We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the thick of things” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Right in the thick of things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Radisson Blu on a family trip to see the Northern Lights. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate, but we had a nice time in Iceland anyway. It was our first visit to Iceland. The Blu is about a block away from the town square in Reykjavik, and a short walk to the commercial area that's crowded with shops and restaurants. Rooms are Spartan, with hardwood floors and minimalist furnishings. The bath reminded me of the bathroom in my college dorm: functional but decorated on a small budget. Ours was equipped with a small shower stall, a very small sink, and a toilet. Having read reviews that the hotel is smack dab in the middle of the popular pub-crawl area, we requested a quiet room at check in. This was wise - the others in our party didn't do that, and everyone else wound up complaining about street noise from people partying (and duking it out) on the street below. Our room, on the other hand, faced the nice, quiet (but view-less) courtyard. The party starts after midnight on Fridays and Saturdays, and goes until 6 a.m. according to our fellow travelers, so if you wind up with one of these rooms and you're not a reveler, bring earplugs.
Breakfast was included in our room rate; the buffet is small, but has a nice variety of breads, meats and cheeses, and some predictable hot items. You can also order omelets and eggs to order.
The fitness room is one of the smallest I've ever seen, with a single elliptical and a single treadmill, and a couple of weight stations, but we had no trouble snagging a machine. It was very stuffy in there - a fan would be a nice addition.
We were thrilled to hear our room was ready when we checked into the hotel around 8 a.m. after our trans-Atlantic flight. This was very nice service that we appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (one that faces the courtyard) if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    287
    60
    20
    21
See reviews for
87
287
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've just returned from a business trip to Reykjavik, the 1919 is in a great location in the centre of town. The staff were extremely helpful and polite, the rooms were of a good size and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night and whilst we clearly chose to stay downtown the business class room we had faced onto a road full of revellers with noise that just went on all night making sleep impossible. If you are going to be out all night yourself then it probably fine, but otherwise think twice on a friday or saturday night. Pleasant staff, decent enough rooms and very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas in December. Rooms were a good size and very clean and fresh. All modern TV etc and great bar downstairs, which gets going late in the evening. Rooms were quite hot and if you slept with the window open there was quite a lot of street noise, but then what else would you expect as Reykjavik comes alive. Good restaurant and staff were really friendly throughout the hotel. we'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is not fancy but it is more than decent. Room was not big. It was very clean. The location was good for shopping and finding restaurants nearby as well as being near the harbor and many of the sites of the city. We asked many questions of the people working the front desk and they were very polite and helpful. There is no garage and parking can get super tight on Saturday's when people come to shop and sightsee. During the week, between 10 & 6, you must feed the meters but you can feed them for 8 hours at a time. The restaurant was expensive but everything we had was very good and the service was also good.

Room Tip: It can get noisy on the street so higher up can be better but on the top floor, the room ceiling may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Reykjavik but near the waterfront. Close to the main shopping street and many restaurants.
Our room was on the top floor and small. It also had a sloping roof with only velux windows which were virtually impossible to see out of. The bathroom could best be described as pokey and you definitely couldnt swing a cat in it, let alone even really turn around! However it was all very clean and the bed was comfortable.
They told us that the top floor was the quietest however, they probably didnt expect people to somehow manage to get onto the roof and run around on the roof at 2am...not ideal but I suspect not a regular occurence.
I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our home away from home! So centrally located, everything is in easy walking distance. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious by European standards. We asked for a quiet room, and were given a great room with early check-in. All the staff were professional and efficient. The breakfast was amazing, with a wonderful selection of treats for every palate. The dining room staff were charming, professional and accommodating. We only had one small glitch in that we were charged for the mini-bar when we checked out. We NEVER use the mini-bar, but paid the bill as it was too small to quibble about. Perhaps the manager can make sure the mini-bar is inventoried properly between guests. Regardless, we will definitely return. The facilities and location can't be beat!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room, so were able to open a window. Even in February with no heat on and an open wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.