We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the heart of Reykjavik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Crowthorne
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Right at the heart of Reykjavik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas in December. Rooms were a good size and very clean and fresh. All modern TV etc and great bar downstairs, which gets going late in the evening. Rooms were quite hot and if you slept with the window open there was quite a lot of street noise, but then what else would you expect as Reykjavik comes alive. Good restaurant and staff were really friendly throughout the hotel. we'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    287
    60
    20
    21
See reviews for
86
286
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is not fancy but it is more than decent. Room was not big. It was very clean. The location was good for shopping and finding restaurants nearby as well as being near the harbor and many of the sites of the city. We asked many questions of the people working the front desk and they were very polite and helpful. There is no garage and parking can get super tight on Saturday's when people come to shop and sightsee. During the week, between 10 & 6, you must feed the meters but you can feed them for 8 hours at a time. The restaurant was expensive but everything we had was very good and the service was also good.

Room Tip: It can get noisy on the street so higher up can be better but on the top floor, the room ceiling may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Reykjavik but near the waterfront. Close to the main shopping street and many restaurants.
Our room was on the top floor and small. It also had a sloping roof with only velux windows which were virtually impossible to see out of. The bathroom could best be described as pokey and you definitely couldnt swing a cat in it, let alone even really turn around! However it was all very clean and the bed was comfortable.
They told us that the top floor was the quietest however, they probably didnt expect people to somehow manage to get onto the roof and run around on the roof at 2am...not ideal but I suspect not a regular occurence.
I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our home away from home! So centrally located, everything is in easy walking distance. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious by European standards. We asked for a quiet room, and were given a great room with early check-in. All the staff were professional and efficient. The breakfast was amazing, with a wonderful selection of treats for every palate. The dining room staff were charming, professional and accommodating. We only had one small glitch in that we were charged for the mini-bar when we checked out. We NEVER use the mini-bar, but paid the bill as it was too small to quibble about. Perhaps the manager can make sure the mini-bar is inventoried properly between guests. Regardless, we will definitely return. The facilities and location can't be beat!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room, so were able to open a window. Even in February with no heat on and an open wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an historical building in Reykjavík, it used to be a shipping company. It is right in the center of town, walking distance to shopping, Harpa, national museum, Parliament, and the Cathedral. The staff is great and will do whatever they can to help you. We flew in from America, so it was a little bit over 7am and they still got us a room - we had breakfast and crashed for a few hours.
The rooms are small, but trendy and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is fabulous - the variety of food is huge! juices, fruits, meats, breads... oh the breads! yum! The breakfast is worth every króna! Make sure you go hungry, and don't worry about getting there early... the food keeps coming and coming!
The hotel will help you with northern lights tour if you go in the winter. They will basically arrange any tour of the city/country for you. There's a few restaurants around the hotel, but things seems to die down after midnight... but there's a grocery store close by, so plan ahead. The food in the mini bar is super pricey... I wouldn't touch it.
If you get too hot with the comforters, just pull out the inner pillow and you're left with the sheet only, and it's more manageable.
Hope you enjoy your stay at this cool hotel.

Room Tip: Beds are basically two twins put together, so keep that in mind... pretty small. Higher rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel in Feb 2013 for its location. It is conveniently located downtown near the old harbor in walking distance to everywhere (restaurants, shops, tour buses, the old harbor, etc.). It is a modern hotel that was very simple, but met all of our needs. We booked our hotel via DHR and got free breakfast which was fantastic. It was continental, but perfect for our tastes (various pastries, breads, cheese, hot food, fruit, etc.). Our room was a little noisy, as it fronted a main road, but there were blackout drapes which helped muffle the sound a bit. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel! It was a fantastic trip and our stay at 1919 was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not front the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

this is a nice hotel in a good location. the rooms are clean and the gym is nice. Breakfast is good as well. We had some problems getting a baby crib and we were "compensated" with 1200 club carlson points, which I thought was a bit stingy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this reveiw about your stay with us.

I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, and your comments about cleanliness and our breakfast makes me and the Team proud.

I am sorry you experienced a problem with getting a baby crib and that the compensation was not satisfactory. We do offer baby cribs for our guests complimentary, and if this is booked in advance there is no excuse for us not to deliver.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.