We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here in July for our honeymoon. They upgraded us and the staff was extremely friendly and responsive. The hotel is also very central and you can easily walk around to the shops and the tour company from there. The hotel was not super expensive by Reykjavik standards and is good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am delighted that we played a positive part in your honeymoon and you experienced our hotel as good value for money.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & 1919 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    238
    45
    14
    18
See reviews for
65
236
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is a good, family friendly hotel located in the middle of the town. You cant be located more central. The food in the restaurant is very good and not too expensive. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review on your recent stay with us.
Your comments about the food in our restaurant and about our friendly staff is very appreciated.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & 1919 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My girlfriends and I did a 5 day trip to Reykjavik in the off season. We had always wanted to go to Iceland, but the summer months are just too pricey, so decided to check it out in winter instead. The hotels go waaay down in price from Mid Oct thru March. There were a large selection of hotels, but the Radisson appeared to be in the best location and we were able to get a room for all 4 nights for under 500 dollars. Other hotels were cheaper, but it was so reasonable there was no need to.

The rooms were huge by European Standards. The beds were a little hard, but overall pretty comfortable. The beds come with a nice thick comforter that keeps you very warm. The rooms were completely spotless. The furniture was sorta Ikea'ish....modern yet very minimal (this style is typical of hotels in the Nordic countries). I personally didn't care for the location of the 2 windows in the room. We were on the top floor and the windows were more in the roof of the room so you couldn't really look out of it very well. The hotel elevator was also pretty small but again, that is typical of most European hotels.

The service at the hotel was very accommodating and friendly. We had to exchange dollars to ISK and they were able to easily. We also asked for extra pillows, towels etc and they brought it up to our room with no problems in a timely manner. When we needed directions, dinner reservations, or tour reservations the front desk took care of it all. This was a really nice added touch. Its a pain having to do this type of research when on vacation so the fact they took care of it all for you and offered great suggestions was really awesome!

Overall our stay here was awesome. I probably couldn't afford to stay here in the high season, but in the low season, this place is super affordable and definitely a great value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
I am very happy you experienced your stay as a good value for money and that our service was to your satisfaction.
Our team in the reception takes great pride in servicing our guests with their local knowledge, all from what to do and see to where to go and eat.

I sincerely hope to see you again on your next travels to Iceland.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was traveling with a friend for Iceland Airwaves. My friend arrived at the hotel earlier than I did and they were able to let her into the room without me which was great. The room was just the right size - room enough to let 2 full suitcases explode over the room and still have space to sit and chat without feeling claustrophobic. The bathrooms were very clean and well stocked. The front desk staff were very helpful and attentive and were able to give directions as needed. One of them didn't know how to get to the main bus station but was able to call us a cab driver who did know the way. I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant/participate in the happy hour but those were available to guests. The hotel is very near Harpa and the famous hot dog stand everyone raves about. If you want to be in the center of the action, I recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a window facing the water - it was only a bit noisy because the wind gusts created a whistlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel.

It is great to know you both enjoyed your stay with us during Iceland Airwaves despite the winds from Hurricane"Sandy".

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you on your next trip to Iceland - and then be sure to try our Happy Hour at the bar which is great value for money.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Good location. Clean rooms. We had one of their suites. You can't beat the location of this hotel - it's smack in the middle of where you want to be. The hotel is located centrally in Reykjavik in an area of the city with many bars and restaurants making it convenient for eating out or shopping. Our room was clean and nice enough, but was somewhat small and with a bad view. The hotel is clean and comfortable, staff is most helpful and very friendly. One negative remark must be made about the housekeeping - one day our room was not made at all, another day they forgot to replace the amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our indeed central location. The location couldn´t be better when it comes to exploring the city of Reykjavik.

We will be sure to take your comments about housekeeping to hart so future guests can be sure they will have their room cleaned every day.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel next time your travels brings you to Reykjavik.

With kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I just stayed there for the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. It was part of a package deal with Icelandair (the best airline!). The room was clean, well appointed and a simple modern design. There was plenty of space. I requested a higher floor because I was traveling alone and wanted a quiet spot. My request was met, and despite the notorious Iceland night life, I slept peacefully. The breakfast was laid out well and included much variety. It was better than two other spreads from hotels I stayed in during previous trips there.

The desk staff was fantastic---professional and helpful. When I arrived at 8:45am, the type of room I requested was not ready, and I was weary from the red eye flight. I asked if another room was available, and the woman at the desk said there were other rooms but they would not be what I wanted/requested. She was clear, and I trusted that it would be better to wait for the room I wanted, so as I was about the check my bags with her, she told me that the room would be ready in 45 minutes rather than hours later because someone had just checked out. She knew I wanted a shower and the settle in. I was not obnoxious and she was helpful. Icelanders are very helpful people, and I recommend that American travelers there act in kind in order to be met in the process.

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Good location. Clean rooms. Good breakfast.

but. Do not stay in this hotel over a weekend if you want to sleep. As other reviewers have pointed out, the noise outside is intense and goes on until 4AM. Poor gymn.,

Helpful staff except for one poor guy who seemed to get eferything wrong, including booking us inot the wrong restaurant, misdirecting us to the wrong restaurant, not getting our room serviced, bringing cold not hot milk. It was always him and in the end we found it funny. Staff lovely. Restaurant poor for main meal, had a luke warm burher and had to wait ages becasue large party in main restaurant and we in the bar.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.