We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for price! 値段にしては上出来だ♩” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Save Saved
You added CenterHotel Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good for price! 値段にしては上出来だ♩”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

big, lovely and cosy. it was nice locational. there are lots of restaurants including that so famous hotdog restaurant around this hotel. you can access any places easily. staffs are not friendly very much but not bad.
良い感じのホテルでした! あるサイトにいくと1泊2人で多分£45 ポンド程で泊まれます!笑 是非探して見てください。通常の半額以下で泊まれます。

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    308
    126
    34
    17
See reviews for
67
285
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent our first night in Iceland at this hotel and were very happy with rm603, we were advised that it would be our room on our return on our third night in Iceland. We were relegated to rm 216 on our arrival at 10pm only to be told that we had been upgraded on the first night( although no one told us that)
Rm 216 is so tired sheets not properly ironed, toilet not fully cleaned. carpet on the stairs is fraying. The bathroom window was very difficult to shut and when we arrived it was open, no doubt left by the previous occupant who then got upgraded!!
The wooden floor was badly scuffed and marked.
Such a let down, the view of the back street was equally unimpressive. we were given a free drink voucher to make up for our disappointment but only we pressed for some show of customer care

Center Hotels you need to improve your hotel rooms quickly.

Room Tip: Sixth floor is quieter as it is top floor, upgraded rooms cost moe but don.t get stuck with rm 216
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent 5 days at The Plaza Hotel in Reykjavik in February 2013. It's a comfortable hotel. Rooms are basic but lean & comfortable. The very BEST thing about this hotel is its location, right in the centre of the best part f Reykjavik! It's perfectly positioned! The staff are helpful and very efficient (thank you Vera & Ana!) . This hotel is perfect for a short break. The breakfast is excellent also. You can upgrade for 25euros a night & you can sign up to be woken to see the Northern Lights, should they appear during your stay!

Local restaurants to the hotel are good to variable. It's sad that a seemingly sophisticated culture has regressed to persuading tourists to eat the flesh of highly intelligent sea mammals...when most Icelandic people no longer subscribe to such primitive & and uniformed practices. The tacky and 'uncool ' pushing of whale consumption for tourists is a blight on the national conscience....sadly.

But back to The Plaza ~ it comes highly recommended, especially in terms of its location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good quality hotel in central location and at a reasonable price for Reykjavik. Good and plentiful breakfast. Effective WiFi. Helpful staff. Clean and well presented. No negative comments.................

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the CenterHotel Plaza in January and had a wonderful stay. I had emailed ahead of my stay to check if there was bag storage available as I was arriving very early in the morning. I was grateful to not only be able to be able to store my belongings, but to be able to wash up and change before setting out for the day.

The room, while small, is perfect as a home base during your journey. I did little more than shower and sleep in the room so there is not much more needed. The towels were changed daily and additional in room coffee was provided.

The front desk staff was most accommodating and answered any questions promptly and efficiently.

It was wonderful to stay there and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I was in the back looking just towards other rooms and didn't hear a peep. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Hotel is modern and quite sparse but it is in a fantastic location, right at the heart of all the bars and restaurants. The rooms are good and very clean. Free internet and extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I are just about to finish our week's stay here. The hotel is perfectly placed in Reykjavik's city centre, near to all the shops and restaurants. Our room was at the front on the fifth floor, so we had an excellent view of the square.

Every time we've encountered the hotel's staff, they've been very polite, friendly and helpful. The room is great - very tidy with all the amenities we could have asked for. The breakfast service in the morning's was fantastic with plenty of options including toast, cereal, fruit and fried stuff too! On checking in, we were given a password for the free Wi-Fi provided by the hotel which proved very handy.

The drain in the shower produces an unpleasant smell, but we think this might be a problem with the sewer, rather than anything to do with the hotel. The shower cubicle door also had a tendency to allow water to escape onto the bathroom floor. We were also given two separate beds that were pushed together as opposed to one double bed.

However, apart from these minor issues, we've both been impressed with the hotel and, if we ever return to Reykjavik in the future, we'll definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bit of noise on Friday nights, make sure you get a room overlooking the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.