We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Radisson Blu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #20 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Washington, D.C., United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Radisson Blu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff were wonderful - very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was good - the staff at the restaurant couldn't have been nicer. My only "complaint" was that there was major road construction going on in front of the hotel when we were there which was loud and inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your reveiw.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially nice to read the experience you had with our team and the Super Buffet Breakfast.

The city of Reykjavik has been doing constructions around the city, trying to improve our surroundings and making our city more beautiful and more accessible The contstructions are to be done now in July.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    252
    51
    15
    18
See reviews for
74
255
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we arrived in Reykjavick. We were in room 504. It was very clean and OK but the windows were skylights that opened, so you couldn't see out and if it was raining, which it did on and off, you did have to be careful about the angle of the window or rain could come in. But we really did need to keep the windows open because the room was hot otherwise. The staff brought us a fan which was a help. The breakfast was very good. Also the location was downtown, very central and good for walking around the harbor area. I am giving it 4 stars because of the friendly and helpful staff and the excellent breakfast. The room was just average really. My husband didn't like the room at all because it was up under the pitched roof, hence the skylights rather than regular windows and he is tall and nearly hit his head a few times. So if you are around 6 ft. tall, you will probably not like the room we stayed in or one close by.

Room Tip: If there is a way to request a room that isn't up on the top floor, you will avoid the slanted c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

I am please to see that our staff had such an impression on you during your stay and you where pleased with our Super Buffet Breakfast, the location of the hotel and our cleanliness.

The room height varies, from having skylight windows up to 3.2m height. Please request when making a reservation.

Feel free to contact me if you ever return to the hotel again.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is our second stay at Blu 1919, first stay room 503 and second stay room 503. Our family stayed in a spa room on the top floor facing Harpa/hotdog stand. Although the window faced upward to the sky and the only way you could see anything was to stand on a chair. This situation worked great in the spring/summer due to we could black out the room with the double shades installed on the smallish windows. And, I guess our family really isn't a sit at the window and gaze out at the view when in Iceland. Also, there are not a lot of bars on this side of the hotel so it is quitter at night. Keep in mind if a loud drunk(s) are on the street below your room you will hear them no matter what room. The beds are comfortable, there is no air conditioning in this room but they have fans and one window does open for a little circulation. The front desk is very patient and accommodating with our request which were quiet a few from extra pillows to extra fans to help with our family find a place to eat.
This hotel is a hop skip and a jump from the GREYLine tours so if you don't book excursion in advance you can walk down 2 blocks to where all there tours leave the city center.
The breakfast was okay, we are not a fan of icelandic eggs, they taste how sulfur smells but we did eat breakfast everyday here for the convenience of it. Food is expensive in Iceland and most restaurants close around 10pm during the week and around 11pm during the weekends.
We would suggest a quick trip to the shopping center close to city center the first day you arrive to pick up soda, chips and snacks which are half the cost of the convenience markets near the 1919. There is a free shuttle that picks up in-front of the Reykjavik Restaurant(yellow building with seafood buffet) starting around 11am.
If our family were to stay in Reykjavik again we would look at the 1919

Room Tip: book early ask for Harpa view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read about your stay and see that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff, the Super Buffet Breakfast and the central location.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here on Friday night of 6-13-2014. We had to open the window as the room was hot and no air conditioning. We found out that Icelanders like to take advantage of the long hours of light & party until 5am. We weren't able to sleep due to the noise outside our window of trash being thrown, motorcycles and bottles being broken. The hotel should warn consumers and provide ear plugs. Ditto no adapters were provided but there was free internet. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The location is ideal and in the center of town. We would stay here again as we felt welcomed and cared for.

Room Tip: a higher floor might be quieter but I doubt it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write your review.

I see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service that our staff provided.

Please feel free to ask for a higher floor if you ever return to the hotel or some earplugs, that we provide complimentary in the reception.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I would say that this hotel is adequate, nothing more or less. It is located in the heart of central Reykjavik which makes it super easy to walk down the main shopping streets (Bankastraeti & Laugavegur). The staff were friendly and helpful.

We had a deluxe room with twin beds. Let me say my idea of a twin bed was quite different from theirs. The beds, while comfortable, were slivers of beds. They were certainly not twin beds. It was pretty loud at night. We were there in the summertime and it was light until midnight, so the drunks were out in large numbers until all hours of the night).

The breakfast was included in the price, which I really appreciated. Good selection at the buffet and GREAT coffee!

Looking back on our stay, and how expensive everything else was in Reykjavik (I’m not joking when I say two days in Iceland cost me more than four days in Paris), I probably would have saved some money and chosen a B&B and foregone the convenience of the Radisson Blu 1919. However, I wouldn’t discourage anyone from choosing it. Just don’t expect the lux hotel that it is advertised to be. Good, just not lux.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have quite rooms, but you should ask for one (couldn't hurt).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write your review.

I see that you enjoyed the service that our staff provided you during your stay and our central location, which sometime has it´s cons. We do offer earplugs in the reception for those who have problems with all the fun that is sometimes down town.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed our Super Buffet Breakfast and the selection that we offer there.

We appreciate all our guests comments and look into each one to see if there is anything that we can do to improve our service.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for the staff they were friendly and extremely helpful, happy to advise and really helpful when it came to booking excursions, the hotel was centrally located for bars and restaurants all round an excellent experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write your review.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and specially to read your comments about our staff and the guest service that they provide.

Have a great day,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

very pleasant, clean rooms. Very close to the ward, central old town and great shopping area very close. the morning breakfast was included and was excellent. The staff was very friendly and receptive to any needs or requests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your review.

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed our service, the Super Buffet Breakfast and our central location.

All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.