We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant suprise, in the middle of town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Plaza to your Saves list
CenterHotel Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Montrose, Pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise, in the middle of town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visited Reykjavik in March. We didn't get to choose our hotel, it was part of a tour deal. We were very happy with the accomodations. The rooms were very clean, and plenty large. We had wireless internet, a flat screen tv, a fridge and a coffee maker.

The hotel's location is awesome. It is really in the center of where you want to be in the city. Easy walking distance to most shopping, and lots of good restaurants. The harbor is an easy walk as well.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was great. Something for everyone. Hot and cold cereal, great hot bread to slice, eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt and fruit. I could go on and on, there was so much to pick from. The coffee was also great!

The hotel staff all spoke excellent English, and were very, very helpful.

I'd have to say, I would eagerly recommend this hotel to a friend. I'm thinking of making a return trip myself. The country is beautiful, and the people very friendly.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room for the weekend, ask for one on the courtyard or off the main street. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    352
    132
    33
    20
See reviews for
89
322
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel has a great location with many restaurants close by. A small convenience store is next door. The staff is very attentive and where ready to answer questions and book transportation. Breakfast buffet included hot items such as scrambled eggs, as well as fruits, cold cuts and pastries. If you leave early in the morning, coffee and croissants will be available. Our room was spacious. My only complaint was that the bathroom only had a bathtub and no shower. The bathtub was located under the narrow part of a slanted ceiling, so you were forced to bathe seating down. Very uncomfortable for a tall person.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great service and perfect location to explore the city and its restaurants and nightlife. Very comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was good as well. Definitely recommended if you want a good hotel for a decent price!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room, and our room was in the back of the hotel, which made it very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not much to add beyond the great reviews, but think I should counter some of the negative ones. I'm not sure whether the breakfast offerings have changed in the last few months, but there was practically something for everyone at the CenterHotel Plaza breakfast buffet: sliced fruits and vegetables, yogurt, oatmeal, cold cereal, hardboiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and a host of breads. Unless you're on a very restricted diet, honestly, I'm not sure how you could go away hungry or disappointed.

The rooms: do not expect the large-sized rooms, or even amenities, of an American chain hotel. One thing that took some getting used to was the lack of a thermostat. I'd wondered why I saw so many open windows walking around Reykjavik, and found that we took to sleeping with a partly-open window ourselves. This, in the middle of March! The geothermal heat kept things VERY warm. Better than the room being too cold, though.

Not sure why someone likened it to a backpackers' hotel (and believe me, I've stayed in my share, back in the day). We were in a room facing the interior so granted, we didn't hear the weekend revelers (which should be expected no matter where you are in Reykjavik city center).

If I had any complaint, it was that - a couple of times - the reception desk was understaffed. I was surprised to see this when we tried checking in, twice, the morning of our arrival (the room wasn't ready the first time so we came back in a few hours). It seemed counter-intuitive to have one person working the desk during the hours of when people would be checking out/arriving, not to mention asking assorted questions about itineraries, how to find things, etc. That said, I found the staff very helpful and friendly when I had questions.

The location can't be beat and is within easy walking distance of Laugarveguer. Certainly safe and clean.

Room Tip: Even though they face an apartment building, ask for rooms that face the inside if your visit coinci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was acceptable and clean but the shower leaked which was a nuisance. Breakfast very good but very busy place. If you want an undisturbed night's sleep do NOT book on a Saturday! The town was very noisy. Nice enough but I preferred the Arnhavoll. Staff were very good and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose the Plaza as a central location and a base for tours and weren't disappointed. Took various tours near and far and pick ups weren't a problem. Reception spoke better English than you'll hear in most of London and were very helpful in checking and amending tours. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Iceland Excursions office and the bus stop which can take you to the public Hot baths/Swimming pool. Breakfast offered a pretty wide range of cereals and hot food plus the usual continental stuff. The one issue we had was the noise: Bars are open until around 3am and play loud music, so If you're looking to retire at 8pm, you might want to either get a room at the back of the hotel or seek accommodation elsewhere (we stayed at the very front). Easy walking distance for all of town if you're healthy (we walked back from the Laugardalslaug outdoor baths in about 45 minutes by the waterfront, very pleasant).

Room Tip: The Front of the hotel can be very noisy at night until about 3am, beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a nice, basic room, clean and well furnished, in the back of the hotel. It was quiet and comfortable, met our needs perfectly. The view out the window was a wall of the building next door, but so what? The staff was friendly and helpful; they responded quickly to remedy a minor problem with my reading light (even though it took several trips up the stairs). The breakfast was wonderful--my daughter was impressed that pickled herring was on the menu--they obviously went to a great deal of trouble to accommodate the breakfast habits of several cultures.

The hotel was right in the heart of the old part of the city, an easy walk to museums, restaurants, and shops. Our tour buses picked us up right in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and will stay there again if I return to Iceland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.