. The Golden Circle Tour is a must, so many amazing sights and a dip in the Blue Lagoon was a real highlight. Don't have too high expectations of the Northern Lights Tour but it is worth doing. We also did plenty of walking around the city and highly recommend visiting Hallgrímskirkja Church. Take the lift to the top of the tower and be rewarded by amazing views of the City.

As people have mentioned, Iceland is an expensive country but it wasn't as bad as I expected (it was cheaper than my experience of Norway). Some good prices can be found though, the coffee shops were good value and soup and sandwiches could be found at a reasonable price for lunch.

Overall, if I was booking a hotel for its facilities and luxuries, then the CentreHotel Plaza would disappoint, however as a central base with clean, spacious, warm rooms then it was the perfect choice.

Room Tip: Our superior room at the front of the hotel was warm, spacious and clean with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked a 4 day package break and this is where we stayed, quite perfect for location. The hotel itself is functional and staff are fine. I asked for a room high up with a double bed by e-mail and they obliged but the duvets were single, this is Iceland. The television wasn't up to much but we were hardly in our room anyway. The room quite big enough but the hot water absolutely stank of rotten eggs, not the hotel's fault, this is how it is from underground geothermal springs. Breakfast had plenty of choices and was adequate but the surroundings a little Spartan. From 5-7pm there was a beer happy hour in the bar that we only used this once as we were out eating or on a trip. Nowhere is far from here, most of the best restaurants, coach terminus for trips, harbour, lake etc etc.

Room Tip: Friday and Saturday be at the back of the hotel, other times anywhere will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Many hotels try to be friendly on the surface but rarely do they genuinely demonstrate that friendliness. This hotel does that, in spades. Although we had pre-arranged dates and times for our tours the receptionist (Fredrik) was only too happy to re-arrange the timings to suite us. What a refreshing attitude. The room, food and cleanliness was also first class. This type of hotel behaviour can only come from the 'top' so a big thank you to whoever influences that attitude. We are planning a return trip to Iceland in the not too distant future, maybe summer, when we will most certainly seek out a trip that allows us to return to the Center Plaza,
Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Not too sure how to achieve this but, we just turned up and were allocated our room which was superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I found this place through easyJet holidays website and went with them as the price was affordable. We didn't know what to expect really but all the staff were lovely and helpful, our room was clean and comfy, and the location was great, right on a square of restaurants and bars with a handy little supermarket practically next door if you want to avoid mini fridge costs! Breakfast was included and the spread was delicious, some novel choices as well! Would recommend and will definitely book again when we go back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.