We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Oslo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located centrally in Reykjavik in an area of the city with many bars and restaurants making it convenient for eating out or shopping. Our room was clean and nice enough, but was somewhat small and with a bad view. The bathhroom was small and really nothing to brag about and could do with some refurbishing. Breakfast was nice (not included in our rate and cost 2700 ISK per day per person). Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Jacob,
thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate our guest taking the time to write about their experience with us.
Our location is absolutely one of our strengths, in the heart of Reykjavik with walking distance to shops, restaurants and excursions.
I am sorry you did not enjoy the size of your room, however we do have rooms in all sizes depending on what catagery you book.

I hope we do get the opportunity to see you again on your next travels to Reykjavik.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    285
    60
    20
    21
See reviews for
84
284
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel and found its location excellent to visit the old town and main shopping area. Another plus is that the two best restaurants of Reykjavik are within walking distance - namely Fishmarket Restaurant and Meatmarket Restaurant.
The hotel is clean and comfortable, staff is most helpful and very friendly. One negative remark must be made about the housekeeping - one day our room was not made at all, another day they forgot to replace the amenities. Breakfast buffet is fine and you can order any type of coffee you wish, such as expresso, cappuchino etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
I am very happy you enjoyed your 3 nights with us and you found our location excellent!
To help our guests get off to a good start of the day, we make sure they get their favorite coffee served while having breakfast.

I am truly sorry about your room not being cleaned the one day and that amenities was not replaced. We will take your feedback to hart and do our best this does not happen to our future guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to us when your travels bring you back to Reykjavik.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really liked the Radisson Hotel in Reykjavik. It is located right at the edge of the city center. We had a spacious room in the upper floor with a view. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was tasty. I really can recommend this hotel a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The 1919 is right at the base of the main shopping streets in town and very close to the harbour and tour offices so it's a good starting place for walking trips, local restaurants and driving along the harbour route to get out of town. The decor is modest, as are the room sizes. We were on the fourth floor and had sloping dormer ceilings but they gave the room character. There are new flatscreens, dependable wireless service, in-room safes and comfortable beds. The buffet breakfast in the dining room offers a good variety of well-prepared options. The front-desk staff were very accommodating as well. There are no five-star hotels in the city, but the Radisson offers a clean and well-run experience in a historic building so it delivers good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights B&B in September in a Superior twin room.
Typically with Radisson, you kind of expect to get what you pay for and we did get a nice spacious, minimalist scandivian designed room with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, nice bathroom etc,etc. We stayed in room 322 overlooking Tryggvagata.
If you are a 'light' sleeper (like me) then you probably will not appreciate this Hotel's close proximity to the Reykjavik night club area.
Reykjavik's night life is world renowned and didn't we know it judging by the noise of early-hour revellers and the revving of car engines. Sometime around 4am it started to quieten down a bit !
I suppose 'when in Rome one should do as the Romans do', meaning that we should have been partying...well maybe next time ? I would probably avoid this hotel and area completely around Christmas and New Year (Hogmanay) time unless I take plenty of ear plugs !
On our 2nd night we had to check out very early at 4.15am prior to catching a flight from Keflavik airport. The pre-ordered taxi (driver) was already waiting in the hotel lobby and the hotel provided some fresh fruit, water and cereal bars - an early breakfast. Nice touch.
Like I say, nice hotel...

Room Tip: A difficult one to answer if you are a light sleeper on a Friday or Saturday night. Take ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 days and found it a great location for restaurants, shops and catching tours as the Grayline stop is a block away. We had the standard room which has no windows, only sky lights. There were no larger rooms to upgrade to so we had to make do. The most negative thing was the bed. It was ver hard and uncomfortable and we both woke up achy and not well rested. The staff is very helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Clean spotless room - all white: sheets, comforter duvet, fluffy towels, robes, slippers. Floor is blond wood. Breakfast buffet is very good with lots of choices and excellent service - constant tidying up of food, tables. Rooms have hair dryer, iron and board, coffee maker but lacking the following: a clock/radio, magnifying mirror in bathroom, rubber mat for dangerous bath tub. Only way to get a wake up call is to call front desk which we could not reach as telephone was not working in our room. Limited TV stations. We had a business class room which was fairly small - only advantage was robes and slippers and breakfast. Best thing is location as one can walk to harbor, all the restaurants/bars, many many museums. Only took a taxi twice in a week's visit. The only problem with room was temperature. Way too hot even with window open which could only be opened a tiny bit. Had to close window at night due to all the street noise from the many people yelling and screaming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.