We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
CT, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Perfect location, good size rooms, clean, friendly staff. The only thing I will say is that because of the central location, and Reykjavik being a party town, it did get loud at night. We heard street noise pretty much all night. It wasn't constant, but it was enough to disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy we managed to make your stay a enjoyable one and that you found both the product and the service from our team to be excellent.
As you say, being located downtown means that you are in the middle of everything that goes on in Reykjavik - both night and day.
Reykjavik by night is a attraction in itself and I recommend everyone to experience it. We can offer on request rooms facing the quiet courtyard for guests who needs to get up early in the morning.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Reykjavik and I hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    288
    60
    20
    21
See reviews for
87
288
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C., USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The all black decor did not appeal to us, but the hotel is extremely well located and the service, particularly Hannah at the reception desk, is excellent. Breakfast (not included and rather expensive) was good and we ate there most mornings since it was convenient and the buffet extensive. One thing you should know-Reykjavik is extremely noisy at night. They begin partying on the street and in the bars at around midnight and it seems to continue until morning. Since this hotel is central you will hear street noise if you are on a lower floor. We were on the top floor (room 507) so we were able to sleep through it without a problem.

Room Tip: I would return to this hotel, but would insist on a room on the 5th floor. Ear plugs might do it als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blue 1919 Hotel for two nights after spending 8 days in London. Iceland is a beautiful country, and the hotel staff were so helpful to us. The excellent front desk staff helped us set up our all day Circle Tour, as well as helping to arrange pick up from the hotel back to the airport after our stay. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. It is in a great location which is close to everything. We spent a few hours at the bar one evening as we wanted something good to eat before meeting a friend at a Vegan restaurant. Inga, our bartender/waitress, was an absolute joy to talk to. We asked her many questions about Iceland and she was very informative-giving us ideas of what to do and see while there, telling us about the great hot dog stand close by, and even recommending a delicious Icelandic beer for us to try. We learned as much about Iceland from her as we did from our tour the next day. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review of your stay with us here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik.
I am honoured you chose our hotel for your visit and we are proud to play a positive part in making your trip to Iceland enjoyable.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Best regards,
Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was good. Slap bang in the centre of the capital. Second time tried the Hilton a bit of hike into town. Third time 1919. There is a pattern here. Fourth time 1919. Go figure. The bar is fantastic, the restaurant is tip top, not more I can say really.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this short, to the point and very positive review.
We are very greatful you chose to stay with us here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel on the 3rd and 4th visit in Reykjavik and look very much forward to welcome you again on your 5th visit.

Best regards,
Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed here one night before joining a cruise - in retrospect, I wish we had come a few days earlier so we could see more of the city. But the location was perfect for walking around - up to the cathedral, to city hall to see the great relief map of the country and just meandering around the city streets. The hotel staff was very helpful, although very busy with all the cruise passengers; our room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic reveiw of your stay with us here at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel! We are all very happy that you chose to stay with us the night before your cruise and hope we get the opportunity to see you again on your next visit to Reykjavik.

Best regards,
Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for tourists visiting Reykjavik - great restaurants nearby as well as shops and museums. However, the front desk staff was terrible. We arrived at 7:30 am and were told our room should be ready in 90 minutes. We opted to have breakfast in the hotel dining room, which we enjoyed, and returned to get another story of the room being ready by 11 am. So we went out to walk around, returning after lunch - about 1:45 pm. The room was still not ready. At 1:55 pm, just 5 minutes prior to advertised check in they made us feel like they were doing us a big favor by finding us a room "early." We checked in and went up to the room to find that it was on the top floor, in a dormer which severely limited head room in half the room. The bed was pushed up against a wall, so that there was no way for a 2nd occupant to get into bed without crawling over the bed and under the dormer. We returned to reception and insisted upon a different room, which they provided. It was fine, but nothing special.

Pluses included good black-out drapes - important during summer 24-hour daylight - and a very good breakfast buffet. However, their bar service was hopelessly inadequate. We ordered a drink and asked for a snack menu, which they promptly provided. Then they never returned - not even to take another drink order.

Downtown Reykjavik has so many nice hotels that there is no reason to put up with such poor service. Had reception told us at 7:30 am that our room wouldn't be ready till 2 pm we would have planned on spending the day out. Instead they kept telling us to come back in an hour or two. And we never received the least bit of a "sorry."

This isn't the first Radisson where we've experienced less than acceptable rooms and service, so I have to fear that they are dropping the standards. I'm not willing to pay Radisson rates for Holiday Inn performance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us.
I am very sorry to learn that we did not deliver the level of service you expected from us.
Clearly, based on your feedback, we did not communicate as well as we should have upon your arrival but I am sure our team did only have the best intentions.

We always try to improve ourselves and our level of service, and we will go over your feedback with our teams so we can do better for future guests.

I am very happy you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, as our goal is to have the best breakfast in Reykjavik.

I hope we get the opportunity to see you again in Reykjavik and that we get the opportunity to improve your impression of our Hotel. Please e-mail me directly on Frode.Jansson@radissonblu.com and I will make sure we can make a future stay and enjoyable one.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I absolutely loved my week at the Radisson Blu 1919. We had a lovely room that was perfect for us - large, attractive with all necessary amenities. The location is perfect as you can walk around the city center, along the water, up to the church or inland a bit to the local pools. The staff was wonderful as well. They were endlessly helpful, genuinely nice and easy to talk to. They would arrange trips, provide helpful info, and attend to any requests quickly. The breakfast buffet was a perfect start to the day and the coffee was delicious. I hope to return sooner than later as the hotel and staff were a large part of my wonderful week in Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel while you were in Reykjavik. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to send a e-mail to Frode.Jansson@radissonblu.com.

Best regards,
Frode Jansson & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.