We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik to your Saves list
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room here was very nice and we found the staff to be very polite and helpful. The wireless internet was fast and it was easy to get connected. The room was clean and the staff did a great job keeping it clean. The bathroom was large as was the tub.

One issue we found during our stay was that the room would get uncomfortably warm. We kept the window open for the duration of our stay and that helped a lot. However, the rub was that since it never got dark outside we closed the curtains at night. The curtains were great for keeping the light out, but also did a great job at keeping out the cool breeze. So, most nights around 4 or 5 am we had to open the curtains to cool the room down, and let the light in as well. My girlfriend had a sleeping mask that worked well for her, and I used a pillow. Eventually, I think we both just got used to sleeping with a bit of daylight. The other con was some mornings the planes landing at Reykjavik Airport were very loud coming in and could be a rude awakening. This wasn't very often, and I think any hotel in the city center would have this issue.

The hotel was walking distance to everything; restaurants, bars, shopping and the harbor. We booked several of our daytrips through Iceland Excursions. Their office was one block away from the hotel, which was great for last minute bookings or changes. Also, we could walk to the pickup point instead of waiting for a bus.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    333
    67
    28
    22
See reviews for
103
361
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

A group of us went this past weekend for a friend's birthday. The location could not be better -- you're in the heart of downtown Reykjavik, walking distance to restaurants, bars and clubs. Tour buses pick you up at the front of your hotel, and there is a shuttle to and from the bus station that takes you to the airport. The rooms are very nice (large for European rooms) and clean with modern furnishings. The bathrooms are also very large.

Noise: So we went to party with a friend, meaning the noise wasn't much of an issue for us since we were staying out late. However, if I had been on a trip with my husband and hoping for a good night's sleep, I would have been pretty annoyed right around 3am. The hotel is directly across the street from a famous hot dog stand that tourists frequent as a post-going out snack. In other words, lots of drunk kids on the weekends yelling, laughing, having a good time right outside your window between 3am-5am.

One complaint: we had a bit of a problem during check-in. We booked our rooms through Otel.com. The website confirmed that we had all received twin rooms (two separate beds). This was a coed group, none of us are married to each other, and none of us wanted to share a bed with a member of the opposite sex. When we checked in, apparently Otel.com had not communicated the twin rooms to Radisson 1919. It took us about an hour and a half to resolve with the front desk. In the end (after much negotiation) they handled the issue professionally and offered us Junior Suites at the same rate that the twin rooms would have been (b/c the twin rooms were all booked up). Lesson for us: don't book with Otel.com. Lesson for Radisson 1919: don't work with websites that advertize/sell your rooms if you're not willing to make good on the deal when guests arrive. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent in Reykjavik.
I am sorry there was a delay upon arrival caused by loss of information between the Travel Agency and ourselves. We will certainly look into this so we can prevent the same happening in the future.
However, I am pleased our team managed to sort it out and found a solution which you as our guest were happy with.
I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Reykjavik.

Best Regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have just arrived back from the 1919 having spent three nights staying there. The location is superb, right in the heart of things and in easy walk of the main high street and also the quieter area nearer the parliament buildings.

The hotel is modern and the rooms are stylish and the fittings are of a high standard, we were actually upgraded to a business class room without requesting it, although the rooms are the same as the standard ones. The room was very warm and the air con made little difference to this so we had to sleep with the window open; and here lies the problem. The great location does mean that you are near some of the numerous bars and believe me, Icelanders like to party! On the Sunday we left there was a bank holiday on the Monday, when we left the hotel at 5.45am there were literally hundreds still on the streets having been drinking all night. We found it very hard to sleep with all that going on just outside the window and we found the same problem on the other nights.

Take an eye mask in the summer as the blackout curtains aren't great but take my advise and get some ear plugs too! The hotel should probably offer these to guests to be honest. The hotel was right up there with the best we saw in Reykjavik and the location is second to none, but with that comes noise!

We would definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for this review for the 1919 Hotel. It is true that with the amazing downtown location - comes the sounds of the city. We often forget how different it is for our guests to experience the Reykjavik nightlife. Your right - it really does run into the morning hours!

At the 1919 Hotel - we 100% offer earplugs at the Front Desk for all guests who need a bit of quiet. Free of charge and certainly helpful on weekend! If you ever come back - do not hesitate to request a "quiet" room. We have some rooms on an inner corridor that are not as exposed to the street noise and sounds of the city.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel!

Best regards -
Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights on our week long visit to Reykjavik (other nights were spent a Hotel Natura by the domestic airport and Icelandair Hotel in Keflavik). This hotel was the best of the three that we patronised. Lovely spacious modern rooms with flat screen tv (limited selection of channels but we did get free movies due to being in a business class room), clean and well decorated.
I visited the small gym which was perfectly adequate for a quick workout - housing a treadmill, cross-trainer and plenty of free weights.
There was lots on offer for breakfast, cereals, breads, meats, cheeses and fruit. We also learnt that in Iceland you don't get served tea at breakfast, only coffee, if you want tea then you need to make it yourself using the hot water and tea bags available - no big deal but just something to make note of.
Service here was always friendly, especially when we were asking for directions to the nearest cheap supermarket (Bonus - not far at all and cheaper than the nearby 10/11 store).
The only noise that bothered me was at 5.40am both mornings, some sort of street cleaning machine seemed to stop outside for about 10 mins however this wasn't too much inconvenience and I soon got some more snooze.
Overall, an extremely decent hotel that is located slap bang in the city, I don't think you could stay in a better location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Pros: Large, modern room and bath. Flat screen TV with English channels. Free wifi.
Helpful front desk and good down town location
Good value for the money.

con: Pricy breakfast, but plenty of close options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel as our last stop in our week long Iceland vacation. We had previously been out in very remote areas of iceland, so to drive into a bustling city was a delight. To our surprise, the hotel had upgraded us to a suite! Not sure how this happened, but it made the last 2 nights of our vacation extra relaxing.

The hotel is very close to the harbor where you can catch boats to Puffin island and other whale watching & sea angling tours. It's also very close to the new Harpa concert hall - and work of architecture not to be missed! It's also in the heart of the main shopping/bar area of the capital, with tons of little shops and nooks and crannies to explore.

My only complaint was the lack of room cleaning. We left the hotel at 10am to catch a puffin tour and didn't get back to the room until 4pm or so. Unfortunately, the hotel had not cleaned our room yet which was a disappointment. Not a huge deal, but it's what you pay for, you know? We called the front desk in which the staff apologized and sent a staff member right away. We just needed fresh towels which were provided.

Despite this little hiccup, I would HIGHLY recommended Radisson Blue 1919 hotel for your Iceland vacation. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Had a very nice stay in this lovely hotel located in downtown Reykjavik. We had booked their advertised "Taste of Iceland" package on the hotel website. This included the room, buffet breakfast, glass of wine and a special dinner featuring Icelandic cuisine for roughly $300 USD. It was a nice little package but unfortunately the hotel staff didn't seem to know anything about this offer. We were glad we had printed our confirmation e-mail outlining the package deal. Both the waiter and the chef at the hotel's restaurant seemed to be confused as to what the "special dinner" was going to include but we sat back and let the 2 of them, as well as the front desk people, sort it all out. In the end it turned out very well, our meal was delicious and we had an enjoyable evening! I don't know how things would have turned out had we not brought our confirmation letter with us so.. FYI.
The Hotel itself is a refurbished historic building located in a somewhat quieter part of the city. This is desirable if you stay on a weekend night (which we did) and you don't want to be too close to the loud party scene. As it was, we still were awakened at 3am by some drunk girls screaming outside the hotel. Chalk it up to "local color."
I would rate this as perhaps the best hotel in the country based on our experiance travelling throughout the island and staying in a variety of accomodations. This hotel was very clean, nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was roomy and the food was delicious. Despite the confusion of our package deal, everything from check-in to check-out went very smoothly and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.