We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view of the Hot Dog Stand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good view of the Hot Dog Stand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was recommended by several friends due to it's location. Most of the staff, but not all were helpful and friendly. The bar is a great place to gather before or after dinner. We spent three nights there and found our room clean, a little dated but overall satisfactory. I'm not sure I will ever be converted to a comforter only as opposed to sheets and a blanket but that's what they have. Our room was on the fourth floor facing the worlds most famous hot dog stand and provided constant entertainment. By the way, at 5:30 AM Sunday morning they were open and there was a line.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    238
    44
    14
    18
See reviews for
65
235
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kittery, Maine
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived in a.m. and room not ready until after 2 p .m. Took a great city tour of Reyjavik and arrived back at 4 p.m. and no room assigned!! Finally given a room which I rejected as I had to walk down 8 steps without a railing and didn't feel comfortable with only my cane. The manager gave me another room.
Breakfast was included in the 3 night visit, and very adequate, but the same every day. Service was good in restaurant and also had a nice dinner there.
The maid service was late in the afternoon and inconvenient..
The location of the hotel is great, and near to the great restaurants, and stores.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMI1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Marcia,

Thank you for your recent review! We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy the Reykjavik city tour before checking in. In the fully booked summer months it is sometimes difficult to get rooms for early check in however 16:00 is definitely not the "norm".

I am also pleased to hear that our manager was able to accommodate the room request after check in and we could get you a suitable stair free room for your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back someday! (and if you wish to have our room attendants service the room earlier in the day - this is no problem to request with any member of our staff and we prioritize your room for a morning service).

best wishes -

Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rooms vary in size. Mine was spacious. Scandinavian room styling with bare wood floors and clean, uncluttered appearance. I left on a Thursday and was on the 5th floor, so street noise was not a problem. Excellent location near restaurants, shops, harbor, etc.. Free wireless internet in the room and a business center are available 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a long weekend holiday in Rejkjavik and can't say enough great things about 1919. It is the perfect location if you want to be in the middle of it all. Yes there are folks in the streets at night but it didn't bother us at all on the fifth floor. The rooms are typical in size of other hotels in the city unless you reserve a suite which is quite large. The amenities are similar to those of a full service hotel and the staff is quite friendly and helpful. The lounge staff in the evenings were very outgoing and courteous. Radisson Blu 1919 is an excellent hotel in a magical city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We did a 2 night stay in Rekjavik via Copenhagen to Toronto at the end our our 11 day Baltic Cruise. This was our second visit to Rekjvaki but first to Radisson 1919. Great location helpful/efficient reception, amazing breakfast and hotel staff. Overall it was a great experience and the hotel was centrally located to great restaurants, main shopping street, waterfront and HARPA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMI1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are pleased that your stay with us at the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel was enjoyable!
Thank you for sharing these nice comments on Trip Advisor!

Welcome back anytime!

/Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Dir. of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is located in downtown Rekjavik about 45 minutes from the airport. It is close to the harbour, shops & local restaurants. There are two main entrances to reception from either side of the hotel (opposite streets) with efficient check in. Staff speak very good English and were helpful with local information. You can book trips through reception (local tour office is close to hotel).

There were 2 lifts to the floors in the main building which has 4 floors. The annex building also has 4 floors. There is a small restaurant & bar area available. For breakfast, there was a good choice of hot & cold food / drinks. For dinner, a good selection of fish and meat dishes, prices were expensive but comparable to other local restaurants. All restaurant / bar staff were friendly and gave an excellent service.

Rooms are accessed via a key card which also operates the electricity in the room. Room (320) on the 3rd floor was spacious with a king size bed (2 singles together) and a large wardrobe but little drawer storage. Bathrobes & slippers were available for use during stay. The room had the following facilities: air conditioning, satellite TV (main channels only, not many in English), free wifi, tea / coffee equipment, mini bar (well stocked but expensive) and an iron & ironing board.
It had a reasonable sized bathroom with a double shower but no bath, complimentary toiletries & hairdryer. Room cleaning was completed daily and of a good standard.

Overall, the stay at this hotel was very pleasant if somewhat expensive. However, I would recommend this hotel as a good central location for visiting all the local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is by far the worst hotel experience I've had in a long long time - and by far the worst of any Reykjavik hotel. Be aware of the attendant at night, really really bad attitude. I checked-in the first night and was told of free laundry by a letter that was especially written to me in the hotel room, which I thought "wow, that's awesome", but when I was checking out I was asked for the note, and then promptly told by the staff "I was not not aware of this", obviously implying that I must have made it up. He then told me that he had to see this note, otherwise will not believe what I said.

In addition, the hotel is in an extremely noisy part of the city, and the rooms are really tiny for the price you are paying - over $300/night for the nights I was staying there. Overall, the Marina and the Hilton were a lot better for when I stayed in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: If you want a big room, you have to pay extra, they won't upgrade you even if you have status wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMI1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Kai,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. I would like to first off apologize for the confusion that seems to have happened regarding the laundered item which was stated correctly in the welcome letter you received. We have followed this up with our reception staff and I am happy to see this was refunded onto your account before you left the hotel.

With regards to your comments about the noise around the hotel - yes - we agree - being this close to downtown (right in the center) can be noisy at times. Our Front Office does have a hefty supply of earplugs for guests and we can also recommend our sister Radisson Blu hotel which is located on the other side of the pond and away from city noise.

We appreciate your comments and hope we will have the opportunity to one day welcome you back for a better stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss a future booking.
robyn.mitchell@radissonblu.com

Best wishes -
Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.