We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, very Scandinavian Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice, very Scandinavian Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel mid morning, in advance of check-in time. We were able to check-in, and since it was too early to get our room, the desk clerk immediately took our luggage and stored it safely.

The hotel is in a perfect, very central location in the heart of Reykjavik, and is perfect for anyone who wants to explore the city by walking which suits us. We came back to the hotel right after lunch and our room was ready.

The room is very Scandinavian; modern, having simplicity, minimalist and functional. The room had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable. The desk ample. The room and its bathroom were spotless. The sink and shelving in the bathroom were small and barely adequate for the two of us. The WIFI Internet access in the room was strong and fast. The Internet is free with the room. We had no trouble streaming on my iPad in the room.

The blackout curtain effectively shut out the "midnight sun." There is no rug on the floor, so you might want to have slippers with you when you stay there, but the lack of rug helps ensure the room is really clean.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful in helping us find our way using the city map, and making restaurant suggestions and reservations for us. We didn't use them to help us book any tours as we were set for that.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel is wonderful. The choices are great and the food is fresh. I especially liked being able to make my own waffles using their pair of waffle irons in the dining room.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel when I return to Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review based on your stay with us here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykajvik.
I am very grateful for your comments about our team making your stay enjoyable and that you liked our free WiFi, breakfast buffet (with waffles) and rooms.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    333
    67
    28
    22
See reviews for
102
361
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

1919 is located in the central area of shops and restaurants and makes a good locale for Monday through Thursday. However, weekend nights and early mornings are taken over by the young men and women of the city who party to the beat of loud music and their own yelling. So, if you do like to get some sleep on a weekend night, go somewhere outside of downtown.
Otherwise, the hotel is just decent for a short stay. The big plus is the staff who are friendly and helpful. The rooms were expensive, small and not well arranged even by European standards.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, be sure to get an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review based on your stay with us. I agree, our location can´t get any better, with short distance to all Reykjavik has to offer. In the weekends, the local Icelanders enjoy going out and socialize. But fear not, they are all friendly and do making friends with visitors. If our guests doesn´t want to join them in the evening, we do have rooms which are more quiet and facing away from the street.

I appreciate your feedback on our team, and I know they will be happy reading your comments.

Look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Iceland.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

loved every moment.I stayed here on my last night in Iceland and appreciated and enjoyed the large rooms, nice dining room, comfortable bed and friendly service. This hotel is in the middle of this beautiful city and within walking distance to a nice little lake, and most of the places one might want to see in town. The rooms are l clean and cheerful and internet is free. It was a great vacation. Thank you Iceland, for being cool, colorful and friendly. If you were less expensive I could have spent more summers here

Room Tip: make a point to stay longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband, 7 year old son and I stayed at Radisson Blu 1919 in Reykjavik for 5 nights in mid-July. We really enjoyed our stay. The check-in and check-out process were very smooth. The hotel was ideally situated, close to most things in the city. We had a large corner room on the 3rd floor. The room was very clean. It had nice hard wood floors and had a light airy feel to it. The bathroom was very large and well equipped.

Breakfast was included in our package. We were very pleased with the breakfast buffet. My son especially loved the waffles. The wait staff was pleasant and helpful. I found the breakfast to be quite relaxing. The wait staff was attentive with coffee and tea.

One of the best restaurants in Reykjavik-the Grillmarkadurinn- was very close to the hotel, perhaps a two minute walk.

Free internet access in the rooms was nice and fast compared with other hotels. We also enjoyed having the Nespresso machine in our room.

We found the people working at the hotel to be very helpful; they were always friendly and genuinely seemed concerned about the quality of our stay. Indeed, the only issue we really encountered was the noise on Saturday night. Reykjavik is a small city and the hotel is right in the center. The bars close at 5 AM on the weekends. We were leaving around 5 AM Sunday morning to catch a flight and the streets were so noisy. Right outside the hotel there were dozens of youngish folks leaving the bars, drunk and loud. When we checked out, the lobby clerk said that many complain about the noise on the weekends but that when you have a hotel in the middle of the city, it is bound to happen. We didn’t notice too much noise on Friday night.

The lobby of the hotel was small and dark with modern décor that I considered pretty ugly.

Overall, our stay was very pleasant and if we return to Reykjavik, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here on my first night in Iceland and appreciated the large rooms, comfortable bed and friendly service. This hotel is well located and within walking distance of most things you might want to see in town. The rooms are clean and cheerful, well appointed with nice details like a Nespresso machine, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: As the weekend revellers seem to haunt the streets of this city, ask for a room on an upper floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMI1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for these comments regarding your stay with us at the 1919 Hotel!
We are pleased your experience was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back.

best wishes - -

Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Director of Sales
robyn.mitchell@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We and our traveling companions had booked business class rooms almost a year ago. Upon arrival were told we were downgraded because someone else had our rooms. After complaining to management they said they could do nothing about the room but offered complimentary dinner. The standard rooms were very small. The hotel is in a nice location but does not have a first class ambiance inside. The management did go out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMI1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We offer our sincere apologies for the overbooking situation that occurred in the room category reserved.
It is unfortunate that the standard room category was not satisfactory however I am pleased that we were able to invite you for a meal at the restaurant.
If there is anything we at the hotel can assist you wish in the future - please do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can make sure your next stay is exactly as ordered.

Kind regards,
Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Director of Sales
robyn.mitchell@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

In a country where the average daily summer temperature is in the mid 50's one would not expect air conditioning. However, being travelers from the deep South we are accustomed to having it. The rooms were adequately appointed and the bathroom sufficient. With only two 12"X12" windows that opened in our room, I had to prop the door open to create a draft. By and large this was sufficient. The staff (from the front desk to the servers in the bar) was absolutely excellent. At one point a member of our group blew the electricity in his room; the front desk manager took tools to the room to fix the problem himself. Being on the weekend, maintenance personnel weren't available. The breakfast buffet was more than splendid in the vast offerings. The bartenders (Ingunn and Ingar) went above and beyond in terms of service each time we went to the bar. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.